Suicide

Suicides in Ireland by year 2001-2011
http://www.nsrf.ie/cms/?q=node/36

507 reported suicides in 2012.

Contrary to popular belief, the rate as opposed to the absolute number seems to be decreasing since 2001.

Cork and Limerick have a particular problem.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cork-and-limericks-suicide-rates-double-rest-of-the-country-29312151.html

Gents what do the experts say about media reporting on the issue. Should they call it suicide or is naming it kind of glamorizing it?

[quote=“Sidney, post: 851130, member: 183”]Suicides in Ireland by year 2001-2011
http://www.nsrf.ie/cms/?q=node/36

507 reported suicides in 2012.

Contrary to popular belief, the rate as opposed to the absolute number seems to be decreasing since 2001.

Cork and Limerick have a particular problem.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cork-and-limericks-suicide-rates-double-rest-of-the-country-29312151.html[/quote]

I wonder is there any chance that the Cork & Limerick coroners are just calling a spade a spade where as others as labeling it death by misadventure or some such

UK suicide rates appear to be very similar to Ireland.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-21141815

You have to remember a lot of death by misadventures are actually suicides so the lines on stats are very blurred. The reason for this is often with older lads so insurance companies have to pay out to their families. Gary Speeds death wasn’t even ruled a suicide after he was found hanging in his garage because the inquest said he may have tied a rope around his neck in a fit of anger and then waited for his wife to return but fell asleep on the steps down into his garage waiting for her, slid forward and strangled himself.

The same goes for late night single car collisions.

Yeah - I often wonder about those. Young lad in his 20s crashes into a wall.

There was a case about 2 years back where a couple were driving around Tipperary somewhere and a young lad ploughed into them killing the woman who was about 7 months pregnant.

Tragic stuff.

Apparently the young lad was out to kill himself and obviously decided to take some poor unfortunate with him.

Something similar happened in Denmark I think more recently where a few members of an Irish family were killed in similar circumstances.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 851152, member: 24”]Yeah - I often wonder about those. Young lad in his 20s crashes into a wall.

There was a case about 2 years back where a couple were driving around Tipperary somewhere and a young lad ploughed into them killing the woman who was about 7 months pregnant.

Tragic stuff.

Apparently the young lad was out to kill himself and obviously decided to take some poor unfortunate with him.

Something similar happened in Denmark I think more recently where a few members of an Irish family were killed in similar circumstances.[/quote]

That was a mate of mine. Some little prick (I think he was only 16 or so) decides to rob his mothers car and wreck countless peoples lives. The devastation that caused . . . … God forgive me but if the thoughtless little scrote was in front of me now I’d shoot him

I know its probably misguided and uncaring but suicide seems like the most selfish act one can commit. Why not just opt out but in life? Run away if you have to, forget who you are but don’t hurt those around you more that is necessary

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 851152, member: 24”]Yeah - I often wonder about those. Young lad in his 20s crashes into a wall.

Tragic stuff.

Something similar happened in Denmark I think more recently where a few members of an Irish family were killed in similar circumstances.[/quote]

unless there was another incident, but I think you are wrong on that one farmer. the incident I am thinking of is an Irish mans 3 kids were killed, and his Danish wife survived the crash. the family had been living in Australia and were out visiting her family in Denmark. The driver of the other car didnt die either, and he isnt accepting he was at fault. It happened at an intersection where one car didnt stop. No charges have been brought forwarded the last time I heard, but he wasnt trying to top himself anyway, nor her. the Danish guy said it was a complete accident with both in the wrong place at the wrong time.

just looked it up there, he has been charged with speeding, but she turned left into the oncoming car, so both technically contributed to that accident.

[quote=“shocko, post: 851153, member: 1582”]That was a mate of mine. Some little prick (I think he was only 16 or so) decides to rob his mothers car and wreck countless peoples lives. The devastation that caused . . . … God forgive me but if the thoughtless little scrote was in front of me now I’d shoot him

I know its probably misguided and uncaring but suicide seems like the most selfish act one can commit. Why not just opt out but in life? Run away if you have to, forget who you are but don’t hurt those around you more that is necessary[/quote]

Because you’re dealing with an illness that seriously impairs your cognitive function. It might sound easy to you to run away but you’re operating under the assumption that the sufferer is exhibiting rational thought.

The old maxim of suicide being an act of selfishness or cowardice couldn’t be more wrong.

[quote=“Gman, post: 851154, member: 112”]unless there was another incident, but I think you are wrong on that one farmer. the incident I am thinking of is an Irish mans 3 kids were killed, and his Danish wife survived the crash. the family had been living in Australia and were out visiting her family in Denmark. The driver of the other car didnt die either, and he isnt accepting he was at fault. It happened at an intersection where one car didnt stop. No charges have been brought forwarded the last time I heard, but he wasnt trying to top himself anyway, nor her. the Danish guy said it was a complete accident with both in the wrong place at the wrong time.

just looked it up there, he has been charged with speeding, but she turned left into the oncoming car, so both technically contributed to that accident.[/quote]

Ye might be thinking of the case in England when the Polish guy crashed into the Irish family driving the car.

[quote=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 851155, member: 1624”]Because you’re dealing with an illness that seriously impairs your cognitive function. It might sound easy to you to run away but you’re operating under the assumption that the sufferer is exhibiting rational thought.

The old maxim of suicide being an act of selfishness or cowardice couldn’t be more wrong.[/quote]

The logical part of me fully realises that the poor devils that are at such a low point that they would consider taking their old life are in an altered state of reality. I have read that those that are in danger of committing suicide display radically different electromagnetic brain patterns and cannot be considered to be capable of fully complex though processes.

It’s just when you survery the wreckage afterwards its difficult to be rational and anger is the overriding emotion.

[quote=“shocko, post: 851153, member: 1582”]
I know its probably misguided and uncaring but suicide seems like the most selfish act one can commit. Why not just opt out but in life? Run away if you have to, forget who you are but don’t hurt those around you more that is necessary[/quote]

In my opinion, viewing suicide as a selfish act isn’t helpful. I am sure that the last thing Niall Donoghue, Shane McEntee etc wanted to do was to hurt their families. Whatever was going on for them in terms of crippling emotional pain, lack of hope was what drove them to it. Until you’re in a similar position yourself and hopefully you never are, you can’t begin to understand it.

Isn’t it a terrible reflection on society that these guys couldn’t express how they are feeling or get help. Tis easy through out words like depression and mental health, but in many ways lots of these suicide cases have been let down by society in general.

Yes, @farmerinthecity is mixing up two incidents. The one in Denmark was an accident, whereas the Polish chap in England had a suicide note left and just ploughed into the Irish family’s car.

Harsh reality is that depression is just a label that medical professionals put on someone so they can try help or medicate them. It’s like a box ticking exercise. Throw them on tablets and see if it makes em better. If it does then reduce, if it doesn’t then increase.

[quote=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 851155, member: 1624”]Because you’re dealing with an illness that seriously impairs your cognitive function. It might sound easy to you to run away but you’re operating under the assumption that the sufferer is exhibiting rational thought.

The old maxim of suicide being an act of selfishness or cowardice couldn’t be more wrong.[/quote]
I don’t believe all suicides are the result of an illness, I don’t believe all suicides are the result of irrational thought and I do believe there is an element of selfishness in some suicides.

It’s not selfish, it’s the end FFS, nothing else , how can that be selfish. You have nothing after killing yourself the end game over , nothing gained except the end to intolerable mental anguish in most cases. Is ending unbearable suffering selfish ???

To admit being depressed is akin to branding damaged goods across your forehead. There is no understanding of it at all in mainstream society in Ireland , none . It’s hidden even if successfully treated

And this is why we will continue to have problems… Fair play to anyone who admits this to friends and the public, but like I said, we need to start talking about it when people are 8/9/10, not adults.