Listen fuck off over to some soccer shite talk on another thread will ya. The people genuinely interested in rugby here may not always agree on selections etc, but the likes of you and bandage are just so boring and predictable now its painful. Bandage used to be funny enough on AFR, and when i first came on here, but this thread is just full of one-trick-pony tripe. You don’t have the wit to add anything any other idiot hasn’t added, so give it a break you moron.
Basically your an poor mans bandage, and when its comes to rugby, thats the lowest of the low.
Earls did OK on Saturday but I think if Horgan had played it would have been a two score victory rather than a one score victory. You can only go on the evidence and the evidence is that Horgan is playing utterly superb rugby this season, certainly superior to Earls.
To be totally honest I would consider Bandage to be quite knowledgable on a sport he has admitted to intensely disliking time and time again.
Kevin is also very knowledgable on the sport but sometimes can’t get that people have other opinions. You need to be able to consider other people’s opinions kev.
I used to worry about what lads posted on this forum. I miss those days. Contributed much of my post count to be honest, that and the slightly nudie ladies. Tis best just to smile and laugh and say “that bandage, what a scamp he is” and move along.
My thoughts from Saturday.
Geordan - Good to have him back, and perfect timing. Nice to see him getting a bit of an Indian summer in the Irish shirt, when Kearney came along I thought that might be all she wrote for him, still our best utility back to carry on the bench when Kearney is fit again.
Earls - Great to see him get the try and make a cut. Suffers from his versatility but will win many caps for Ireland and as his first half break showed, isnt afraid to have a go.
BOD - A ferocious man with little or no care for his own health. Amazed to see him try to get up 3 times to get into the defence line after POC had clipped him. English targetted him, as they always do.
Darcy - Back to his solid best and best partner again for BOD.
Tommy - Best winger in world rugby, fuck you Franno. The best case available for leaving a province when things feel stale.
Sexton - Shaky at times, but sublime on other occasions. Few slip ups including the kicking, but beautiful contributions to both trys. The future, but has a lot to learn still. Thank God he didn’t start in Paris though.
TOL - As said last week, Ireland best option at 9, and will hold the jersey for a long time to come. Will get better as time goes on, still only something like 9 caps I believe. Saturday suited him to the ground.
Heaslip - Great performance, outstanding for the first try, just the best 8 in World Rugby. Fuck you Easter.
Wallace - Made ground when he had to, esp for the 2nd try, and competed hard on the ground as usual. Decent showing, but would be nice to have a decent 7 like SOB on the bench and not whats there.
Ferris - A beast of a man, made for Saturday, even if it was a quiet day by his standards.
POC - Outstanding in line outs, running the Irish one and ruining the English one, but fucking hell he’s making some basic errors. Won’t be dropped, but needs to cut them out.
DOC - Justified his selection, far better player than Cullen around the park and his work rate is vital to Ireland.
Bull - H’on the Bull. Solid as always, nothing flashy, the end is near however.
Best - Impressed with his shift and his darts, left it all on the pitch, surprised to see him last the full game.
Healy - Quieter in the loose than normal, but the fact that Horan is not being missed says it all for him.
Sub - Great cameos from O Gara Buckley and Trimble to a lesser extent. Far beter use of the bench from the Irish maestro as opposed to the other ignoramus clown.
Is that 5 from 6 or 6 from 7 now against the cunts? Ah lovely.
I think it will be very interesting to see the team for the Welsh game, i think DK will tinker a little bit further. I’d like to see the following if BO’D is out;
Kearney
Bowe
Earls
D’Arcy
Trimble
Sexton
TO’L
Court
Best
Buckley
DO’C
Cullen
Ferris
Wallace
Heaslip
With the Welsh being handy, but not unbelievable in the front row, i really think its time to try a few guys. Buckley has improved a nice bit even since christmas, maybe Gert Smals coaching is coming through, who knows, but he is improving. I know Court is more at home in the same position, but the imponderables of a WC means things need to be tried at a high level. Thats why i think its no harm seeing how PO’C reacts to being dropped, and how the 2 lads get on together. I’ve always agreed with the NZ mantra that you need 2 bad games to warrent dropping. I don’t think PO’C was bad saturday, but he was in Paris, and he made a few more mistakes against England. Will hardly happen, but i’d like to see it anyway.
It may be some sort of blessing if BO’D was out, see how we do without him, and i believe Earls and D’Arcy would be a fine partnership. It also means a clearly improved and hungry Trimble will get a chance as well. I’d bring Henry into the bench as well.
A qeestion? What age was BO’D when he first played for Ireland? Are we ever going to throw in a bit of raw talent again, or is it foolish these days. That lad Macken for the 20’s is a smashing player, as are a good number of that team.
did you see Ireland as potential winners to come out with a statement like that?
anyway id rather concentrate on the fact that Saturdays win in twickenham was achieved with 5 changes to the side that won last years grand slam.
we’re not perfect but we have good strength in depth right now and more importantly that depth seems to be well managed, especially in light of O’Sullivan flogging the same 15/16 players for 4 years previously.
Do you really think Bandage’s opinions are what he really really thinks?
Jesus Fran, i’m surprised at you. Bandage is not a fool, and some of the things he says on rugby are the words of a fool, thus i conclude he’s a bluffer.
Brian O’Driscoll was 20. First played on the '99 tour of Australia. Australian tours have proven a fertile proving ground for future stalwarts, The 1994 tour unearthed Keith Wood and Jonathan Bell, while Perth in 2008 was where the Kearnivore truly emerged as a world class full back.
Hopefully young Andrew Conway will be given a chance at some stage in the near future if he keeps up his astounding progress, although I fear the World Cup may come just that little bit too soon for him. The lad is still eligible for the Schools Cup don’t forget.
Apart from the whole Munster/Leinster thing, where he’s a bit biased, Bandage seems to call things much better than most of the rest of the people on this thread.You can see by the certainty in his statements that he actually knows what he’s talking about. Mbb and the puke would be on a similar level. A lot of people on this thread come across like complete bandwagoners to be honest.
poc made a few handling errors but was far from bad on Saturday, in fact he was immense in the last 10 and its madness and simplistic to think we can do without him just because he has dropped a few balls.
wouldnt it be better to just get him to stick to the bread and butter which is essentially what he gets paid for and to reign him in from him thinking and wanting to carry every ball when others are more suited.
he is over enthusiastic imo and thats not a big thing to correct
How many line outs did England lose on their own throw? I counted three in the first half - 2 caused by O’Callaghan’s excellent defensive line out work at number two in the line and one overthrown to the tail - and I recall them being more secure in the second half. Yet MBB has praised O’Connell for ruining the English lineout when he did nothing of the sort. His game was littered with penalty concessions, handling errors in open play and from kick-offs and a forward pass at a critical stage (Care breaking from the resulting scrum on half way and Wilkinson popping over the go ahead drop goal a couple phases later - 3 of the 13 points conceded could be attributable in large parts to his errors). He also knocked O’Driscoll out of the game and thought it would be amusing to joke about it in the aftermath. He’s a prick of the highest order and a distinctly average rugby footballer, in my opinion.