Social Networking Sites

[quote=“briantinnion”]I think the crux of the issue here is the definition of the word “friend”.

Let’s get that nailed down before we all start losing some internet friends here.[/quote]

I think it’s a difficult one. I have “good” friends who I see a couple of times a week at least who would hardly lift a finger to do something for me, due to over-familiarity I suppose, and people who I see every six months but who I know I could rely on. Which one is the better friend? In this country we’re all usually stuck with childhood/teenage friends for life, for better or for worse.

[quote=“Julio Geordio”]A friend is someone who would jump into a fight for you even if all it meant was the two of ye would get the shit kicked out of ye.

A friend will know in one sentence how to piss you off.[/quote]

Two good definitions, that pretty much sums it up really for me. Some of the people being reference in this thread, I would not call friends, merely acquianteances.

[quote=“Julio Geordio”]A friend is someone who would jump into a fight for you even if all it meant was the two of ye would get the shit kicked out of ye.

A friend will know in one sentence how to piss you off.[/quote]

A friend will pay your bail when you get in trouble.

A real friend will be beside you in the cell telling you how much craic it was.

mbb firmly in the minority here I reckon.

I’d definitely go along with the attitude that one can never have too many casual acquiantances/friends. Lads who I only know through the internet have got me tickets for football games around the continent, and I repay them the favour whenever possible.

There is a definite sense of pride in doing a turn for someone when you could just as easy have said “no sorry can’t help you” just to get out of a bit of effort.

I don’t like people.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]mbb firmly in the minority here I reckon.

I’d definitely go along with the attitude that one can never have too many casual acquiantances/friends. Lads who I only know through the internet have got me tickets for football games around the continent, and I repay them the favour whenever possible.

There is a definite sense of pride in doing a turn for someone when you could just as easy have said “no sorry can’t help you” just to get out of a bit of effort.[/quote]

Eh thats my point, these people are acquaintences, not what I would call friends.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]mbb firmly in the minority here I reckon.

There is a definite sense of pride in doing a turn for someone when you could just as easy have said “no sorry can’t help you” just to get out of a bit of effort.[/quote]

Eh has he not pretty much said this himself? All he said is that he doesn;t go out of his way to try to become good friends with people he works with. He doesn’t go around stabbing them or anything.

Edit: posted that before I saw his own post.

No, his attitude is that he doesn’t bother getting to know new people full stop. His attitude is that he makes no effort to get to know work people, and thinks they should all be treated with suspicion if they want to add him on facebook. That’s childish and paranoid IMO. As Kev has already pointed out.

what about girls?

I think he’s dead right re: adding people you work with as friends on facebook. The way facebook is set up you often end up seeing stuff like photos/updates from friends of friends etc. I don’t need people at work knowing I was rotten on a Thursday night and thats why I was a couple of hours late for work the next day.

No, you’re wrong there sledge. My attitude was, I don’t want to become friends with people from work. I made that clear right from the off. Then I pointed out that I deem a friend to be purely more than a lad you’d call for a ticket or to get a deal for something. I made it clear that I am friendly with work colleagues, but not friends with them. Then I wondered were many people close friends with people they work with

As Tinnion said, the definition of the term friend is where the difficulty is here.

As for my facebook, I don’t see the point in adding anyone from work to it, I keep my personal and my work life separate.

You don’t need to like them now do you TT :barcasmile:

[quote=“myboyblue”]

I havent met anyone from an internet site, although I am pretty sure I passed Art the other day.[/quote]

???

[quote=“myboyblue”]No, you’re wrong there sledge. My attitude was, I don’t want to become friends with people from work. I made that clear right from the off. Then I pointed out that I deem a friend to be purely more than a lad you’d call for a ticket or to get a deal for something. I made it clear that I am friendly with work colleagues, but not friends with them. Then I wondered were many people close friends with people they work with

As Tinnion said, the definition of the term friend is where the difficulty is here.

As for my facebook, I don’t see the point in adding anyone from work to it, I keep my personal and my work life separate.[/quote]

Agree 100% with ya.
I know tossers who spend more time on facebook than talking to real-life people.

[quote=“myboyblue”]No, you’re wrong there sledge. My attitude was, I don’t want to become friends with people from work. I made that clear right from the off. Then I pointed out that I deem a friend to be purely more than a lad you’d call for a ticket or to get a deal for something. I made it clear that I am friendly with work colleagues, but not friends with them. Then I wondered were many people close friends with people they work with

As for my facebook, I don’t see the point in adding anyone from work to it, I keep my personal and my work life separate.[/quote]

Just looked through this quickly and I’d say you thought more people would agree with you about not giving a fuck about making new friends as you get older or in work. Most disagreed and now you’re backtracking a small bit.

Look again slowly.

same conclusion I’d say. the ‘man don’t give a fuck’ image backfired a small bit and made you come across as a bit odd.
I’d say you’re actually good aul craic at work behind it all.

[quote=“gola”]same conclusion I’d say. the ‘man don’t give a fuck’ image backfired a small bit and made you come across as a bit odd.
I’d say you’re actually good aul craic at work behind it all.[/quote]

Ah shur I’m a ball of fun at the back of it all. :clap:

I think MBB has cleared this up here in fairness, its just the different wording we use i suppose.

But i don’t use Facebook for personal, i really only use it for work, especially with a new business. I couldn’t give a tupenny fuck about the majority of the people on my facebook.

Irony reaches a new level

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=57728531300&ref=ts