Significant people's (not celebrities) deaths

A sub on the 91 team.

His nephew, of course, was MOTM

Ah lovely. Nowt wrong with that. A mighty time for the family. Who was Greg belonging to?

Thereā€™s a real royalty to Down football.

I heard Paidi tell that story about himself and Tim Keneally in their bachelor days.

I donā€™t get it? :flushed::flushed:

Iā€™d imagine that the cailĆ­ni of the early 70s that those lads would have been familiar with had nothing but pristine white Alan Whickers. Black hadnā€™t arrived in Ireland then.

https://twitter.com/markmccartan/status/1764953319573774628?s=46&t=YOfhVM10W0bcyIiYSLI3Wg

My father and Tim were great friends. I think it was from their time working in Aughinish together. Both himself and my Dad were fond of the sup. Mick O Dwyer would let them have one pint with the dinner every evening, but no more and if you couldnā€™t keep a handle on it during championship, you werenā€™t fit to wear the Kerry jersey. Tim would swear that everytime heā€™d chance a second pint regardless of where he was, Mick would know by the next morning and let him know.

When I first started going to Forest games at the turn of the century, we used to stay in Don Massonā€™s ā€˜Gallery Hotelā€™ near the City Ground. Don is a bit of a Notts County legend (voted their greatest player ever) so some of the lads would be ribbing him. On one occasion, one of the lads asked him ā€œwhatā€™s it like to miss a penalty in a World Cup?ā€™ (Masson missed one for Scotland against Peru in ā€˜78 WC). Don got thick and wanted to throw our lad out :joy:

Iā€™ll add you to the friends of Askeaton newsletter

Not sure if Tim actually worked there, but thatā€™s how he usually knew anyone from Limerick or Kerry.

Did your auld lad work on the building of it or in the place itself

I do remember him telling me he was working there when it was announced Bobby Sands had died in ā€˜81. A quick google indicates it was in the building phase then.

Zero ideas if Tim and Alan Kennelly were related, but believe he had a closer relationship with Alan. I met him by chance outside his pub in Ballylongford on a cycle in 2015 if memory serves me right.

Sounds like it was serious craic in the area around then. Fellas from all over the country boarding 4 abreast in every room in the area, and drinking the bollox out of it

You couldnā€™t get in the door of slas after 4 o clock

Chaotic. I remember him telling me the money they were making was otherworldly. Not sure how that was swung. I suspected for a while based on one of his colleagues on that job from West Belfast that the Provisionals had the hammer down on the place, but thatā€™s mere speculation.

I think they needed so many bodies they had no choice but to pay to get them.

Isnā€™t there a mass grave of tools in askeaton? Must be worth a few pound now.

That sounds a bit more plausible.

There were a fair few houses built back west from all the blocks that were robbed during construction.