God be with the days when a lad would have a stag at 9 o’clock at night in the snug in Donie McLoughlins and it would finish up at 1 in the morning with a mince and onion pie and a bag of chips in the Beefy King.
Perhaps for lads of our vintage, but as younger men, we jumped at it.
2 night stags are grand if you’ve no childer, or the childer are well raised. But aulder lads trying to run with the hares would want to catch themselves on a bit.
Comes a time in every man’s life when he loses interest in too many pints.
There’s a day when you realize you’ve had your share.
I haven’t touched a drink since you poured 16 different shots into me in an hour.
I actually really enjoyed the last two day stag I was on. Felt like a proper party.
But I was nearly a fortnight recovering from it. Proper young man’s game
The bus home from the stag tells no lies. Youngsters suppin cans and aul lads like ourselves asking to pull over for a sly puke.
Didn’t do the bus for any of the 4 stags this year. FUCK THAT
2 days one night is the perfect stag.A one night stag is no good,if I’m going to be sick for the week it better be for a 2 dayer
The Saturday from 11am to 5 or 6 is the job if you get the right location. After that it starts getting messy. I’ve seen a few lads now pull anchor around 7 or 8 and head off quietly, not to be seen til the following day.
This is it. A few nice easy pints watching sport in the pub and lads winding each other up. None of your paintballing or any strenuous activities.
Bus the first day where everyone is mangled early, then the best craic is always the next morning until early evening. Where lads are rehashing the same stories you’ve heard 100 times before but you’ll still break your hole laughing at them.
The around 4pm someone will say 'Will we move on" and that’s that then.
Last stag I was at was a good un, a long slow day of pints and banter in Galway. Nobody was too out of order, and no pressure to be downing shots etc, just a good day out.
The Failte in Killarney is the ideal spot for these sort of capers
Is that the place across the road from Paddy Power?
The first night is usually carnage these days, lads forget they’re coming up on or over 40. The pace is always too hot. The next day is slow going until the second wind or lads go off for a few whips
The Failte is across from Scotts.
Opens at 9am. A complete waste of time.
I wasn’t invited to my sons stag.
Disgraceful behaviour.
OK Captain Sensible
Is it par for the course?
Do ye young lads invite yer fathers and uncles?