Social Media "Influencers"

Tipp is one of the most beautiful counties in Ireland, definitely a top 5

You’ve clearly never been to Tipp town

No, it’s not that high. Kerry, Donegal, Galway, Clare, Cork, Wicklow, Down, Antrim, Mayo and Waterford (in no particular order) are all well ahead of it. It has some lovely bits to it.

And then it has Tipp Town

Shur every house has a toilet

Lads from Limerick and Wexford looking down their noses at Tipperary really is quite something.

The coast of Oireland is destroyed by one off housing cc @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy

I’d nuke most of Dublin and Wicklow

Because you have the bunker already built?

Half of the Galtees are in Limerick.

Oh I know mate

Wexford is a lovely county.

I travelled the N24 between Limerick and Clonmel for the first time ever about a month ago. Thus may not be technically true as I was on a bit of the N24 when me oul’ fella was looking for a place to park the car before we climbed Galtymore in July 1997 and I do recall being in a place called Doon looking a particular grave of a long dead relation as a nipper.

I was dreading going on this road as I associate with fatal car crashes.

But it was grand. The bit between Tipp Town and Cahir is spectacular. It reminded me of the bit of railway line between Rathdrum and Avoca where you imagine you’re in the Canadian Rockies or something.

Tipp Town seems a grand place. It’s a very well apppointed town with a sense of old world grandeur.

I’d genuinely never been in Clonmel in me life (again technically not true, I passed through it on a train the day after Down beat Kildare in August 2010) until a month ago. It reminded me the sort of near but not in the Alps town a Tour De France stage would end in before going into the Alps the following day.

I’d be very biased towards Cahir as me grandad who I never met was from there.

I never quite understood the issue with Tipp town on TFK, there are scores of towns with worse problems, you needn’t need to go far to see Kilmallock which is in genuine crisis

Tipp is bigger but I think they have a lot in common

What’s wrong with kilmallock?

I agree that Tipp has some lovely spots, the Knockmealdowns and the Vee, Devils Bit, the Silvermines, Galtees, etc.

I think the story that the guards moved a lot of the trouble makers from Tipp Town to Australia is true. They were told get out or go to jail. 20 years ago Michelstown and Fermoy were awash with drugs. I think they are doing better now, so the problem probably got booted up the road to Kilmallock.

Towns go through phases. A few bad eggs, a few bad families.
How’s Kilrush doing now?
All quiet it seems…

It’s a desperate spot?

Mitchelstown can be dodge enough

Just outside Tipp Town on the way to Bansha there is a spectacular stretch of wide road that leads to a winding left hand bend.

The town of Tipp itself is grand. Some problems like 98% of other towns but there are some characters around the place too that more than make up for it.

Cahir is also an excellent town and is booming in recent years. There’s a shop on the corner of the square that does the nicest 99 in the country.

Tipp Town is a kip

In a Cahir man originally - Town is just a little bit too busy these days with traffic, daytrippers and the Inch Field/Swiss Cottage walks just being too packed

I’d be a fairly nimby type tho

Kilmallock is in an awful way,
Most of the commercial units are unoccupied, it just looks terrible, you wouldn’t dream of stopping off there anymore