This is worth a listen. Baddiel has suffered with sleep his whole life. Consultant neurologist who specialises in sleep is on it with him
Exercising every day and putting the phone away at least an hour before I intend to sleep have done wonders for my sleep, simple advice I know but if you’re not at that you’re wasting your time with apps and podcasts
I think that makes sense if the insomnia is tied to anxiety or depression which is of course slightly alleviated by exercise. But theres marathon runners that are chronic insomniacs.
Some interesting points there but the article is all over the place and too superficial. What was the point of the @GeoffreyBoycott story? To say you manage without it?
That’s a belter.
Get out and work yourself into the ground for 30 mins … Jogging is fine but remember, men are made up of around 30% muscle mass … you work that and you wont be long falling to sleep. It doent have to be big heavy weights - you can squat / lunge / push-ups at body weight or load up a back pack with whatever weight you can find - couple of 2litre bottles of milk refilled with water. All very easy and a good session of those three exercises alone would do a job. But you could do calf raises and step-ups on bottom of your stairs … etc. etc.
I’ve a load of milk bottles on a mop and i’m doing a full work out with it- i’ve tried to buy a kettle bell online but they are all sold out… I do a few hill sprints and pull ups off a tree down Garryduff once a week also.
Here’s the key — once you go over 35, you start to decrease testosterone production - estrogen shows its face … this is when the gut , titties and bit of weight creeps in - but more importantly, low test leads to low energy and insomnia / changes in sleep – to keep test up you need to work your muscles …
If lads really wanna sleep - hit your muscles up with a total body workout and you’ll be sleeping no problem and waking with a raging boner every morning as the test soars through your body.
Should that not be…once you go over 12?
No mate. Basic biology here. It’s a wonder you managed to father a child at all.
Should that not be…once you go over 12?
It all went downhill for you then didn’t it
Would a supplement do a job for the teshty
No mate. Basic biology here. It’s a wonder you managed to father a child at all.
Titties and a little gut can appear at 12 for sure— but testosterone only begins to surge at that age mate … in some guys they can have too much estrogen also and have man boobs… genetics plays a part here also. It’s perfectly normal so dont feel upset about these things.
Thanks for the comforting words and reassurance, mate.
No. Roids / HGH yes … there are some supplements that aid the production of it but it’s minimal and useless really without the exercise … no quick fix here pal… 30 mins of your day is all it will take.
I do weights most days. Definitely helps and I enjoy it but it’s not a guaranteed cure for insomnia by any means.
That said I’m missing the gym something awful.
A good bit of exercise , no phone 2 hours before sleep , and you will be grand . A book is great before sleep
Maybe it’s reverse with you, and you need mental stimulation?
A good bit of exercise , no phone 2 hours before sleep , and you will be grand . A book is great before sleep
Thats a bit like telling someone with severe depression to cheer up a bit
You saying I’ve ADHD?