Stag destination

ah jesus, i cant wait, i just want a bit of peace for the weekend, the best man and the groom have no interest in women, like yer man is getting married and that’s him done, dosent want to see or talk to another woman as he knows he’s stuck with this yoke , the best man would be of similar ilk, im going on my own, know of the groom, mates with the best man thru work, dunno the other fellas but itll be grand, man operating at their own pace and devices, sit in the pub drinking, out the door for bets and cigarettes, talk with local roaster types about hurling or whatever, i can see this fella heading up to the church to get 20 mins of saturday evening mass just to go for a stroll if its a nice eveing
men of simple pleasures, like a pint , a bet, watch a game of gaelic football in the pub and a chat with people and no one annoying them about shite or enquiring about their whereabouts…
once the young lad is 18 im off doing that come hell or high water

Ah good auld Billy

like in lahinch
was on a stag there last year, i was sick of it come 5pm on the saturday and knocked off to a boozer on my own where yer man even took bets for me on that evening’s kentucky derby
i debated driving to enistymon half full to go drinking on my own so i could just tip to the bookies
jesus it was a horrible stag , about fucking 40 lads, all staying in this hotel where there were 3 other stags staying, the dinner was rottem ould fare also

i might do that
head down on the friday night and ease into the saturday morning pursuing the racing post over a fry

Come out to askeaton for the day lads. I’ll tell em there’s a few fancy dans coming so they might wash the glasses

Top of the Town won’t know what hit it

Quality banter

The stag of a prominent forumite takes places this coming weekend. I won’t reveal the location of said event.

I also got the call-up over the weekend to be best man for a great childhood friend of mine. I don’t have any brothers so it’s probably the only time I’ll ever be a groomsman. There’s a quick enough turnaround - wedding is over Christmas period, so would be looking at an October/November stag. My pal is fairly laid back and not a huge drinker, so trying to suss out what he wants. I’d say we’d be looking at a small group (10-12 max) and a one-nighter, with lads coming from Kerry, Cork, Tipp, Limerick, Athlone and Dublin. Any suggestions of a good spot?

What’s Carrick-on-Shannon like these days? Is it just stag/hen central?

Also, has anyone used those stag sites where they sort out the accommodation, activity, etc. and are they any use?

Honestly, I’d say Dingle sounds like the right spot for your one, Carrick on Shannon is a dressed up with fake tits sort of stag destination

Dingle’s a great spot for a stag alright. Did my cousin’s one there. Might be a bit of a haul for some lads for one night though?

Carrick On Shannon & Westport both very good but the journey up & back is a killer.

If most of the group are from Munster region then Dingle probably the best bet.

Steer clear of going through Stag sites, they usually are brutal & most lads have no interest in activities I’ve found.

As regards being best man. ''Tis a grand job once the speeches are over & the bands paid. I’ve done it twice & nice and all as it is to be asked, it’s a bollocks of a job doing bits & pieces.

Dingle is still the best spot for a stag for me, be a bit of a trek for the Dublin lads but fuck them :grin:. Carrick on Shannon isn’t a bad spot but it’s just sick with Hens & Stags. Westport another good option.

A cunt of a drive for the Munster contingent though.
Fuck the Dubs, go to Dingle

The football golf in Dingle is great craic for a bunch of lads before they get hammered,

Oh have they footgolf there?

That’s it sorted so.

The fella getting married is up in Wicklow actually these days. I’ll tell him it’s Dingle. A great town for drinking.

Ah yeah. I don’t mind doing it in the case of this fella. He was a groomsman for me and did a stellar job, and he’s probably the nicest and most selfless fella I know, so whatever needs to be done will be done. He’s easy-going enough anyway.

Great choice. Plus it’s his stag, he needs to get fucked up on the drink

If you’re stuck for accommodation give @Gman a shout. He organised a place in a hostel down there which was perfect for a stag.