Sinn Fein - Populism and Partionism

Because the head of the AGSI has been all over the media giving out about it and they have their annual conference tomorrow.

Fuck sake :joy:

Iā€™ve no idea if he rang themā€¦ I presume when the gardai came out and said they were upset by the tweet he merely told em to relax lads, it ainā€™t about you.

Youre right in that he should told the guards to go shit in their hats

Youā€™re edging dangerously close into Trumpian/Brexit style conspiracy stuff with your first sentence. Either way - if the gov is democratically elected and selects judges (and other officials) then there is clearly a path for citizens to do that.

In terms of your second point - I would strongly agree with you and I think any TD (but particularly gov TDā€™s) being seen to disregard the law or to be guilty of illegal activity undermines the whole system.

I donā€™t suggest that but it seemed that @glasagusban and @Cheasty were off the opinion that there was some flexibility in it

Because Fine Gael and the Guards decided to make a big racket about it online.

Thatā€™s generally how things work.

The woke left lads clearly. Their moral values are superior to all laws.

Itā€™s quite a fascist ideology.

Youā€™re making the same sort of argument that Enoch Burke is hanging onto ā€¦

Protest inherently rubs up against the law, thatā€™s sort of the point sometimes. I agree we should abide by court orders, but also, occupying a vacant building seems a good way to highlight government inaction in a housing crisis.

The mental gymnastics are unreal.

The lads who have been most critical of Enoch Burke are now using the same arguments he is using - that there is a higher natural justice theyā€™ve a unique perspective on that should over ride the law of the land.

The mistake the woke left make (like all extremists including the far right) is that they believe their values are inherently right and deserve respect whilst affording any different view or perspective no such respect.

Most normal people sit in the grey and look for nuance and context.

Again though by that logic you would have to say that any law breaking in the entirety of history was not legitimate, including breaking Alabama bus laws or apartheid laws.

Thatā€™s Fluvio/Art Foley/Thomas Brady standard debating, ie. ā€œYOUā€™RE A HYPOCRITE!ā€

Life doesnā€™t work like that. Most people do have a natural sense of justice which is connected to their values.

Youā€™re making the same sort of argument that the IRA used to make when shooting and bombing people ā€¦

sinister!

the lads who perform those kind of mental gymnastics would probably still believe in Superfecundation

if prefer posters making salient points, than some random non sequitur

And he was cowed by it?

He had already tweeted about the matter at least twice and is now at this?

Iā€™d have more respect for him if he simply stayed silent and dug in, but thatā€™s not in the DNA of SF and, by responding and acting as he has he seems to have only made a complete tit of himself.

Iā€™d expect this from Aodhan O Riordain - I thought O Broin was smarter. Obviously not.

no, im not, the appointments of seamus woulfe and maire whelan have cast serious doubt on the whole process

good to hear

Very few people think Enoch Burke is anything but an absolute headbanger. Enoch Burke might think he is legitimately appealing to a higher sense of justice, almost nobody else does. Pretty much everybody can see Enoch Burke for what he is.

Whereas with, say, Rosa Parks, most people with a brain or any reasonable value system could see that breaking the law did indeed appeal to a higher sense of justice than the letter of the law.

And I think most people thought that with, say, Apollo House.

I think youā€™re stretching it a bit there.

To bring us back to the original topic, you seemed dismissive of allegations of assault and that the gardai did nothing about them because the people making the allegations were breaking the law, or set up the situation themselves. Thatā€™s the sentiment I took from your post anyway. But people ā€œbreaking the lawā€ should still be protected by the gardai. So for example, some of the categories of people the gardai have been trying to show better protection for are sex workers. Same with illegal immigrants, the gardai want these people to feel able to come to them to make complaints when they are victims of crime.

Same principle applies all the time.

Iā€™d hope that youā€™re deliberately parodying Fluvioā€™s debating style rather than unironically emulating it.

He hasnā€™t backtracked in any way. Heā€™s completely neutralised the criticism of him.