Exactly right, they want pay restored to Celtic Tiger levels which have been proven to be unsustainable. We were running a surplus which meant we could afford to meet those demands at that time but that surplus was due to taxes from the property boom. Those revenues are not there now. We can’t afford it anymore, we are borrowing as it is to keep the country going so they want us to borrow more. Who do they think is going to pay back these loans? Public Service are encouraging a state sponsored pyramid scheme.
They have a secure job, a guaranteed pension, flexi hours, good holidays, a premium over private sector workers pay (unlike anywhere else in the world) and yet they want more. They even have the neck to call a pension contribution a pay cut. They’re living in cuckoo land. Wouldn’t mind if we even had a functional public service, but we don’t. I’ve had cause to call out the fire brigade and bring a kid to hospital in the last month. Was charged for both, where are my taxes going? Going to fund public sector inflated wages, not services. Basic maths tells us that there should be more pay cuts in the public sector, not pay rises.
Tough life being a guard. I don’t there is any comparable position in the private sector. I wouldn’t begrudge them a penny to be honest. It’s not like they were being overpaid anyway in the Celtic Tiger.
I’m sure their fellow unions would have an equally benevolent view and wouldn’t in a million years bang the door down with pay relativity claims if the Guards got a special deal. Not at all.
Guards are on good pay. It’s the new entrants that are on poor pay. Their colleagues/unions sold them down the river on that one. The Guards in this country are a disgrace, especially at the top. Didn’t see many come out and back McCabe and Wilson. Unless they reform they should be told to fuck off. I have no sympathy for them.
all garda should be made stand on a weigh scales on the day of their graduation and there should be absolutely no increments of any kind for gardai if they gain any more than 10 pound weight at any stage of their careers. if they go over the 10 pound then they get pro rata pay cuts until they sort themselves out.
its an absolute fucking disgrace the state of so many guards 1,2,3 stone over weight, and the general acceptance of that by the garda organisation and the general public.
I’d agree re the guards…but this is the bed the guards and nurses etc make for themselves when they agree to all stand together with all public service workers. If government cave on guards the queue will be out the door
A lot of lads here playing with the truth. Teachers, Nurses, Gardai…were subjected to 3 different pay scales since 2011 through FEMPI legislation. No public sector workers voted for them. They were forced upon them. The different pay scales didnt really matter for a few years as there was a moratorium on recruitment in the public sector at the time. The problem has only really manifested itself on the public in the last few years when the above moratorium was lifted.
The vast majority of teachers and guards will gain nothing from the strikes. They are looking for pay equality for their newly recruited colleagues. They are basically asking for equal pay for equal work nothing more nothing less.
The 3 tier pay system implemented under FEMPI by the various governments is a way of fragmenting and weakening the unions to cause infighting.
By the way TDs who have entered the Dail since 2011 are still subject to a common basic scale and not 3 different ones. Different rules…
Now there’s a sound post. We’re still running a deficit. If Ireland Inc. was a Plc. the share holders would still be demanding wage cuts and redundancies
Yeah but it’s not. In a business you can cut expenses and make more money because your cuts don’t necessarily affect your customer’s spending. In a country, everyone’s spending is everyone else’s income. The two are intrinsically linked. That’s why the household accounts approach to national finance is a sack of shit.
Expenditure needs to be based on expected/actual revenue no matter what the type of entity. Borrowing is ok as long as there’s a chance that a return can be made on the money borrowed and that it is enough to at least repay the loan + interest. Borrowing to pay for upping public sector pay at this time as to do so will not improve the economy one bit. If the money were invested in infrastructure, actual services(as opposed to pay) then there may be an argument for it. We can’t afford it.