So, who's striking today? Which Side are You On

Ed Walsh is a prize wanker.

The enemy of my enemy is my friend

He has no air of menace about him like the transport union guys have. This guy just comes across as a ignorant thicko.

The government can’t afford to back down on this one

The teachers have walked into this one. The government will beggar them.

Christmas around the corner. Bruton will tell them to sign up or fuck off.

The irony of parents and students moaning about the extra study pressure they’ll be under as a result of today as they’re interviewed in Dundrum Shopping Centre and outside Brown Thomas in Cork.

Is that really ironic?

Yeah I really do think

Ok grand so.

Jaysus this shit “think of the students” that the media are bleating on about because of this teachers strike. The students don’t give a fuck. Now some fucker on Sean O’Rourke saying that the students that are not in school should get up and put on their uniforms and study at home. :slight_smile:

I think you’ll find some do, but generally, of course they don’t, they’re students.

Doesn’t make it right.

It may not be right but the way the media are going on you swear every student is at home curled in a ball crying their eyes out that they are not in school. I had to laugh last night on the Claire Byrne show, she had the president of the secondary students union in the audience (first I ever heard of this) and she was bleating on about students coming to her upset and concerned. Claire asked her if she did any study today and you could see the girl getting embarrassed and said no that she was busy in Dublin today. Id say that is what most of these students did, spend the day doing anything but study.

He has some neck on him considering the milking of the system he did while UL president.

What would prompt some teachers to be in TUI and some ASTI?

I think it depends on what school your are in. ASTI is traditionally catholic schools, while TUI is more VEC’s etc.

Of course she was busy in Dublin, he was up in RTÉ representing the SSU. And no doubt shes had students onto her upset, the Leaving Cert is a big deal to Leaving Cert students.

I would have two questions for that Garda. I do have sympathy for him as those working conditions sound atrocious but …
Q1 : What did you think the job entailed prior to accepting the job.
Q2 : Why don’t you leave the job?

And one small point that continues to annoy me, the Pension Levy is not a pay cut, it’s a contribution to a defined benefit pension.

Really? The government previously made this contribution. It is now taken from their own salary. That is a reduction in wages whatever way you look at it.

They get it back when they retire, it’s a contribution, not a pay cut.