Suicide

[quote=“Boxtyeater, post: 851870, member: 246”]I think all the above contributors are great, open and honest and caring to a fault…:clap:

I wonder if todays forumites had lived 30/40 years ago, in the times that were. Mortgages @18% Chronic unemployment and despite the adverse contagion, massive inflation.
The Dunlop disater in Cork, Ferenka and the rest, job losses on a grand scale…

The underlying point here is the fact that many have got/or will get it all too soft. Free education (sic), Grant aided College placings, Hole, Dole and Porter (borrowed). Available has become Must have.

The whole thing saddens me, of course, to a great degree. Despite what many may think, times and things were much tougher 40 years ago and the cossetting of our future generations has left them pansies for the times

From my opinion, the youth/20’s of today have had it all too handy. Boom times, never ending joyous lifestyles.
There’s more to money/lifesatyles/life than the high road.[/quote]

What a load of utter bollix. You are exactly one of ye reasons some of these people feel they can’t talk to people. Idiots like you help create it.

(Young) People have different issues these days, some of which you clearly have no idea about. The Leaving Cert for one is now an absolute monster of an issue.

Your generation has a lot to answer for in relation to the pandering to the Catholic Church, Fianna Fáil etc etc and letting our country go to the dogs more than once. So I’d leave the sermons to the raping priests ye supported.

Well said Kev. The shame culture spearheaded by the Catholic Church meant talking about anything was impossible. Even mentioning suicide in anyway was impossible. And the old generations did nothing but kowtow to the church.

[quote=“Boxtyeater, post: 851870, member: 246”]I think all the above contributors are great, open and honest and caring to a fault…:clap:

I wonder if todays forumites had lived 30/40 years ago, in the times that were. Mortgages @18% Chronic unemployment and despite the adverse contagion, massive inflation.

The underlying point here is the fact that many have got/or will get it all too soft. Free education (sic), Grant aided College placings, Hole, Dole and Porter (borrowed). Available has become Must have.

The whole thing saddens me, of course, to a great degree. Despite what many may think, times and things were much tougher 40 years ago and the cossetting of our future generations has left them pansies for the times

From my opinion, the youth/20’s of today have had it all too handy. Boom times, never ending joyous lifestyles.
That would be a nice effort on practically any other thread that exists on here, but not this one. You can do better a chara.

That’s tough kid, very tough

Nothing you could do sure. At that particular moment in time for whatever reason that lad wanted to die.

Bit harsh on Boxty there. He said nothing about the church. Hindsight is great but there is something in what he says. How do modern suicide rates compare with the good old days?

No one knows, no one was allowed to report suicide back in the day as the would be ostracised by the RCC.

[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 851665, member: 1786”]That’s a seriously good post.
Had you drink in you at the time?[/quote]

No I hadn’t.

Suffered with depression for close to the entirety of my life - ultimately the only option you have is to willingly seek professional help, and almost certainly take medication along with it. Nothing else will work. Far better off now than ever before.

It’s bollixology. Times are different, problems are different, but no less challenging. There are many things I wished we kept the old ways, but that’s not the way the world has ever worked.

It’s a lazy opinion and pretty uneducated if he thinks mental hardship doesn’t rival physical.

Probably a big help. I’d say there’s an amount of cases out there of people who went through with it while drunk, who if they had been sober would have taken those extra few minutes that you did.

I always thought this was a grid iron forum. Turns out it’s s safe haven for the depressed.

Yea I agree. But to be honest where I was back then, I’d have got so drunk i’d have passed out. Drink masked a lot of things and helped me forget about the shit but it was a slippery slope, drinking and acting the cunt and not worrying bout my actions. I used to worry a lot about what people thought of me but I now don’t give a shit and I’m much happier. I am who I am

Are there any stats available from inquests as to how many suicide victims have either alcohol or drugs in their system at the point they actually kill themselves?

[quote=“glasagusban, post: 851594, member: 1533”]Just read through the last 7 or so pages of this thread. I was impressed by the mature debate of the forum. Then @Bandage waded in with his size 16 forehead and everything went down hill.

I’d be prone to feeling a bit depressed and went through a period of a few months a few years back where I was properly depressed. I should have gone to a doctor or counselling but didn’t recognise it at the time. I eventually came around out of it just by having a good time with friends for a while. In hindsight I see now that I should have done something to snap out of it sooner and am more aware now of not letting myself feel too down in the dumps. I have never contemplated suicide though so I can’t be that bad.[/quote]

lovely story there
I this, I that,

The shittest post I have ever read on TFK.

yes

Am I right in thinking there is an above average number of posters on here who have suffered from depression ??

Every second or third poster on this thread seems to have had it at one time or another