Shinty & International Rules Series Thread - again, yes it's happening fucking again

I don’t think you ever saw McGuire play sure.

I cannot think of a more athletic midfielder in the game. Fenton is more skilled and is mobile but not as athletic.

I was impressed with Cavanaghs fortitude and he did add more to his game this year. But essentially he was a stopping sweeper. I also admire his ability to improve over time. He seems like a great guy and is a very commendable footballer. But he is limited too.

I have, both games you allude to completely passed him by. Also no basis to qualify your other statement. No club team of quality will cough up that kind of tally in a county final.

It was balls to the wall open football. As i said in ways naive. But in terms of quality right up there.

McGuire was a one man team against Kerry ffs. Absolutely everyone recognised it.

Maguire is the new Paddy Kelly, an average player you will hype beyond any sane metric. He has done fuck all at Championship level and is unlikely to do so.

He was anonymous against Kerry, like I said it doesn’t matter how poor he is as you have planted your flag in his corner and how need to create the basis as it doesn’t exist.

If he was a nordie ye would have him blown out of all proportion.
He was best player in country for 2 years at u21. Dominated Sigerson in winning it but then got injured and is only really back since around May.

Can’t wait for next year when you are scurrying away after he dominates.

Your obsession with Cork is really weird. We’re shit. Doesn’t make any sense.

Bizarre that McManus put his hand up for this.

He has been ordinary at intercounty Championship senior level. Everything else is secondary. You have been bigging him up for ages when he has done nothing of note. I’m not obsessed with Cork, I’m just averse to your bullshit hype and excuses.

Niall Grimley (Armagh) & Sean Powter (Cork) included in final touring party.

Powter had to be included - Himself and Maguire are going to dominate for years.

Is Maguire anything to McGuire?

In Cork it’s Mcguire, up north it’s Maguire - the same bloke tho.

Lads please, not another thread

Too late mate. You couldn’t be putting out the fires these two boys are setting.

The Cork champions were beaten by The Nire last year, mate.

That’s The Nire, who have one player who can actually kick the ball. :grin:

Last year.

Jesus christ some fellas have a want in them

They sure do.

Trying furiously to claim the Cork championship has “an outrageous standard” when its champions get beaten by The Nire is one example of it.

Last year.

First time winners.

And if course you don’t really understand the club game if you think one game or where a team is from is the only barometer.

Teams from carlow and Wicklow have beaten Dublin teams.

Where did i say it was an outrageous standard?

I said the finals were excellent games full of brilliant football, but i tempered that by saying somewhat naive too at times.

Croke will hammer Nemo. But Crokes are a unique team. Its not because they are from Kerry. Its because they have ridiculously high standards. And they would tell you themselves they learned alot from Nemo.

I said Ian McGuire played outrageously well.

If you understand the club game you’ll understand that Cork club football and Munster club football in general is shit.

Munster Club Football, where the All Ireland Club title currently resides?