Kidney Out!
Rory Best is a much better all round player than Flannery. Its baffling how Flannery starts ahead of him.
Ah Farmer you achieved nothing there apart from calling me a Laoisman, something I’m quite proud of.
Must try harder.
I like the way MBB just dismisses posts and attacks the posters when he can’t think of a response. That and ignoring posts when it suits him just show how he’s been shown up on this thread. Kev, while being an alright sort, can also be quite selective with information. For example, O’Gara freely admits he fucked up the Lions second test, but that flies in the face of the lads theory of the whole team taking collective responsibility for an individual error. I don’t know what to believe any more.
Isn’t that the whole point of internet discussion boards?
Mac fire up the posts you believe I’ve ignored, and fire up the posts I haven’t answered in full.
I’ll be only too happy to help you out.
Good man.
O Gara was right to admit that, it was a judgement call that was the completely wrong one, no mistake on his part, a pure bad call. The error Farmer is referring to was a genuine mistake by O Connell in attempting to do teh right thing, and I have also pointed out that there was more to it than just O Connell. My reference to Farmer personally is was because imo, its just further proof that he has never existed in a true team environment, anyone who has wouldnt single out an error like that in a match, because like Pukey said, there was far more than one error made that game.
I think I’ve said all this a page or two back Mac, but I’m happy to reiterate it to satisfy you on this occasion, dont be expecting it the whole time though alright?
If you don’t know what to believe anymore, then perhaps you should just make up your own mind, there’s nothing wrong with that, it could be wrong, but it’ll still be your own opinion.
The backline was very sterile against the Italians. This must surely be down to O Leary’s technical faults at 9. The last 9 to get the backs moving with any semblence of danger was Peter Stringer. The quality of delivery Stringer brought to the table was immense. And he had the heart of a Lion.
I think you’re forgetting Guy Easterby.
Ah no
TOL is better than Guy to be fair
Strings has the best pass out there
Twas him that gave the seminal pass to ROG in the Grand Slam game wasn’t it.
That split second extra you get with his pass is the difference
I’m better than 3 step pass Guy!
Stringer would have had that pass out to O Gara sooner had Rory not been wandering aimlessly around the pitch.
Maybe Rory hurt his neck while ducking for that pass…
if the answer to this riddle is Ronan O’Gara then to use your logic and Sid Waddells also then it was O’Gara who was responsible for Ireland winning the grand slam last year.
or maybe your logic only applies to when a team loses.
It takes many to win a Grand Slam.
It only takes one to lose it.
I wouldnt be too harsh on Geordie, it was on his bad side. Good work with the riddles these days Sid, tremendous.
, butterfingers.
No. O Gara was not responsible for Ireland winning the Grand Slam last year because he got the winning drop goal. It was an easy enough drop goal he converted - no more than what you would expect from any International fly half, he was just doing the nuts and bolts of his job within the team. O Gara did not do something above the norm of what is expected, it was a routine drop goal, regardless of the pressure of the grand slam. Brian O Driscoll has regularly won games for “Ireland” on his own, through breathtaking exploits way above the norm for an International centre.
The original point about O Connell must be looked at in the same context. O Connell in this instance failed to field a routine restart. He performed below even what an average second rower should aspire to in this situation. He was not asked to chase down a flying Welsh wing, with a 5 metre head start nor was he asked to win a lineout against the throw to save the game, he was merely tasked with taking a restart competently, which he failed to do. He did not complete the basic requirements for an International second rower in this particular instance.
you must be very hard down on John Leahy so, didn’t he cost ye the AI and Munster Championships against Clare one year with his inability to do the nuts and bolts when it mattered?
Scoring a goal in hurling is not the nuts and bolts. Goals are hard to come by and thats why they are worth three times as much as points. To compare and contrast with rugby, penalties & drop goals are worth three points while a converted try is worth seven. An attempt on goal in hurling is akin to an assault on a try line in rugby. The nuts and bolts is the 90% of the rest of the play around the field.
I never made any excuses for ROG in SA. He fucked up, but i don’t have a problem with it, he went for broke and it cost him. I personally wouldn’t take that out of a fella. And on ROG, i have for the past while been saying that i’d prefer Sexton now, but am delighted to have O’ Garas savage experience behind him.
O’ Garas mistake was clearly one incident, and his own doing and thinking, he’s got to live and die by that, he left the gameplan. Paulie made a mistake, and there was a few more after it, but he didn’t stray from the game plane, they are 2 different situations.
Hit the post from a 21-yard free in the dying seconds of the County Final that year so it was a tough old year for him.
Technically what you say is not true as his chance in the Munster Final would have only made a draw out of it.
He definately took the wrong option in the AI, should have taken his point ie Nicky in Killarney in 87.
We weren’t too hard on him really as hurling wasn’t his day job, unlike these professional rugby players.