Suicide

There was a case here in Sydney a few years ago where a young fella threw himself under a bus. His father sued the bus driver, not the company or state or anything, but the bus driver for $150000. The driver was understandably traumatised not just by killing the young fella, which of course was not his fault, but by the subsequent legal action, which only served to increase the guilt sanyone would feel about something like this. Poor bastard.

Another example of Aussie greed and stupidity all rolled into one.

Moron

You think it was a good case to make? Make money off your son’s death and bring the wrong guy to court.

Interesting.

I only caught the last five minutes or so of today’s Liveline but apparently the son of the woman who threw herself under the train at Malahide Station yesterday was on slamming mental health services.

You got all that from “moron”, moron?

There is a programme on BBC 1 tonight at 22:45 about sportsmen suffering from depression. Hosted by Freddie Filntoff

No Kev (and I’m sorry someone has to explain this to you), of course he wasn’t saying it was a good case to make, you are inferring that. What he is saying is that you are a moron for making this an anti Aussie thing. You think this kind of litigation is unique to Australia? (apologies if I’m inferring incorrectly or just don’t get it).

I thought that was good. Ed Cowan, who has since broken into the Aussie team, wrote this article in Cricinfo last June about depression in cricket which I also thought was quite interesting.

Found it very interesting too.

What struck me was when I think back on it now, there really were enough signs from the body language and what they were saying in interviews at the time that Flintoff and particularly Harmison were sufferring from depression during that Ashes tour. I remember Harmison gave one interview where he all but said he didn’t want to be there. And he got awful stick for it back in the studio then (think it was Bob Willis). But much as I’m loath to find common ground with Piers Morgan, I’d agree with him that you just don’t think of depression when you are watching top-level sportsmen in action.

Flano can kill suicide.

Absolutely :smiley:

FOOTBALL NEWS http://www.sportinglife.com/images/spacer.gif http://images.sportinglife.com/12/01/330/deanwindass1024_2702608.jpg Dean Windass: Battling depression
WINDASS REVEALS SUICIDE ATTEMPT
Dean Windass has admitted he recently attempted suicide after battling with depression following the end of his playing career.
Windass, who fired hometown club Hull into the Premier League with a stunning winner in the 2008 play-off final, ended his playing days last year at the age of 42.
He has also worked as a television pundit but the well-travelled striker has revealed to The People the extent of his problems.
He told the newspaper: "I have cried every day for the last two years since retiring. People outside football think we have it all. But I was in a hole that I honestly didn’t know how to get out of.
"Just over a week ago I hit rock-bottom and decided to end it all.
"I first took an overdose and when that didn’t work tried to hang myself. I felt so alone and believed I had nothing to live for.
"I need to sort myself out which is why I’m speaking out now.
He added: “People have this image of me as this big strong man who can take anything life throws at him. But I’m not ashamed to say I wanted to end it after a string of setbacks.”
“I knew I’d been a fool but I couldn’t shake off the depression at feeling what a failure I’d become.”
Windass, whose previous teams include Aberdeen, Bradford, Middlesbrough and Sheffield United, called on the Professional Footballers’ Association to do everything in their power to help people with similar problems in the future
“We’re not the brightest but you play football all your life,” he said.
"There are hundreds of footballers in the same boat (after retirement). There is nothing to get up for in the morning.
“The Professional Footballers’ Association or the governing body need to help us.”

Fair play to him.

Has he lost a load of money or failed at management or what? Any background?

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 217386”]Fair play to him.

Has he lost a load of money or failed at management or what? Any background?[/quote]

Presume its partly to do with dealing with not having anything to do on a daily basis have been a pro for the previous 20 odd years. He was working with Sky as well as a reporter for soccer Saturday. Always seemed like an honest sort, and as he says himself, not the brightest. Fair play to him for talking about it publicly.

When some people retire they can often go downhill soonafter. Work provides people with their social needs and if they are good at their job their esteem needs. When these needs are not being met post retirement it can be difficult for people to cope.

Fair play to dean windass.

Could he not open/buy a pub with the money he’d have earned from playing, easy really…

Ya, i understand and guessed that straight away, but it was his use of the word failure that interested me. He still had football involvement and the social aspect. Maybe his own expectations were too high, a silent killer in itself.

Must be a serious adjustment for pro sportsmen having to give up the game and not knowing what to do next. Grand if you’ve made millions but if you haven’t…