Iâve read various theories regarding suicide one being that the person feels that his/her loved ones and the world would be better off without them
Newstalk lunchtime did a special programme last year about suicide. A lady was on speaking from a group called Suicide Survivors, I think. She said that the smallest little thing can be final trigger factors. She recounted a time when she went to her GPs and it was busy but the receptionist brought her into a room and gave her a cup of tea and sat with her. She said that had that receptionist been even fractionally colder or had sent her away she would have made another attempt on her life then
[quote=âmyboyblue, post: 851116, member: 180â]This was RTâd into my timeline, could it be true? If so, no wonder then why we will never tackle the stigma around this thing
â@Shiminay itâs also against every media guideline out there to report on suicide as it has serious knock on effects for readersâ
FYI the guy in question appears to be a big shot over on boards.[/quote]
The owner and founder of boards is a massive advocate of raising mental health awareness.
[quote=âfarmerinthecity, post: 851152, member: 24â]Yeah - I often wonder about those. Young lad in his 20s crashes into a wall.
There was a case about 2 years back where a couple were driving around Tipperary somewhere and a young lad ploughed into them killing the woman who was about 7 months pregnant.
Tragic stuff.
Apparently the young lad was out to kill himself and obviously decided to take some poor unfortunate with him.
Something similar happened in Denmark I think more recently where a few members of an Irish family were killed in similar circumstances.[/quote]
In that particular instance the mother of three dead kids survived and was charged with manslaughter. Was a big feature in Sindo recently. I read it on plane home from a stag and wasnât in the better of it for the night it was such a horrific story
Have you ever had suicidal thoughts?
Everyone surely has at some stage?
Iâve no idea what went through Niall OâDonoghue or Shane McEnteeâs minds, and Iâm not suggesting for a second that they wanted to hurt their families, but Iâve no doubt that suicide can be and is used as a weapon against loved ones, particularly after the break up of a relationship. One girl I knew in college had an ex-boyfriend who threatened to kill himself if she broke up with him. She broke up with him and he took his own life a couple of months later.
In terms of rational thoughts, are all murders the result of irrational thought, and are all people who kill another person mentally ill? I donât think so. Why then, is it almost taboo to say that not all people who kill themselves are thinking irrationally and/or are mentally ill?
Good discussion here lads, fair play.
The bottom line with depression & suicide is that the poor soul is so tired of living their lives under certain circumstances that they have only 2 roads to follow.
Depression is the long hard route imo, people can have good & bad days but plough on in mental agony.
Suicide is the short term escape from route 1. It can be caused by mental anguish, heartbreak or even being mentally ashamed of an issue.
What can be done?
Firstly, we all need to be better Fathers,Mothers,Siblings, Sons, Daughters & Friends. Life has a habit of making us totally self absorbed to the extent we forget our friends or we canât forget our problems. Taking time to be a good listener is simply easy, but in reality how many of us want to hear peoples everyday problems?
Secondly, education is key. From a young age, it needs to be drilled into people that protecting your mind is vital. Schools like drilling information into kids heads but do they teach them how to deal with the voices in there? Like fuck do they.
Brian Fallon?
Heâs daft.ie is he not? Not him anyways
[quote=âfarmerinthecity, post: 851152, member: 24â]Yeah - I often wonder about those. Young lad in his 20s crashes into a wall.
There was a case about 2 years back where a couple were driving around Tipperary somewhere and a young lad ploughed into them killing the woman who was about 7 months pregnant.
Tragic stuff.
Apparently the young lad was out to kill himself and obviously decided to take some poor unfortunate with him.[/quote]
Some devastation left after that
[quote=âSidney, post: 851213, member: 183â]Iâve no idea what went through Niall OâDonoghue or Shane McEnteeâs minds, and Iâm not suggesting for a second that they wanted to hurt their families, but Iâve no doubt that suicide can be and is used as a weapon against loved ones, particularly after the break up of a relationship. One girl I knew in college had an ex-boyfriend who threatened to kill himself if she broke up with him. She broke up with him and he took his own life a couple of months later.
In terms of rational thoughts, are all murders the result of irrational thought, and are all people who kill another person mentally ill? I donât think so. Why then, is it almost taboo to say that not all people who kill themselves are thinking irrationally and/or are mentally ill?[/quote]
Ya I kinda agree here, in case I was not clear earlier when saying suicide and mental illness are linked. I donât think all suicides are by people who are mentally Ill.
I would say a lot of people are quite rational about it, and Iâd say some are just plain arrogant âIâm better than this worldâ.
But the majority I would suggest are from pure despair.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 851292, member: 273â]Ya I kinda agree here, in case I was not clear earlier when saying suicide and mental illness are linked. I donât think all suicides are by people who are mentally Ill.
I would say a lot of people are quite rational about it, and Iâd say some are just plain arrogant âIâm better than this worldâ.
But the majority I would suggest are from pure despair.[/quote]
Whoa, Kev. That is one of the craziest things Iâve ever heard. Please explain why anyone would think or act like this. Surely anyone who thinks(if there is such a person) that the logical consequence of being too good for this world is to leave it is indeed as batshit mental as they come?
Maybe you are right. But I get the feeling some hyper intelligent and deep thinking people just look at all the idiocy, greed etc and struggle to find people on their level of thinking and say " fuck this, I canât handle all the stupidity, these people are fools" and they kill themselves.
Who is to say they are mentally Ill? They might be right. The mundane and materialistic life may be beyond them. It doesnât make them batshit crazy though.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 851325, member: 273â]Maybe you are right. But I get the feeling some hyper intelligent and deep thinking people just look at all the idiocy, greed etc and struggle to find people on their level of thinking and say " fuck this, I canât handle all the stupidity, these people are fools" and they kill themselves.
Who is to say they are mentally Ill? They might be right. The mundane and materialistic life may be beyond them. It doesnât make them batshit crazy though.[/quote]
Well thank fuck Iâm a thick bastard, thatâs all I can say to that.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 851325, member: 273â]Maybe you are right. But I get the feeling some hyper intelligent and deep thinking people just look at all the idiocy, greed etc and struggle to find people on their level of thinking and say " fuck this, I canât handle all the stupidity, these people are fools" and they kill themselves.
Who is to say they are mentally Ill? They might be right. The mundane and materialistic life may be beyond them. It doesnât make them batshit crazy though.[/quote]
Working is a terrible waste of human potential when you think about it.*
*usually
[quote=âSidney, post: 851327, member: 183â]Working is a terrible waste of human potential when you think about it.*
*usually[/quote]
Because weâre lining someone elseâs pockets is it Sid?
Itâs you whoâs engaging in the deep thinking there, Kev. Not buying it. It makes them sociopaths.
I donât think thereâs any one set of issues or mental health problems or life circumstances that can be shown to cause suicide. I understand the rationale against Facebook pages etc especially when a teen or younger person commits suicide, as their peers might be at a life development stage where they canât handle such emotional trauma properly. Then again some people never develop the maturity to handle such trauma, or are just genetically pre disposed against doing so.
I suppose people just find themselves in deep despair, or just canât face the pain. I remember a man in my parish drinking weed killer once. He immediately regretted it, drove to hospital but was too late. Other people I know have committed suicide after relationship break ups, and Iâve read about people in the pits of depression and who on having a light or momentarily happy moment decide to take their own lives as the thought of returning to anguish must for them be unbearable. For some the thought of embarrassment or losing face due to business failure etc is enough, and the stigma against admitting you have a problem is the number one issue Irish society needs to address.
While I agree with the impersonal and euphemism laden reporting of a suicide initially, as an emotionally charged situation can cause others to react irrationally, once a period of time has passed there needs to be a frank discussion on what happened, using the persons name, discussing what they did and then explaining to people, especially young people that if they had thought differently about their situation, or asked for help, things could have improved straight away.
Iâm not trying to pass myself off as one, believe me.
But I disagree a little. I think we have a label and name for everyone and itâs mostly to do with our discomfort with people who are not ânormalâ. You call them sociopaths, but I would not classify someone who I am thinking about as a sociopath.
noun
[LIST=1]
[*]1.
a person with a personality disorder manifesting itself in extreme antisocial attitudes and behaviour.
The type of person Iâm thinking about does not fall into this catogary.
We love labels as they making our thinking easier and let us not worry about something or someone who challenges us by quickly dismissing them with one word. I donât agree with it. I think we, and situations in life, are far more complex than that.
[/LIST]