Suicide

that is some load of shite. does he expect people not to grieve because the person they are grieving for committed suicide?

I know Myers is a professional wind up artist and all he does is try be controversial, but its shit like this that makes him a prick, the irony of the article his paper wrote on Wednesay could not be more appropriate.

What a dose of utter horse shit. No more than what you’d expect from him.

Another sad case:

Friday December 09 2011
AN elderly man has died after shooting himself with a revolver in a landmark Dublin pub.
The man, who was aged in his 70s, was found dead at 11am yesterday in the basement toilets of the Palace Bar on Fleet Street.
It is understood that the deceased, who was from the Santry area of north Dublin, entered the bar shortly before 11am and ordered a whiskey.
He then descended to the bar’s basement toilets, where he shot himself. His body was discovered by a barman.
It is understood the man used a silver Smith & Wesson revolver.
Staff members said they heard a crash and thought something had fallen off the wall in the bathroom.
Workers in businesses on Fleet Street said they were “shocked and saddened” to hear of the man’s death.
The bar was sealed off yesterday pending a garda investigation.

Heard a woman from Pieta House on the radio this morning, the reception was poor but I think she said that in 2009 there was 563 suicides and another 300 deaths where no cause was attributed (but suicide was suspected). That’s shocking.

Heard her as well - she spoke very well.

That’s shocking stuff. TV3 had some show on Wednesday night about suicide. Over 1000 deaths in last 2 years at least (that were officially suicide). 4 times more money given to RSA for road safety campaigns than given for suicide or self harm campaigns. That’ll have to change if it’s to be tackled seriously.

Myers surely has a point about glorifying suicide.

Myers is a prick of epic proportions.I don’t see how sucide is being glorified in any way shape or form.What is supposed to happen.Bury them in a paupers grave? Not give them a proper funeral and burial like the catholic church in Ireland has done for decades?

You’re a dickhead.

Concise, detailed, well structured and well researched response.

I’m not denying that Myers is a bollox.
Suicide is such a complicated issue. The message people are experiencing with regard to the outpouring of positive emotion around Speed’s death is a tricky one to marry with suicide.

Giving him posthumous awards would make it even more difficult.

I’m in 100% agreement around the level of funding, visibility and publicity this issue needs requires massive and immediate attention.

I have to laugh at Bandage been chief mourner in Gary Speed’s sad passing when he is the same guy who makes a laugh of Jo Jo Dollard, Anne McCarrick, etc in the missing person’s topic. Is it because Gary Speed was famous that he deserve’s sympathy Bandage?

It sure is.

I suppose Gary was a good looking bloke, you must have fancied him.

FFS - will you ever fuck off with this shit jimmy

I feel sympathy for Gary Speed, i am trying to highlight what a hypocrite Bandage is, crying over Gary Speed which is perfectly fine but laughing at Jo Jo Dollard and Anne McCarrick.

Someone threw themselves in front of the Dublin-Belfast train at Malahide today.

RIP

Jeremy Clarkson hopefully

Was the train, and in turn, passengers, delayed?

I believe so, yes

In these sort of cases I always feel for the train driver, I presume they have had training in this matter and have counselling in place.