Stephen Ireland to Return

I don’t see a problem with Bandage supporting Celtic, even if he had supported Man City throughout his youth. He, by his own words, always had an interest in them but that came more to the fore as he grew older.

I must say though that I find it utterly bizarre that he would support Celtic over his national team. He calls it a 26 county representative team but I don’t think that is his problem with it. He is seemingly saying that he has more in contact with Celtic fans that Irish national team fans. As a result feels more at home at Celtic games and ergo supports Celtic over Ireland. He also points to the fact that Celtic are Irish at their heart as a main reason for supporting them but still won’t support the most Irish team of them all – the Irish national team.

What I think is his reasoning on this is that the Irish national team are not as Irish as Celtic as the majority of Irish supporters follow EPL teams (even though they were born and bred in Ireland)! Celtic fans are all about Ireland.

Had Bandage’s eyes not been opened to Celtic in such a way that it was by whoever or whatever then he would still be one of those type of people fanatically supporting an EPL side.

I wonder would he have called himself Irish in that instance? Because that is what he is questioning in essence – the Irishness of Irish EPL supporters.

PS – Don’t know why I referred to him in the third person but I started that way so continued!

[quote=“Bandage”]KIB man, my family don’t support the 26-county representative team. Celtic was born out of the post-famine exodus from Ireland. This wasn’t pre-historic last time I checked. Celtic is a magnificent emblem of the Irish diaspora and many Irish people, such as myself and Martin O’Neill, derive immense satisfaction and pride from this amazing world-renowned beacon of hope and Irishness. Long may she prosper as a striking symbol of the indefatiguable nature of Irish people and how they rose from abject poverty, destitution and oppression to achieve supreme success on a global level, while doing so in an honourable and exclusive manner. As I said, I’d have more in common with a Irish born Celtic supporter or a Scottish born person with Irish ancestry who supports Celtic than your average Aston Villa fanatic from West Clare.

Appendage, it’s a product of the modern era that players from all corners of the globe play with different clubs. The supporters are a constant though. I guess a player like Henrik Larsson was well aware of Celtic’s heritage and history by the time he left. I reckon he’s more knowledgeable about Celtic than some of the Granny rule Irish players were about our history. It’s also a well know fact that Shunsuke Nakamura is a Sinn Fin benefactor.[/quote]

A lot of things were born out of the post Famine exodus from Ireland. Not all positive. The amount of ill informed idiots that follow Scottish side Glasgow Celtic plc as a sign of how Irish they are, rather than follow a local Irish side or even the Irish national side is an indication of that.

MON interview was nauseating Munster bandwagon esque. He is a friend of McAleese. If he was such a proud Irishman he wouldnt have accepted a honour from the Queen. Personally I’m coming round to the idea that he is a bit of a spoofer. But he is a fine motivator of players so he will do at AVFC for the time being.

[quote=“gola”]Jaysus Bandage, you normally make plenty of sense but some of the cowdung your spouting on this thread is amazing.
You seem to be saying that you support Celtic ahead of Ireland because most of Celtic’s fans are followers of Celtic and therefore have more in common with you.
I can imagine it making sense after a day on the beer but hardly in the cold light of day.
Funny that you seem not to have been a die hard Celtic fan when you were young. I have a theory that Celtic’s fanbase multiplied massively around the time they were trying to stop the Rangers ten in a row or whatever in the late 90s.
When I was young in the 80s and early 90s I didn’t know anyone who would say they were a Celtic fan ahead of an English team, except one fella whose aul lad came from Glasgow.
Everyone else looked out for their result and hoped they beat Rangers cos we vaguely knew they had Irish connections but that was it.
I don’t know if its conincidence but the ‘explosion’ in their support seemed to coincide with the IRA ceasefire.
Don’t know if this was just in my town but did anyone else notice this Celtifying of Ireland from the late 90s on?[/quote]

If Tom McGurk or Gerry Thornley came out with half the bolloxolgy bandage does about Celtic Mist they would be shoe ins for cunts of the year

Agree with that.

He also would have managed England over Ireland and sang God Save The Queen no doubt.

He is no man to give lectures on what it means to be Irish.

[quote=“KIB man”]A lot of things were born out of the post Famine exodus from Ireland. Not all positive. The amount of ill informed idiots that follow Scottish side Glasgow Celtic plc as a sign of how Irish they are, rather than follow a local Irish side or even the Irish national side is an indication of that.

be careful KIB, I got IOTM for similar sentiments

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Agree with that.

He also would have managed England over Ireland and sang God Save The Queen no doubt.

He is no man to give lectures on what it means to be Irish.[/quote]

big time

[quote=“KIB man”]A lot of things were born out of the post Famine exodus from Ireland. Not all positive. The amount of ill informed idiots that follow Scottish side Glasgow Celtic plc as a sign of how Irish they are, rather than follow a local Irish side or even the Irish national side is an indication of that.

MON interview was nauseating Munster bandwagon esque. He is a friend of McAleese. If he was such a proud Irishman he wouldnt have accepted a honour from the Queen. Personally I’m coming round to the idea that he is a bit of a spoofer. But he is a fine motivator of players so he will do at AVFC for the time being.[/quote]

KIB - I suggest you go to glasgow & speak to the Thriving Irish community there - the way I see it is that these people share the exact same history & geneolgy as me but my forefathers were lucky enough not to have to emigrate 130 years ago & theirs did -
go to glasgow- meet the glasgow irish & speak from an informed position

you cant change the fact that Celtic are the team for the Irish diaspora in glasgow & that due to bigotry when they emmigrated to glasgow they clung onto their Irishness & Celtic Fc is the most prominent sign of the Irish in Glasgow being proud of their roots

[quote=“north county corncrake”]KIB - I suggest you go to glasgow & speak to the Thriving Irish community there - the way I see it is that these people share the exact same history & geneolgy as me but my forefathers were lucky enough not to have to emigrate 130 years ago & theirs did -
go to glasgow- meet the glasgow irish & speak from an informed position[/quote]

Dont want another IOTM award but

No one doubts there is a massive Irish population in Glagow with a genuine reason to follow Celtic. But that doesnt mean an awful lot of fucking eejits, in Ireland, dont follow Celtic to prove how Irish they are

[quote=“north county corncrake”]KIB - I suggest you go to glasgow & speak to the Thriving Irish community there - the way I see it is that these people share the exact same history & geneolgy as me but my forefathers were lucky enough not to have to emigrate 130 years ago & theirs did -
go to glasgow- meet the glasgow irish & speak from an informed position[/quote]

the bit im failing to grasp is that Irish lads living in Ireland could possibly relate more to ‘the Thriving Irish community’ in Glasgow than they relate to other Irish lads living in Ireland who may support the irish soccer team.
If Celtic were traditionally a mid table side would this still be?

[quote=“HBV*”]the bit im failing to grasp is that Irish lads living in Ireland could possibly relate more to ‘the Thriving Irish community’ in Glasgow than they relate to other Irish lads living in Ireland who may support the irish soccer team.
If Celtic were traditionally a mid table side would this still be?[/quote]

As farmer might say

You have a real chance of being right there.

A real chance.

Pardon my ignornace but wouldn’t Hibernian historically have as much Irish roots as Celtic, if not more?..Yet they don’t seem to have the same following…

[quote=“dancarter”]Dont want another IOTM award but

No one doubts there is a massive Irish population in Glagow with a genuine reason to follow Celtic. But that doesnt mean an awful lot of fucking eejits, in Ireland, dont follow Celtic to prove how Irish they are[/quote]

im not sure if they follow them to prove how Irish they are ,they follow them as they have an affinity with them

[quote=“dancarter”]Dont want another IOTM award but

No one doubts there is a massive Irish population in Glagow with a genuine reason to follow Celtic. But that doesnt mean an awful lot of fucking eejits, in Ireland, dont follow Celtic to prove how Irish they are[/quote]

You seem to be awfully fond of throwing out that hard done by IOTM award line.

First of all - get over it.

Second of all - what is wrong with showing a bit of pride in your country?

I think people are missing a key point. Supporting the Irish football team, or not, is not a quantitative measure of how Irish you are. You can show your pride in your country in numerous ways. I didn’t support Cian O’Connor in the Olympics when he was representing Ireland for example. That, I would argue, doesn’t make me less of an Irishman. I don’t feel a part of what the Irish international football team has become and have more in common with Celtic supporters as football people. I don’t think there’s anything ambiguous or contradictory about that but each to their own. And Celtic equates to Ireland in mine, and many other peoples’, view so I don’t particularly miss supporting the national team even though I like football very much.

As for the EPL element to it, I’ve said earlier that I became less keen on EPL football as I got older and I’ve become even more disillusioned with it recently. People can support whoever they like, but much as supporting Celtic seems daft to many of you, I don’t understand how people can be passionate about English teams from places that they don’t have any links to and who are primarily supported by local English people that they don’t have anything in common with. Again, to pre-empt probable comments - yes, Celtic play in Glasgow but they’re inherently Irish, thank you very much. I think the best supporters are those with passion for their team. But when I see some Irish lad calling Steven Gerrard ‘a scouse twat’ or Gary Neville ‘a manc bastard’ while wearing whatever EPL team’s replica kit then I don’t regard that as passion, moreso stupidity.

not sure how you can say they have more?

on the less side
Hibs had a sectarian signing policy, a smaller Irish community in edinburgh , less bigotry as many ulster huns worked in the shipyards in glasgow , they tried to ban the tricolour & in the 50’s took away all Irish symbols at their ground

[quote=“HBV*”]the bit im failing to grasp is that Irish lads living in Ireland could possibly relate more to ‘the Thriving Irish community’ in Glasgow than they relate to other Irish lads living in Ireland who may support the irish soccer team.
If Celtic were traditionally a mid table side would this still be?[/quote]

can only speak for myself- first Celtic game i went to was in 1990 -celtic were a mid table team
In regards to the relate thing-its more to the fans I relate with - its easier to for me to relate to the thriving Irish community in Glasgow who have faced 130 years of hatred & bigotry & are proud & vocal of their roots than it is to some drunk who goes to 4 games a year & dresses as a leprechaun
I prefer club football to international football & as bandage said following international football is not necessary a sign of how Irish you are but I still go to the odd game & cheer Ireland on

[quote=“gola”]Jaysus Bandage, you normally make plenty of sense but some of the cowdung your spouting on this thread is amazing.
Funny that you seem not to have been a die hard Celtic fan when you were young. I have a theory that Celtic’s fanbase multiplied massively around the time they were trying to stop the Rangers ten in a row or whatever in the late 90s.
When I was young in the 80s and early 90s I didn’t know anyone who would say they were a Celtic fan ahead of an English team, except one fella whose aul lad came from Glasgow.
Everyone else looked out for their result and hoped they beat Rangers cos we vaguely knew they had Irish connections but that was it.
I don’t know if its conincidence but the ‘explosion’ in their support seemed to coincide with the IRA ceasefire.
Don’t know if this was just in my town but did anyone else notice this Celtifying of Ireland from the late 90s on?[/quote]

This is largely down to the fact that Celtic games were never on TV on any station available in Ireland. English football was always easily available ie RTE used to have a live match on every Saturday for years. This is well before the Premiership era BTW.

I started following cross-channel soccer in the 86/87 season and it was all Liverpool for me for the first few years, I was completely obsessed with them. I also followed Celtic, in fact I was at Parkhead long before I ever at Anfield (my Da took me over to a game against Dundee Utd on the run-in in the double winning season of 87/88) but the fact that Celtic games were never on TV meant that usually I’d just look for their results in the paper, I couldn’t do much more.

Before about 1995 I only ever remember about three Celtic games that were available on live TV in Ireland (2 league games against Rangers in August 89 and August 93 and the 92 Cup Semi Final against them). Even the 89 Cup Final wasn’t on live here. Used to try and pick up Scottish radio an odd time but that was serious hit and miss stuff because the reception was usually shite. Celtic games only became regularly available on TV here when Sky started showing the Scottish League and Cup around the 94/95 season. That’s when I really got into Celtic (Sky showed msot of the games in the 95 cup run live) because I could actually now watch their matches. Even then it was only with the arrival of Setanta that Celtic games began to be covered live on a really regular basis.

go to glasgow- meet the glasgow irish & speak from an informed position

you cant change the fact that Celtic are the team for the Irish diaspora in glasgow & that due to bigotry when they emmigrated to glasgow they clung onto their Irishness & Celtic Fc is the most prominent sign of the Irish in Glasgow being proud of their roots[/quote]

I thought your geneology was from Roma gypsys? :frowning:

this is laughable. They have the same history and geneolgy despite their forefathers having lived in Ireland 130 years ago - (3/4 generations later) than 1st generation Irish people?

I love to travel NCC but I can assure you Glasgow aint on the list of places I have to visit.

Fair enough Glasgow Celtic is a club to follow for people of Irish descent that live in Glasgow. But for an Irish person to claim they have more in common with said plc than the Irish national side is disturbing and West Brit in its outlook.

As I’ve said before, supporting my local GAA club, my county teams, going to Wexford Youth FC games are all other ways of displaying my pride in where I come from and my Irishness. Celtic isn’t the only thing that defines my Irishness but it is indeed a major part of it what with it probably being the biggest and most successful export Ireland has ever produced.

[quote=“KIB man”]I thought your geneology was from Roma gypsys? :frowning:

this is laughable. They have the same history and geneolgy despite their forefathers having lived in Ireland 130 years ago - (3/4 generations later) than 1st generation Irish people?

QUOTE]
at a guess id say people have been in ireland 7000 years - of the 7000 years they have shared 6850 of them - including St Patrick, Brian Boru, The English invading, O’Connell, The vikings, newgrange,grainne mhaol, the flight of the earls,oliver plunkett, the boyne ,christianity coming to Irelandetc etc etc etc - then 150 years ago our ancestors were rich enough to sty- theirs wernt & you write them off because of a twist of fate