[quote=āHis Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 217491ā]I donāt mean this in a demeaning way, Iād rather use at a means of starting a discussion and learning something.
Isnāt everyone somewhat bi-polar?
Everyone has highs and lows and alternates from happy to sad.
Like we all know irritable cranky bastards.
How do you differentiate between someone who is just alternating ānaturallyā and someone who is going off the rails?
There is a danger in bi-polar losing all meaning if it becomes too generalised.
No, there is a clinical definition of bi-polar in the DSM-IV and it is clinically diagnosed by a Doctor of Psychiatry. Itās not something that is bandied out for anyone who has a good day followed by a bad day.
If youāve ever been around someone who was diagnosed as Bi-P youād know that itās a lot more than just good and bad days. The intensity involved in the manic episodes from the euphoric highs to the depths of the lows can be quite scary to be around.[/quote]
one of my best friends has a kid with a bi polar woman. she has nearly driven him to suicide through her actions for the 4 years of the kids life. she been involuntarily detained several times in st itas and each time she gets out after a few weeks of taking her meds she deliberately stops taking and wreaks chaos and now shes started telling the kid that daddys not daddy and my friend is starting to crack under the pressure of this and the pressure hes under in work(he has an upcoming disclipinary hearing) so everyone is gathering round him but i really fear for him
[quote=āSidney, post: 217490ā]it is a little bemusing that one of the main arguments advanced here for increased state support for mental health services, is a whataboutery argument about look at the funding the road deaths crowd get. surely the decrease in road deaths through increased state support should be applauded and seen as a worthwhile investment in its own right?
could always cut 100 million of the pension bill of the public sector bankers and use that to fund better mental health services for the state. any of you morons think of that?
Iāve seen people making this āmental health v road safetyā argument before. Utterly bizarre and what the funding of road safety initiatives has to do with the lack of mental health services, I havenāt a clue.
Iād say Kid Chocolate saw somebody write that somehwere else and just passed it off as his own opinion to try and make himself look intelligent.[/quote]
Because the decrease in road deaths is a marginal 5 or 10 each year , I.e job done. There are thousands slaughtering themselves each year by their own hand each year and the number is rising and rising, I.e serious national issue . Now is that a simple enough juxtaposition for you ?
You imbecile
There was something around 550 suicides in 2011, with another 100 or so where the coroner didnāt return a verdict of suicide, but it was mostly the cause.
Also a very high percentage of suicides are people reacting to a life event (a break up, job loss etc). These people donāt have a mental illness as such.
Yeah it fluctuates but 500-600 was the number I read pa for rep, but thereās a huge spike in that for you adult males which is where the issue should be focussed. Thatās a very conservative number as you say
Road deaths in 2012 fell to a record low of 161 and have been falling every year since 2006. The 2012 figure is down 57% from 2006. In 1972 640 people were killed on Irish roads. Those are real and tangible results - they dwarf the amount of lives that would be saved by pumping that money into mental health, not that Iām making that ridiculous argument where you see one in competition with other.
Compare the 161 deaths last year with each year from 1959-2009. I think youāll agree that the decrease is not marginal.
I donāt think that can be determined conclusively. Heard a terrible case last year where a heavily pregnant woman was killed by a young lad who drove straight into her wanting to commit suicide.
im in great form and there is a grand banterous mood on the board today with the EPL thread in flying form and you go bump this shite and post this to try to depress us all and instigate idle gossip and speculation about the deceased
no need for it in all fairness. let them RIP and have some respect
Christians seem to have the highest rate of suicide in the world, yet the bible prohibits itā¦ When you think about it, God, the holy spirit and the Jesus are all one, yeah? So theoretically, by having the Jesus nailed to the cross, god was essentially committing suicide and inadvertently condoning it.
[quote=āChocolateMice, post: 741976, member: 168ā]Christians seem to have the highest rate of suicide in the world, yet the bible prohibits itā¦ When you think about it, God, the holy spirit and the Jesus are all one, yeah? So theoretically, by having the Jesus nailed to the cross, god was essentially committing suicide and inadvertently condoning it.
Religion is fucked up.[/quote]
Jesus CM, your having a real spiritual crisis of late.
surprised there hasnt been any discussion here about the shocking recent events in ballydehob. i cant believe the wife allowed them to be buried together, i would have thrown yermans body in a skip. the poor little girls last minutes on the planet would be with her daddy holding her under the waterr, the poor girl
Agreed. Why the fuck take your own childrenās life along with your own? God bless the family, they have to shoulder the burden while he rots in the ground.
its not madness or depression, its about inflicting as much pain as possible on the surviving spouse; look what you made me do, im going to kill myself and our child and its all your fault
It is one of the greatest acts of selfishness that could be committed. What a cunt.
The whole thing was a bit weird from the get go though, a 16 year old girl and 40 year old lonely farmer (and FG activist). Leaves sunny California and comes back to the arsehole of west Cork to marry him a couple of years later.