Six Nations 2009

My favourite Healy moment was related by Trev Brennan.

Toulouse were playing Leicester away in H Cup.

Healy doing his usual mouthy act at scrum half.

Things kick off in the corner at one point when Healy gets dragged into a ruck.

Bodies rise from the pile, Healy left flattened on the ground with a broken nose, blood everywhere.

Ref calls captains in, Trev walks in because he’s got the english.

Ref asks Johnno and Trev what happened, who hit him.

Trev says he doesnt know, obviosuly.

Johnny looks at Trev, Healy, and the ref, and says, “Shur fuck it ref, it could have been anyone of 29 of us”.

Ref looks back at Johnno.

“Make that 30”.

Classic MBB, was that in Trevs book? Maybe heard him telling it somewhere, v funny! Think it was Rolland was the ref.

It was Rolland, you’re right.

He told it on Hector and Tommy’s Radio Show one day. Cracker of a yarn.

MOD’s a journeyman. Should have been Caldwell or Ryan. Kidney’s first mistake, probably won’t matter.

Caldwell is injured, Ryan had a family bereavement last week, not sure of the details.

He played with 2 professional clubs ever. Hardly journeyman credentials.

But if available i’d be looking at younger guys as well.

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]Browne left Connacht of his own choice to further his career. Northampton and Brive are certainly not a step down in the world.
You could be a world beater playing in Connacht and you would be behind the academy lads in Leinster and Munster.

WBY[/quote]

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I think you just made a few points for me there.
They are a step down from playing in Ireland, which is what would have happened if he was good enough for Ulster, Leinster or Munster.
)[/quote]

No Caoimhin I think I just illustrated my own point…

Anyway we’re not going to agree on this. I think MOD is poor and I would ,to be honest, rather have practically any other fit professional Irish qualified second row in the squad. But sure there you go. Its Deccie’s squad and not mine.

WBY

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]He played with 2 professional clubs ever. Hardly journeyman credentials.

But if available i’d be looking at younger guys as well.[/quote]

Journeyman in the rugby sense, so basically mediocre.

[quote=“tipptops*”]A matter of timing Dan.

Whatever about off the field, he was an excellent player on the pitch.

Has there been a more versatile player in the modern era?[/quote]

I was very fond of Healy. Thought that he was excellent when he put his mind to it. Remember him on the Lions in Australia I think where he was winding up Justin Harrison in a midweek game. The last play of the game went on for ages with Healy scoring the winning try to beat whoever the Lions were playing with Harrison bulling. Now that I think about it, I hope that this happened and I didn’t actually dream it up.
He was the sort of fucker that you hated playing against but was a top class player to have on your team

WBY

Jesus lads, for a guy who has captained Munster numerous times i think ye are way off. A poor player? I don’t agree but there you go. Maybe it’s the talents he has been beside the last few years, DO’c and PO’C. Anyway ye won’t agree, so we’ll agree to not agree. Maybe i watch him more, i don’t know, but MO’D has put in some sterling performances in last 3 years for Munster.

Turene - A journeyman in any sport is one who moves from club to club on a consistant basis. Robbie Keane is one for instance.

If you think he’s poor or mediocre then fine, but that is defintely the wrong way to describe him.

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]No Caoimhin I think I just illustrated my own point…

Anyway we’re not going to agree on this. I think MOD is poor and I would ,to be honest, rather have practically any other fit professional Irish qualified second row in the squad. But sure there you go. Its Deccie’s squad and not mine.

WBY[/quote]

I respect you as a rugby commentator on here, but that statement is sheer madness, but as you say, there you go.

I met Healy in Cork through a mate, he was good craic i must say. Can’t say what he is like on the field, but alot of the Irish guys got on with him apparently.
Maybe they are all knobs as well of course!

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]I was very fond of Healy. Thought that he was excellent when he put his mind to it. Remember him on the Lions in Australia I think where he was winding up Justin Harrison in a midweek game. The last play of the game went on for ages with Healy scoring the winning try to beat whoever the Lions were playing with Harrison bulling. Now that I think about it, I hope that this happened and I didn’t actually dream it up.
He was the sort of fucker that you hated playing against but was a top class player to have on your team

WBY[/quote]

Think it was the game before the last or second last test against the Brumbies. Dawson hit the conversion to win the game having missed most of his kicks all night. Dawson didnt trust ROG (who was playing outhalf) to take the kicks despite instructions from the bench.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Jesus lads, for a guy who has captained Munster numerous times i think ye are way off. A poor player? I don’t agree but there you go. Maybe it’s the talents he has been beside the last few years, DO’c and PO’C. Anyway ye won’t agree, so we’ll agree to not agree. Maybe i watch him more, i don’t know, but MO’D has put in some sterling performances in last 3 years for Munster.

Turene - A journeyman in any sport is one who moves from club to club on a consistant basis. Robbie Keane is one for instance.

If you think he’s poor or mediocre then fine, but that is defintely the wrong way to describe him.[/quote]

I wouldnt agree with that. I’d think of a journeyman as a player who’s been there for years but not at the required standard despite the number of clubs he’s played for.

I think what actually happened was that Dawson was kicking because he might have been required to do so from the bench in the final test. He was under savage pressure because he had criticised the tour management in a ghost column before the game and was close to being sent home.

he had a horror show with the kicking all night, the opportunity came to kick one to win it and instruction came in from the bench to let ROG kick it, ROG offered it to Dawson to give him an opportunity for redemption after his poor night with the boot and his gaffe in the newspaper column.

I can clearly remember from the tour vid someone coming up to Dawson after he kicked the conversion (maybe Will Greenwood) and just going “balls as big as a house mate, balls as big as a house”

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]
I met Healy in Cork through a mate, he was good craic i must say. Can’t say what he is like on the field, but alot of the Irish guys got on with him apparently.
Maybe they are all knobs as well of course![/quote]

Public and private persona are very often different
Healy struck me as the sort that would be decent craic, I wouldn’t mind having a pint with him

WBY

[quote=“dancarter”]I think what actually happened was that Dawson was kicking because he might have been required to do so from the bench in the final test. He was under savage pressure because he had criticised the tour management in a ghost column before the game and was close to being sent home.

he had a horror show with the kicking all night, the opportunity came to kick one to win it and instruction came in from the bench to let ROG kick it, ROG offered it to Dawson to give him an opportunity for redemption after his poor night with the boot and his gaffe in the newspaper column.

I can clearly remember from the tour vid someone coming up to Dawson after he kicked the conversion (maybe Will Greenwood) and just going “balls as big as a house mate, balls as big as a house”[/quote]

Forgot about the column. I think Healy got tripped as he scored his try which injured him and knocked him out of the last test? The Lions ended up playing some random Scottish back who was out there on holiday. Really amateur stuff.

Andy Nicol ya that was gas, like Johnny Glynn getting an Irish cap on hols in USA!

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Jesus lads, for a guy who has captained Munster numerous times i think ye are way off. A poor player? I don’t agree but there you go. Maybe it’s the talents he has been beside the last few years, DO’c and PO’C. Anyway ye won’t agree, so we’ll agree to not agree. Maybe i watch him more, i don’t know, but MO’D has put in some sterling performances in last 3 years for Munster.

If you think he’s poor or mediocre then fine, but that is defintely the wrong way to describe him.[/quote]

Nope.

Journeyman
an experienced reliable worker, athlete, or performer especially as distinguished from one who is brilliant or colorful

You’d argue with me on what day it is. Thats a ridiculours description of what it is. It makes no sense in fact. " Been there for years, despite the number of clubs" what are you on about?

Kevin, in rugby terms I have always seen and heard the term journeyman to mean ‘mediocre’. Its just a different defintion then in soccer.