Sleep - a thread to document your sleeping habits

An app to sleep, Christ there’s some soft cunts out there

The Breethe app and not setting an alarm clock has increased my deep sleep and made the dreams more vivid

The kids don’t like REM - they’re more into Shaun Mendes and Camilla Cabello and all that.

Helping to sleep or monitoring it, mate? I need the former not the latter.

Yeah I’ve enough shit in my life telling me I don’t sleep much. Or at all, as was the case last night.

Shift work will fuck you up bro transition if possible

I’ve never been great since my teens but the last few weeks have been a cunt. An app to tell me I’m tired I need not.

I actually like it. I’ve never been a good sleeper. Get more time off.

Anyway, I’m not going to live forever

The struggle never ends but gets manageable I hope

I’m down to roughly 4 hours a night, sometimes less.

I’ve never been idle in my life and it’s no good for me

Fella asleep soon after this.

Yeah it’s actually grand. Most nights I don’t mind.

It’s an absolute cunt of a feeling

Presume a side effect of meds?

Download Breethe on your phone. It helps.
Also try no screen hour or two before bedtime. No caffeine after lunchtime. Maybe a walk in evening.

Do lads even attempt doing a quick summary of their day on a bit of paper? Wrap up things at 5.30pm and spend 20 mins getting the head right. You’ll sleep grand.

Instead what you have here is lads jumping off intensive MS Teams calls at 5.55pm and landing into the family in a rage. That 30 minute cooling down period in the car where they repeatedly call Matt Copper a cunt is long gone. Now it’s the wife and kids that get the rage… Roaring at the wife about the shtate of the place, belittling the 6 year olds attempt at drawing a unicorn :unicorn: and telling the eldest to shut up that cunt of a violin :violin:.

They finally cool off around 10.30pm and hit the bed full of regret. Is it any wonder ye don’t sleep?

Landing into the family from the other room is it?

The little one is teething like a mother fucker and had a touch of constipation over last few days … the wife has a different complaint on the hour … I’ll give you rage ya fucking cunt ya.

How are things kid?

The brighter mornings are seeing my child wake up before 6am, even though I’ve so many black-out blinds up his room’s like a goth lair. Yet I don’t want to give up on my late night downtime so sleep is getting squeezed. I like listening to some music when the day’s work and chores are done, and the rest of the house is asleep. These are the moments when you can ask deep questions of yourself (cc @KinvarasPassion), while listening to Mango x MathMan.

I wouldn’t have had you down for a mango and math man type. I always found that chill time after the family were in bed very important.

I go to bed at 12 and get up at 8. If I got any more sleep it would probably be bad for me. I don’t know how ye poor cunts survive at all.

Not setting an alarm clock has been a revelation for my deep sleep.

That’s one of my biggest problems, counting hours til the morning and thinking/catastrophizing (sic) about the day ahead.

Look it ive bought mattresses, pillows, books, listened to podcasts read more threads on reddit and forums. Of course this paradoxically adds to the problem in a way but when you get a proper bout of it telling yourself ‘just fall asleep’ is near impossible.

As I said before I have my doubts over cbt-i but I have recently come to two conclusions (stolen from Acceptance commitment therapy) .sleep is based on two factors, sleep drive, ie how long since you slept and really how tired you are, then secondly how aroused your mind is at the time you want to go to sleep. So I literally don’t go near bed, or at worst turn off the lights til I feel my eyes getting heavy. That was 3.30 last night, so be it. Getting into bed in a dark room wide awake and saying, right, time to sleep is basically an adrenaline shot for my brain.

Second with arousal is a tough nut to crack. My take is you need to focus on something other thn sleep, as soon as you put it on the pedestal, and realise you aren’t getting it, it becomes a concern that perpetuates itself. Reading is my best way around this plus sometimes mild white noise. Funnily enough, while blue light devices physiologically stimulate a bit, suppress melatonin etc thats minor to the benefit of using them if they distract you and relax you to allow you get into the sweetspot. Ive conked numerous times with a ken burns doc playing on my ipad. It’s a complex area, one that’s finally getting a lot of attention. The nhs are starting to recognise it as a disorder on its own, not a symptom.