Indeed. Management have completely lost the plot here. Add Leinster and Ulster to Connacht and that’s 3 disenfranchised provinces out of 4. I wouldn’t be surprised if Sexton does a George Lee and storms out of training camp.
Is Trimble injured or just not selected? Surprised Earls has been brought in for him if it isn’t an injury.
Thread is confusing as fuck for a few pages there.
If Ferris plays then Trimble doesn’t need to be the token Ulster player!
Fucking ROG.
Its a very questionable selection. Based on any criteria of form, how can Keith Earls be on ahead of Andrew Trimble? Gordon D’Arcy ahead of Paddy Wallace? Rory Best would be the better option to Flannery at hooker.
O’Gara’s selection is just simply inexplicable. But should we be surprised. Kidney & O’Gara go all the way back to school days in PBC. O’Gara in an effective player at provincial level and has done a job for Ireland in the past against the lesser lights. He has failed almost everytime at the highest level. A non-entity in two World Cup campaigns, a shocker of a game against New Zealand in 2002 in Dunedin when any kind of a decent performance from him would have secured a first ever win over the All Blacks. Steamrolled on the South Africa tour of 2004. A failure on three Lions tours culminating in the calamitous climax to the second test in Loftus Versfeld. Not to mention the fact that he’s habitually failed to perform against France in Paris.
Sexton has the mark and aura of greatness about him, even at this early stage in his career. Its a mind boggling selection for the task that lies in wait.
Kev
I couldn’t give a flying fuck what KIB thinks about TOL
I think he’s shite, I don’t think he does the basic job of a scrumhalf well, he doesn’t pass well and doesn’t clear the ball away from ruck/maul quickly
Kidney has a hard on for him and he keeps picking him despite poor performances from him
On TOL’s plus side is the fact that he can tackle and make the odd break. His kicking is however mediocre
Reddan is well able to pass the ball , has a break and can kick. I’ve never seen him horsed off the ball from a scrum so don’t know what you are talking about
Anyway Kidney has picked TOL again so this is a moot argument
[quote=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 427322”]O’Gara’s selection is just simply inexplicable. But should we be surprised. Kidney & O’Gara go all the way back to school days in PBC. O’Gara in an effective player at provincial level and has done a job for Ireland in the past against the lesser lights. He has failed almost everytime at the highest level. A non-entity in two World Cup campaigns, a shocker of a game against New Zealand in 2002 in Dunedin when any kind of a decent performance from him would have secured a first ever win over the All Blacks. Steamrolled on the South Africa tour of 2004. A failure on three Lions tours culminating in the calamitous climax to the second test in Loftus Versfeld. Not to mention the fact that he’s habitually failed to perform against France in Paris.
Sexton has the mark and aura of greatness about him, even at this early stage in his career. Its a mind boggling selection for the task that lies in wait.
Excellent post covering all the bases bar one, which of course is the fact Ireland should be giving Sexton the opportunity to play in these challenging away fixtures as part of his build up to the World Cup. As you say, and I’ve said earlier on this thread, O’Gara is a perennial Paris underperformer so let’s see what Sexton can do instead. It’s a disgraceful decision.
Funny fuckers, fair play.
Kidney Out!
For someone who played rugby, and i’d guess more than i did, you don’t seem to be able to look at the whole package. Reddan isn’t exactly tearing the place up anyway, and many guys (i personally wouldn’t, i’d have Stringer) would prefer Boss to him on the squad.
To say Tomas O’ Leary is shite just stinks of the usual Leinster shite. Don’t become a Bandage or a Larry, 'cos your one of the better posters here, especially on rugby matters.
Manuel obviously got beaten in school by Pres along the way, and is still bitter. Fellas seem to remember certain games and certain mistakes, ROG has won a few games for Ireland with his play and kicking, when others were playing shite. He also has a good record away to England, and for most of his career England have been better than France.
Anyway what matters is that the most successful manager in irish history has picked these guys, and more power to him.
Eoin Reddan couldn’t even get in an average Wasps team last season for fuck sake
Apart from the Wallace Darcy call what selection opinion of mine do you disagree with? To be honest I think its very easy to throw out the line that I’m being parochial or whatever. I genuinely believe in players I mentioned and to be honest I’d much rather an Irish win with no Ulstermen than an Irish defeat with 5/6 Ulster players. I don’t think suggesting Wallace or Trimble should be playing or saying Boss is deserving of a squad place at least is biased and nor do I think pointing out the obvious flaws in O’Leary’s games is looking to score points.
Its not your recent comments alone Larry for feck sake, your consistently at it. You have wanted several players in different Irish teams over the past few months, Boss, Brady, Henry are a few that come to mind now. Wallace is inferior to D’Arcy, and hasn’t achieved anything near D’Arcy in an Irish shirt, thats worth alot. He nearly cost us the Grand Slam as well.
With players that around for a while, rightly or wrongly, their club form simply isn’t enough to get them picked. Past failures have to be considered, because unless there has been massive changes in their physical make up or discipline or something tangible like that then its a huge risk to go with guys who failed at the very highest level before. Now thats one side of it, you also want to throw young fellas in ahead of very experienced players from time to time as well.
Now i’m open to my mind being changed on any player, and this has happened this season with Court, Henry, Trimble, and in some scenarios Boss and Wallace. Add into that Mike Ross, Shane Horgan and Leo Cullen who have upped their game no end. But in almost every case, they are still not better than whats there.
Its great to have a better squad, but the best players, generally, stay the best players for long periods of time. Only players like BOD, Heaslip, POC etc will bully their way straight into a team. Its no surprise those 3 are multiple (or will be) Lions.
I’m not biased Larry in picking my favorites mostly as Munster and Leinster players, but its also more than a coincidence that they have won 3 of the last 4 HEC’s. I also believe there is a small shift towards Ulster, going by a few of the underage stars, and in time, they will become our favorites as well. But not yet, and we’d win nothing if we were relying on the likes of Boss and Wallace, believe me.
Well considering that Paul O’Connell actually cost us a Grand Slam, you will be calling for him to be dropped as well?
I think you will find Kev that I have never rated TOL. Thought he was useless in last season’s Six Nations and if you want to dig up that thread work away. Reminds me of Cuellar at right back for Villa. Big, strong, fast, brainless and cant pass the ball. I’ll admit like the majority of rugby watchers I dont know what goes on in the scrum (though rugby commentators tend to throw that out in each game). I thankfully can say I dont have a rugby pedigree whatever that means too.
No he didn’t, well not alone anyway. One thing was it was the 2nd game, secondly, about 4 other things should have happened before he missed that tackle. After all, it was a wing against a 2nd row.
Poor attempt farmer. Stick to the tunes.
I wouldn’t worry about that as I imagine you’re in the vast majority. As far as I know, only Rocko has played rugby football at a level above junior out of the members on here.
What you don’t get is it doesn’t matter if you never rated him, or that you never will, the important people involved in making these decisions about his career have liked him, and have picked him. He was to be a Lion lets not forget, and has a Grand Slam, which Reddan doesn’t.
How would you know that Bandage? The level one plays also doesn’t mean they will or will not know the ins and outs of a game.
Think Joe Brolly, think Mark Larenson, even Pele, who talks some awful shite about soccer.
Indeed Kev I will - and maybe you should stick to… calling for Brian O’Driscoll to be dropped.
Oh yeah - O’Connell actually dropped the ball from the restart. Maybe he could have had someone else helping to catch it - it is a difficult art to grasp after all.
You are clearly quite the knowledgeable one on the oval ball.