fucks sake Thornley, that Horgan try v England where he caught the ball with no-one near him has been done to death. It was great that he scored it but the catch was nothing special.
The histrionics of Hook, Thornley, McGurk etc. give me a pain, can’t listen to them for more than five minutes without my blood pressure rising.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I must say i take pride in articles like that.
Hopefully the coaches at Cork Con and PBC will read it and stop tellin my young fellas to stop playing GAA, as it “will ruin their physique”. Thing is none of these guys are qualified in strength and conditioning, Gaelic football for guys playing at the lower leels (and visa versa for rugby backs and flankers) actually helps a rugby player, as is mentioned above. Obviously any guy on a contract is on a different level.[/quote]
Kev
We don’t need G Thornley to tell us what we already know do we?
I turned to rugby in my teens having grown up playing gaelic. My skills were superior to lads that played rugby all the way except for tackling and passing. I still made it a scrumhalf because I practiced passing so much. There were lads I played with in the pack that caused you to shudder when they called to receive a kick off because you knew they’d drop the ball. They couldn’t catch or kick. I wonder are skill levels higher these days? A decent average sized GAA player could play anywhere from 6-15 without much difficulty. Tall lads could play second row.
I always reckoned if I was a rugby coach that I’d have the lads play gaelic football to build their skills, catching, kicking, running with the ball, game awareness. Rugby lads get all worried about dropping the ball whereas GAA lads take it as a given that they’ll catch the ball.
We don’t need G Thornley to tell us what we already know do we?
I turned to rugby in my teens having grown up playing gaelic. My skills were superior to lads that played rugby all the way except for tackling and passing. I still made it a scrumhalf because I practiced passing so much. There were lads I played with in the pack that caused you to shudder when they called to receive a kick off because you knew they’d drop the ball. They couldn’t catch or kick. I wonder are skill levels higher these days? A decent average sized GAA player could play anywhere from 6-15 without much difficulty. Tall lads could play second row.
I always reckoned if I was a rugby coach that I’d have the lads play gaelic football to build their skills, catching, kicking, running with the ball, game awareness. Rugby lads get all worried about dropping the ball whereas GAA lads take it as a given that they’ll catch the ball.
WBY[/quote]
Oh i agree with you, no doubt, i disagree with the rugby coaches. In fairness the few lads from rugby we have are great to break a tackle, so it works both ways. Any AIL team now though is in action 9-10 months of the year, this cuts into the GAA alot for the guys who put rugby first.
Eh there’s a game tomorrow lads, and this is on the 2nd page?!
BOD getting philosophical, or maybe just too many bangs to the head…
At a news conference in the lead-up to Saturday’s Six Nations match with England here at Croke Park, O’Driscoll was asked about what it was like to play with and against England manager Martin Johnson.
‘Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit; wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad,’ he said to a backdrop of first bemusement and then roaring laughter from reporters.
There were shades of French footballer Eric Cantona’s remark in 1995 that ‘when the seagulls follow the trawler, it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea’.
That was interpreted by some as a comment about the media spotlight being shone at the time on the then Manchester United star.
Quite what O’Driscoll, who quickly paid tribute to Johnson’s will to win after his fruit reference, meant, other than to inject an amusing note into the latest pre-match press conference of his lengthy captaincy career, was unclear.
[quote=“myboyblue”]Eh there’s a game tomorrow lads, and this is on the 2nd page?!
BOD getting philosophical, or maybe just too many bangs to the head…[/quote]
Quite what the limits are, to what journalists will fart on about in order to fill space in the run up to a big game, is also unclear.
On another note, listening to the english players refer to Croke Park as ‘Croke’, as in “…when you go to Croke you know what to expect…” in yesterdays interviews was sickening.
if a Munster player came out with that tripe looking for attention and media headlines like BOD has done there would be plenty about it, i wouldn’t blame the BOD lovers for ducking and diving on this one
[quote=“myboyblue”]Eh there’s a game tomorrow lads, and this is on the 2nd page?!
BOD getting philosophical, or maybe just too many bangs to the head…[/quote]
I think he’s having a dig at O’Gara’s .he uses tomato as a reference to O’Gara and how red his face goes in a match…he’s saying yes O’Gara is a rugby player in an individual offensive capacity but not in collective team defensive capacity…he has cleverly used tomato and salad as they are food in a reference to O’gara not being able ‘to tackle his dinner’…Genius for the boywonder from Blackrock…
I don’t know if you thought this out yourself or what, but that is actually what goes on with those two. Apparently one should look out for everyhting they throw out there.
Nice to see the Munster and Leinster fellas having a bit of craic.
[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]
WBY[/quote]
Thats a very good point WBY, complete different style of catching too, rugby most players would try to catch it standing as still as possible, complete opposite to bursting onto it on GAA, never really thought of it before in fairness
On France here, not too confident but they were never before 11/8 at home against Wales, it is decent value
Dont know about Baby at out half. Hook just said there that Paddy W is 1 inch taller than BOD but BOD is three ! stone heavier than him. Wallace only 12.5 stone or something. Cant be right
Don’t like it actually when they have a singer for the anthems. I’m a bit of a traditionalist and just prefer the band although Katherine Jenkins suited the Welsh anthem when she used sing it. There’s nothing to beat Land of Our Fathers in Cardiff. Potential Grand Slam decider in Cardiff, they’ll have Land of Our Fathers, we’ll have Ireland’s Call.
Hopefully France will do us a favour, they look decent enough in the tight and if they cut loose at all it could be curtains for Wales… they just need to stop giving away penalties