Suicide

Chopper over JFK bridge for the last half hour, another poor cunt gone in.

you should try being a linesman in LOI soccer

Probably die of loneliness.

John Commons and Silvie all but dedicated Gorts victory today to Niall Donoghue on GBFM there, you could nearly sense they were under instruction not to mention him by name. There’s a match between the county champs and the best of the rest of the county on the 28th in aid of QPR (Question,Pursuade, Refer).

Some do it for the power they lack in the rest if their lives, some do it purely to help the club and some do it cos they enjoy the games and being close to the action.

Its a few Gort lads that are behind the QPR initiative. A worthy cause.

Girl I went to school with was the latest victim of suicide last week. Only up the road from Donohues.

A damning indictment of our mental health services. Incredible that a clearly severely depressed woman was turned away from admittance on the grounds of whether driving off a road constitutes a suicide attempt.

The husband of a woman who killed herself has told the inquest she was twice turned away from hospital as she “did not have a specific plan to kill herself”.
Tragic Bridie Henry (63), who suffered from depression for some 30 years, later took her own life after placing herself in front of a train.
The inquest into her death heard husband Joseph Henry’s account of how he accompanied his wife Bridie to St Columba’s Hospital in Sligo only to be told her suicidal thoughts weren’t enough to have her admitted, that she didn’t have a specific plan in place to kill herself.
Mrs Henry (63) had spoken of suicide but Mr Henry said the doctors always resisted attempts to have her admitted.
"On a daily basis we are listening to debates on suicide and raising awareness of the issues involved. In most cases, suicide comes out of the blue but Bridie had suicidal ideation from the previous December and told all the doctors about it.
"All the doctors did was to say she had no plan, give or maybe change her medication and refer her for cognitive behavioural therapy.
"What kind of a plan did they require?
"Despite thirty years of depression, Bridie never threatened suicide until she came into the care of Sligo Mental Health Services.
“What is the point of suicide awareness if psychiatrists are ignoring it?” he asked.
Mr Henry outlined to the Coroner, Eamon McGowan and a jury at Sligo Courthouse, how his wife was attending a psychiatrist in Dublin since 1996.
The diagnosis was depression which was biological in nature.
The couple separated in July 2011 but they remained in close contact and on good terms.
On August 5th, Mrs Henry contacted Mr Henry to say she was feeling terrible and was going to try to get committed to St Columba’s. Her psychiatrist in Dublin was on holidays for a month.
Mr Henry recalled bringing his wife to the hospital but failing to gain admission. He brought her again on January 16th but once more she was refused admission.
They were sent back to Markievicz House where Mrs Henry got an appointment for the next day. They then had to go to go to her GP for medication. His wife said to him: “How would you like to have a permanent toothache in your head?”
“That’s how bad things were for her,” Mr Henry told the Inquest.
“On the two occasions I had direct contact with St Columba’s hospital I found the experience to be one of resistance,” he said.
Mr Henry described how his wife told a doctor on December 30th 2011 that she tried to kill herself the day before by running the car over the road but the barriers prevented her. She made similar sentiments on January 24th at an outpatient clinic. A risk assessment was carried out but it was stated in the report that she didn’t make a previous suicide attempt despite what she had said on December 30th.
"On March 27th 2012, Bridie told the doctor at the outpatient clinic that she was thinking about killing herself over the previous week. In the medical report they decided that the risk of self harm was minimal yet they would only give her a week’s supply of medication because of the risk of self harm.
“This medical report is a complete contradiction,” he said.
His wife was referred for Cognitive Behavioural Therapy but she took her own life the next day.
"I met Bridie on the night of the 27th. She was very upset at being given only one week’s supply of medicine. She was worried she might not get any more.
“One of the staff she met at the clinic said to her that she “should be inside” but she replied they would not take her in.”
Mr Henry said his wife was seen by six different registrars in Sligo and wondered if she was ever seen by a consultant. He asked that an independent consultant look at his wife’s case to include a review of the medicine she was being administered.
“This may help some other patient in the future,” he said.
The Inquest was told Mrs Henry, of Crozon Downs and formally of Cuilbeg, Carraroe, died from major injuries as a result of collision with the Sligo to Dublin train at at Knockmullin, Collooney at 5.24pm on March 28th 2012.
Train driver, James Meehan said he left Sligo at 5pm and ten minutes later he stopped in Collooney where a number of passengers got on and off.
About a mile outside Collooney he saw what he thought was a farmer leaning on a fence watching the trains go by as they normally do.
As he got closer this person moved away from the boundary fence towards the track.
He then saw it was a woman and he sounded the horn and made a brake application followed by an emergency one.
In his deposition read to the Inquest, Mr Meehan said the train was travelling at 64mph when he made the emergency brake application and it took 23 seconds for the train to come to a stop.
Consultant Psychiatrist, Dr Dimitrios Adamis from Sligo/Leitrim Mental Health Services based at St Columba’s agreed under questioning from the jury that Mrs Henry had suicidal thoughts but he said she had no plans. Suicidal thoughts, he said, were not always a cause for admission.
A jury member wondered how anyone could make a distinction between suicidal thoughts and a plan to carry it out. “Surely, the time had come for her to be admitted,” said the jury member.
Dr Adamis was not Mrs Henry’s treating consultant at the time. In reply to solicitor for the Henry family Anne Hickey, Dr Adamis agreed that from the time Mrs Henry attended first at the Sligo Mental Health Services in August 2011 to her death in March 2012, she had been seen by six different doctors.
Ms Hickey outlined how on December 30th 2011 Mrs Henry told a doctor she had tried to kill herself the day before by running her car off the road but that barriers prevented her from doing this. However, the doctor said there was no specific plan. Dr Adamis said a plan meant having a specific plan to kill. “I don’t know if you would call that an attempt,” he said.
On January 24th 2012, at an outpatient clinic she told the doctor she was considering suicide once more. Again, a doctor said she had no plan. Dr Adamis said there was always room for improvement in the services. There was no pressure on to reduce the numbers of those being admitted to hospital. A jury member said: “Unfortunately, this is not the first time a jury has come across this and something needs to change.”
At the conclusion of the evidence, the Coroner, Mr McGowan recommended to the jury that they bring in an open verdict.
“We have no record of intent which we can subscribe to the deceased,” he said.
However, after deliberating for a period, the jury returned with a verdict of suicide by collision with a train.
They also recommended an independent assessment be carried out into how Ms Henry was dealt with by Sligo Mental Health Services.
Sympathy was extended by the Coroner to the Henry family while foreman of the jury, Jerry Mitchell also expressed his condolences as did Sergeant Philip Maree on behalf of the Gardai.
Mr McGowan thanked the train driver for attending and give evidence. Irish Rail was represented by solicitor Brian Armstrong who also extended sympathy to the Henry family.

Very sad.

I lost an old drinking and pill taking friend from the states last night, am very good mates with his brother.

The sad thing is i wasn’t that shocked, and immediately wondered if i could have said something better along the way. Very sad and another very close family is in tatters.

I’ve lost one very close friend and a club captain to suicide. One 16 the other 24 years of age, no ever knows what going through someones head. One thing I do know is the families are never right afterwards. It’s very tough going. Need’s to be a lot more support put in place but sometimes there aren’t any obvious signs.

This is a bad time of the year for them, but i do believe they are down numbers wise.

There is a theory that some people are programmed to check out from birth. Those people, if the theory is real, its seems to be just a case of when. With others it seems to be life and sets of circumstances or loss of some sort.

Sorry to hear that Kev

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1059353, member: 273”]This is a bad time of the year for them, but i do believe they are down numbers wise.

There is a theory that some people are programmed to check out from birth. Those people, if the theory is real, its seems to be just a case of when. With others it seems to be life and sets of circumstances or loss of some sort.[/QUOTE]

I don’t know, I think it’s very simplistic to put it down to a certain gene etc. I can’t even imagine the despair a person most be going through to even contemplate doing it. I reckon it’s a rush of blood to the head that they probably regret straight away but often too late. It’s at epidemic proportions in this country far more deaths then road fatalities but very little is said or done about it.

Ya, hadn’t seen either of them in a while, obviously, was due to go up between X-Mass and NY. Now we’re off there Sunday.
Had 2 family friend deaths, both cancer one only 4 weeks after diagnosis, since we got home.
The Australian finds our funeral carry on very strange. Not very good entry to Ireland.

Ah Jaysus I’d say we’re the most open country in the world about it. Huge awareness of suicide In ireland.

I realise some still get brushed under the carpet by families, but nevertheless we’re far better than most other places.

In comparison to the rest of the world our rates aren’t actually that high.
I agree about the rush of blood thing, I mentioned it before, but I did a course and one of the key things they stressed was that the majority of suicides are by people reacting to a life event as opposed to someone suffering from severe depression/mental illness.

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1059364, member: 1786”]In comparison to the rest of the world our rates aren’t actually that high.
I agree about the rush of blood thing, I mentioned it before, but I did a course and one of the key things they stressed was that the majority of suicides are by people reacting to a life event as opposed to someone suffering from severe depression/mental illness.[/QUOTE]

I’m no expert on the subject TreatyStones but there’s far to many young fellas and girls going into the river in Limerick on a near daily basis. Living near the canal, I can tell you first hand there are far too many cases of this happening.

There is an excellent podcast with Jarlath Regan the comedian called An Irish Man abroad where he interviews irish people about their lives. There is one with a lad called Mick Finnegan from Dublin, one of the few interviews with non celebs. It’s a very hard listen as he attempted suicide several times but he made just the point you did above. He tried to hang himself and didn’t die immediately and knew straight away he wanted to live. Fortunately someone saved him. He has gone on to do a lot of good work for mental health in London. Really interesting character.

Sadly appeared to have taken turn for worse in last few weeks again but looks to be back on the horse now. An eternal struggle apparently

Many of suicides in Ireland aren’t classified as such so I think that has part to play in comparatively low figure. Awareness of suicide being an issue is good in Ireland but level of understanding in relation to it is poor in my opinion. Could be far more done to promote mental health in schools and how to cope with traumatic events and tackling homophobia. As @TreatyStones correctly points out most suicides aren’t due simply to depression but inability to cope with disasters. 50% of mental health problems begin before the age of 12 yet vast majority of primary schools don’t teach anything on the topic of mental health. Discreet lessons on coping with trauma and life blows would be very beneficial in my view but government unwilling to budge as yet and have instead focused exclusively on secondary schools which is big error in my view.

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1059364, member: 1786”]In comparison to the rest of the world our rates aren’t actually that high.
I agree about the rush of blood thing, I mentioned it before, but I did a course and one of the key things they stressed was that the majority of suicides are by people reacting to a life event as opposed to someone suffering from severe depression/mental illness.[/QUOTE]

Interesting.

People go on about this epidemic. Life can be a right cunt though. Some level of suicide is, dare I say it, natural. It is just that society tends to view suicide as a ‘waste’ as it is self inflicted. Yet the same society would talk about putting a dog with a broken leg to sleep as being a humane means of ending its torture. People who commit suicide have an unknown level of torture going on yet its a ‘waste’.

I have had some interesting discussions with people on suicide. One person viewed it as a brave act, which is far away from the notion of ‘selfishness’ which is often portrayed. Brave could be defined as the willing suffering of pain in order to achieve a certain goal. In order for people to kill themselves, an incredible amount of pain is required and the goal of ending their hell is achieved. An interesting way of looking at it.

@caoimhaoin is dead right though with regard to Irish people being generally understanding and clued in around the topic. You only have to read some of the excellent posts on this thread to see that. Then you have the likes of Bressie coming along and saying we are all mugs. Clown.