Suicide

I wonder how many suicides are as a result of sexual molestation courtesy of the catholic church and school teachers. I was speaking to a cousin of mine only last week on this topic and she was telling me there were a spate of suicides within a year in her area of young people in their 20ā€™s. It was all attributable apparently to a school teacher in the area who used to abuse kids years previously. I know of another case involving a relative of a friend of my mothers who was abused by a priest when she was aged 8-11. Needless to say her life has been ruined. She has no trust of men (particularly older men), is going through counselling, barely leaves the house and iā€™m fairly sure has been suicidal. I can guarantee alot of suicides are related to cases like these.

I suppose the legacy of shame is the churches fault for the pre Casey generation but I donā€™t think anyone after that pays much attention to them anymore. I agree with you about the attitude toward mental health and despite what I said earlier the financial situation cant be helping but I think it hard to point a finger at one cause we have heard the ā€˜ā€™ what did that lad have to be depressed aboutā€™ā€™ line it should be explained to the people that depression is a medical condition no different to diabetes or something.

Itā€™s only an opinion but I think those trying to fight the problem might have more success with the younger generation that the older ones. I have heard it argued that suicide should be kept out of the media as it only encourages other people to follow the actions of other, it has to be talked about it has to be views as NOT being an option

Very true. With respect to that second point, this is true across the entire medical industry. Itā€™s a big part of Marie Oā€™Connorā€™s comprehensive book on the Irish health service and there have been plenty of scandals. A girl I know was telling me the other night about her dept being taken out for dinner, all paid for by a pharma company and that itā€™s completely the norm.

Medical industry is practically untouchable though. They are a law onto themselves and nobody elseā€™s opinion matters.

People very rarely complain of depression Farmer for a number of reasons.

Firstly people donā€™t recognise it and secondly if they do recognise it they are ashamed to admit it.

I would be in total agreement with your comments regarding dishing out pills for depression but thatā€™s the answer for a lot of the medical profession who donā€™t recognise the holistic approach to dealing with these problems.

There was an awful tragedy down here about a month agoā€¦Woman in her late 40ā€™s/early 50ā€™s, had beaten breast cancer about 8 years ago and had a 10 year old son with special needs, had a bit of a battle with depression back a few years ago but looked to be over the worst of it, very well liked and respected in the community, had their own business and she was a trojan worker and a lady out and outā€¦hung herself from a tree, rumour has it she had found another lump a week or two previousā€¦

Our problems are small at the end of the day lads

Iā€™d go further dunph it could be the priest, teachers or anyone. Iā€™m aware of a so called respectable member of a community who was jailed over such issues, his actions resulted in suicide of at least two young men he wasnā€™t a priest or a teacher in fact his job would not have put him in contact with children at all and this sickened me altogether but some people had sympathy for him, the CUNT.

The taboo around it is huge, we as a nation wouldnā€™t be the greatest to admit feeling overwhelmed or depressed at the best of times for fear of what other might thinkā€¦anyone that has ever even been to the funeral of someone who committed suicide will probably agree with me where there seems to even be an extra bleakness at these and people are even afraid to look each other in the eye at themā€¦

The church has after all preached about sex and sexuality in this country for decades. Not only that, but after the formation of this state they had their doctrine accepted as official policy, and thatā€™s verified history not some vague conspiracy theory. Think about the damage these warped fucks have done to our society with their endless obsession with peopleā€™s sex lives. They produced the monsters who abused children at will for decades. Not only that, they facilitated it.

Yeah - thatā€™s a fair point Fran and there is nothing that the medical confession can do about those that donā€™t present.

But they have a responsibility towards those that do, which is being completely violated.

If someone complains of heart problems they are sent to a specialist. It should be the same with depression.

By the way just after reading back through this thread, and there are some terrific comments on it. It just goes to show that the majority of people out there are good, and understanding when it comes to suicide. This needs to be shown more and more - in fairness I thought that was a superb ad with the young lad going on about ā€˜yer man over there doing his head inā€™ and it turns out to be himself.

Iā€™m not disputing any of that WTB all Iā€™m saying is after all the revelations about them who pays any heed to them any more their power is gone and yes I realise the damage is done

Such a tragic subject.

I am sitting here in my house on the Clare/Galway border and I am within 1/2 a mille of 3 separate houses that have been affected by suicide in the past 5 years. Our village is badly tainted by this, each had their own valid reason but the people left behind will spend their remaining days in silent mourning.

And lets be open about here, we have all had our bad days but somehow there is an inner strength thats pulls the majority of us through till things pick up again.

Maybe its a chemical imbalance, maybe its a troubled childhood, maybe its financial but in the end I think that inner strength just runs out.

I think unfortunately a lot of west and north Clare as well as south Galway is considered a black spot for suicide but from reading the posts here I think that could be disputed and yea itā€™s very hard to point out one single issue

That is it essentially, although I would dispute the chemical imbalance point.

When something bad happens, the body reacts and goes into depression. Some people argue that depression is actually a defensive mechanism, it shuts the body down and allows you time to deal with it.

The key thing to note is that this will lift as you come to terms with it - that is why the say time is a great healer.

village near us, ahs suffered badly over the years, 5 from one minor team (over the course of a numbe rof years) i think, shocking stuff

Yeah I think the argument that suicide should be kept quiet as it only encourages others to do the same thing is bogus. It should be discussed, it should probably be a module in school along with sex education etc. As for the criminalisation of it or the church calling it a sin, both are irrelevant, misguided, reactionary responses to the problem and of no help whatsoever.
Must be absolutely gut wrenching for the parents who will agonise over it for the rest of their lives, what if we did this or what if he had got a good job or had a nice girlfriend he mightnā€™t have been so unhappy and things could have been different etc etc. That shit must stay with people for the rest of their lives. Iā€™m fcuking dreading going to this funeral.

Thatā€™s shocking.

There is a village beside me in Leitrim that has an incredibly high suicide rate for the size of the population.

One family in partiular lost two members to suicide. The first was a young lad, maybe 17, who attended a rave, took drugs and couldnā€™t handle the come down.

His sister, who was engaged at the time, was entertaining friends and was found dead the next morning.

Like so many other things, education is the key. Everybody hurts.

On somewhat of a tangent there is a very small townsland up the road from me in broadford, think there is something like 18 houses/families in it and about 15 of them have had some sort of tragedy in the last 25 years, be it suicide, death of a child, family members killed in car crashs, accidents etcā€¦

Does anyone know why it affects men so disproportionately? Is is just because women are more likely to talk about stuff or is there more to it?

I think the official figures actually show that women suffer more from it, as in they present themselves more with symptoms of depression.

There in lies the issue - women are much more likely to seek help.