Suicide

why was it a military funeral?

I hear a young lad hung himself in clarina last night,there always seems to be a few on,stephens night

Attened the funeral of an elderly gentleman last night who saw no way forward as he hit his mid 70ā€™s. Very sad for all the family involved.

Spoke to a concerned parent today, her 15 year daughter was told by her current ā€˜boyfriendā€™ that he would hang himself if she broke it off. She had to go to the principal of the local school today with this news. No idea how serious that young chap is about it but you couldnt take any chances.

I see it has now emerged that Derry Clarkeā€™s son died by suicide as opposed to an accident while working on a car. The family have apologised for misleading people.

Got the dreaded phone call this evening about a cousin of mine who saw no other way out. Awful story. The poor lad was bi-polar, had a very decent job but all took a turn for the worst a while back. Started ranting and raving convinced his wife was putting their kids in danger. Resulted in him coming to blows with his father in law. The wife walked out with the kids for her own safety and he ended up in John of God. His 70 something year old mother took him out this afternoon for a few days and then found him this evening. I was meant to go and visit him last Saturday but got sidetracked because of the anniversary of another extended family member who committed suicide - ironic how things turn out I guess.

The wife hadnā€™t had much communication with him for the past few months so no doubt the funeral is going to be even tougher than it would normally be as I expect all the family will resent her. Both sides could be argued but hopefully itā€™ll pass without incident. Fucking shite though. Iā€™ll never understand whatā€™ll drive someone to do it having seen at first hand what it can do to a family. Even some of the best medical care in the country couldnā€™t prevent this death. I suppose when someones mind is made up then thereā€™s not much can be done. Sad really when you think of it like that. All the talk of people not having access to the relevant services but thereā€™s plenty that do get it and it still does fuck all unfortunately. Donā€™t think Iā€™ll ever understand it.

Jesus thatā€™s shocking Mac, my condolences. Only going on what youā€™ve written but itā€™d be hard to blame the wife if he was behaving irrationally? Iā€™m sure sheā€™s hurting more than anyone. I donā€™t know the figures but the amount of suicide youā€™d hear about lately seems to be of epidemic proportions. As for services, itā€™s true some people canā€™t be helped but I know of psychiatrists who have people presenting with suicidal thoughts on a Friday evening and the HSE donā€™t want to know until 9 oā€™clock Monday morning. If thatā€™s true, itā€™s despicable.

<span style="font-size:14px;]<span style="font-size:18px;]Thats terrible Mac, sorry for your trouble. I donā€™t think anyone can ever understand it.

Jesus Mac sorry to hear that.

Very sorry for your loss Mac.With regards to preventing suicide it is next to impossible once that switch is flicked in someones head,one of my own best friends whom I was close to since junior infants was born with very bad eyesight and for years made the most of his life regardless.In the space of a month his long term girlfriend finished the relationship and he was told by eye specialists that after several operations to save his sight it was no good and he would eventually go completely blind.Couple of days later he climbed up a tree with a noose around his neck,with a rather large crowd gathering his family eventually talked him down after several hours but it was clear the intent was there.One month later he booked himself into a hotel in the city during the day, filled a bath tub and sat in after taking a massive overdose of pills,when I got the call telling me of his death even though its almost impossible to take a part of me wasnt surprised,in the days and weeks which followed his first attempt myself and others tried our best to turn things around in his head but it seems in most cases the individuals decision is final.He had just turned 21 and most days I still ask myself that guilt ridden question that only suicide can have you ask yourself"could I have done more to prevent it?" We can only say no.

Very sorry to hear that Mac. Bi polar is a very scary condition and alarmingly very common. I know of a lady who was going through the elation state and was convinced her husband was molesting the kids. She went to the guards and all. Imagine the shit that caused. She was also convinced her brotherā€™s wife was having an affair with her husband. Called her a slut and all sorts.

Youā€™re spot on Mac about those having access to relevant services and it doing fuck all. I, myself, have found that. But all you can do is keep on battling away.

I donā€™t mean this in a demeaning way, Iā€™d rather use at a means of starting a discussion and learning something.

Isnā€™t everyone somewhat bi-polar?

Everyone has highs and lows and alternates from happy to sad.

Like we all know irritable cranky bastards.

How do you differentiate between someone who is just alternating ā€œnaturallyā€ and someone who is going off the rails?

There is a danger in bi-polar losing all meaning if it becomes too generalised.

The elation side to bi polar is more than being really happy. It is defined by the likes of what we have described - losing all grip of reality in some cases.

Sorry for your loss Mac, shocking news.

Very sad story,sorry Mac.

In 2012 more active duty American soldiers died by suicide than were killed by the enemy.177 v 176

I donā€™t want to start an either or debate, but this is where state/HSE resources should be focused , not on trying to reduce the 300 odd rd deaths each year. The issue of course is that the measures used to reduce the former swell state coffers while the latter takes huge work and effort. Suicide is THE national scandal

it is a little bemusing that one of the main arguments advanced here for increased state support for mental health services, is a whataboutery argument about look at the funding the road deaths crowd get. surely the decrease in road deaths through increased state support should be applauded and seen as a worthwhile investment in its own right?

could always cut 100 million of the pension bill of the public sector bankers and use that to fund better mental health services for the state. any of you morons think of that?

Are you drunk?

Iā€™ve seen people making this ā€œmental health v road safetyā€ argument before. Utterly bizarre and what the funding of road safety initiatives has to do with the lack of mental health services, I havenā€™t a clue.

Iā€™d say Kid Chocolate saw somebody write that somehwere else and just passed it off as his own opinion to try and make himself look intelligent.

No, there is a clinical definition of bi-polar in the DSM-IV and it is clinically diagnosed by a Doctor of Psychiatry. Itā€™s not something that is bandied out for anyone who has a good day followed by a bad day.

If youā€™ve ever been around someone who was diagnosed as Bi-P youā€™d know that itā€™s a lot more than just good and bad days. The intensity involved in the manic episodes from the euphoric highs to the depths of the lows can be quite scary to be around.