Wonder is there anything to do with the power station nearby? Chemicals in the air or something. If it is the same village Iām thinking about.
My auld lad found one of my mothers friends not so long ago. To be honest you can blame support services all you want but if someone wants to go through with it they will find a way. It is a pretty selfish act imo but shows how dangerous a persons state of mind can be.
Thereās lots of types of depression, some of it can be reactive, some of it can be cognitive etc. Not all of it is brought on by something bad happening and not all of it lifts with time. The likes of Stephen Fry is a very good read on the subject. Thereās elements of coming to terms with being depressed and learning to recognise and deal with triggers but many people who suffer from depression make the point that you donāt necessarily recover or find it passes with time.
Agreed on the medical industry point earlier. Weāre at least better than the US but thereās still a huge rush to just throw out a prescription instead of referrals to at least ascertain the type of depression.
As KP says, the inner strength just runs out. Adopting an attitude such as the above to suicide victims doesnāt help anyone. It is about compassion and understanding. Thatās the best way of dealing with it imo, not though anger or labelling.
Ye should read up any articles by John McCarthy about mental health, he is really out there about it. He set up this organisation called Mad Pride. He went through depression, tried to kill himself etc, came through it. He was on Tom Dunne the other day and is very impressive, sad thing is he was told recently (he also got over cancer) that he has about 2 years left due to Motor Neuron Disease.
He stood for election recently, mostly on the back of attacking the pharma companies.
Turfcutter - I suppose i was talking about older men around my age and up, its very often financially related, and sometimes the shame of losing and/or owing money. There has been a sharp rise in middle age middle class men killing themselves. As Rocko explained depression comes in many forms. There is a theory as well that some people just have a clock, they are not really depressed at all, but very suddenly decide they donāt want to live anymore. I certainly believe this could well be fact, going on experiences i have had with suicides. My friends mother killed herself not that long ago,52 years of age, thats very rare.
I understand what your saying about the shame of not being able to provide but the most of the cases around me would be of lads between 16 and 21 with their entire lives ahead of them, I donāt subscribe to the clock theory you donāt just want to stop living one day, there are issues and signs, for a nation with an ability to talk we canāt talk about our emotions we bottle it up and let it fester.
As I said earlier who hasnāt heard the āāsure what would that lad have to be depressed aboutāā depression is an illness and like others has fatal consequences if untreated
I donāt think there is any one cause but I wish we could stop it, death is final and then as shannonsider said there are lasting consequences for the families
Depression in its reactive state takes that evoluntary āretreat to the caveā form which is a perfectly natural reaction to a major life event. To throw pills at it isnāt going to work frankly. The chemical imbalance is a factor in bipolar, or manic depression, which is what Stephen Fry has although there are elements of life events coming into play here as well.
I donāt like the notion of chemical imbalance being mentioned as it suggests that it can all be fixed with a pill. People with depression, and to a lesser extent bipolar, need to accept that the right way out isnāt a quick fix but through a lot of hard work.
Mind you I accept in some cases chemical interaction may be necessary if the person is seriously depressed, but it should be kept to a minimum.
Lots of different issues there. There are absolutely cases of people with bipolar who need pills and who can be helped by that.
There is generally a chemical imbalance associated with many types of depression but thatās really a symptom and not really the underlying cause IMO. Thereās a danger in people proclaiming themselves experts though. Whatever about the criticisms of the medical profession earlier in the thread thereās obviously a huge number of GPs and others who have done extensive research on the topic.
Again though it doesnāt need to be either reactive or bipolar. You can have cognitive depression etc and there are many people in Ireland who are depressed for reasons other than bipolar or because something traumatic happened. Thatās not something time will always heal. It needs specialist treatment and assistance.
It does - but I think medication is overused. Given the nature of what you are dealing with, there is a high risk of addiction and a tendancy to over rely on what is essentially a mask to cover up a deep underlying problem.
I donāt purport to be an expert at all but I am just giving my view in a general sense. I think the one thing this nasty topic shows us is that everyone is different, and affected by different things in different ways and there is no one solution. Ultimately whatever helps to take an
individual out of their hell and keep their depression to a reasonable level can be purlely just that - individual.
Donāt know much about the level of medication distributed but a lot of problems probably stem from an underlying issue that just snowballs. Probably a comment on us all in itself that people are so unwilling to talk about their problems. I would say farmer that medication may often be necessary to help people function on a day to day basis while the deeper problems are resolved.
I suppose the subtle things are really the most telling. Has anyone ever seen a death notice where its been stated that the person died from suicide? You donāt die from suicide, you die āsuddenlyā. A deeply ingrained aversion that persists. Even if everyone knows it was suicide, itās rarely stated even at a funeral.
Iād say that must have its roots in the criminalisation of suicide though? Again courtesy of the church. I mean if they managed to get it criminalised can you imagine the shame they instilled in the congregations about it.
Yep, shur they wouldnāt even let Seanie (in The Field) be buried on consecrated ground. Iāve read the bible from Genesis to Revelations and I aināt ever read any teaching on suicide.
When the Bull is hammering the Yanks head off the rock, he is going on a rant about how the Yank shamed him in front of his people, his God and his son.
āYou shamed me, shame me, shame meā he says as he continues hammering his head off the rock.
I think āshame meā coincided to āSeamieā in his head as he grieved for his son, and all the anger came out.
Iāve a few mates that have been depressed. They got medication and havenāt had any relapses that Iām aware of. Seems to work, particularly in the āsure what does he/she have to be depressed aboutā type cases that someone mentioned above. Itās not a cure-all obviously.
Honestly, i think is what happened in a situation i know of. Without getting into the details, it all kinda points to just a sudden decision, becuase the guy in this case was open and living a good life, a very good life in fact, had health & wealth. Its just when i heard it i read into it a bit, and while it is pretty much impossible to know anyway without notes or a clear diagnosis, other people and psychologists around the world believe it as well.
I suppose living in the city and working in the city means i would hear of the corporate type suicides. Was a local young fella from a parish near me alright who died recently, and his friends and family put the blame very much at the door of Garda bullying.
I read in the Herald a few days ago that 3 lads were pulled from the Liffey in separate incidents the week before last. (At the risk of sounding crass I was reminded of the Withnail and I āthrowing themselves into the road to escape all this hideousnessā quoteā¦)