You sound like you’ve lost complete control of the dressing room. By all meams… allow them their bit of soft harmless pop music but you need to respond in equal measure with your own musical tastes. Things may get tricky when you hear your youngest singing about ‘whores in my bed’ but plough on and fight your corner.
There was very little music claptrap when my auld fella was driving us to school. Strictly Morning Ireland in the morning or Drivetime in the evening. Sports then on a Saturday or Sunday.
Whatever Country and western show could be picked up on a local station then on a Sunday evening after a match was as much music as we got to listen to when he was driving.
My young lad will get expelled from school when he does his latest party piece at the school Christmas concert
Simmer Down by Casper Walsh…he has the dub accent down and all
What is it that separates Coldplay say from other music thats classed as ‘credible’ (arcade fire? the national?) you could easily swap a lot of their songs over and say one was by the other
Why does every generation have to hate on the next generations musical tastes? That’s what always amazes me.
I’m not really big into music but it always amazes me.
How much it annoys people.
The ould fella aquired a Seamus Moore tape back in the mid 90s and we got some kick out of that.
You got drove to school? Well la di fucking da.
It’s was a frequent sight in Cricklewood to run into the “Seamus Moore Hoor on Tour” van
A parent has a moral obligation to educate his children- you’d want to be leading them along, playing great music that they mightn’t discover otherwise etc. And shouting at them, of course.
They’ll find their own way, my eldest has great taste in music now, she’d ask me for recommendations, in fact all the kids would be familiar with my music because I play it for myself around the house as well,
4 girls in a car can be tough going, at least if they’re all happy with the tunes you’ve a chance, they’d be bickering non stop if I stuck on Townes Van Zandt
Actually yesterday I chanced ‘can’t hardly wait’ by the Repkacements while we were going to Charleville and a row broke out by the second verse.
Anyway tis all over now, my eldest girl had an incredible night on Saturday at the Aviva, and fair play to her, life is short
If they had held off on the concerts until August they could have milked even more people in Croker.
On a wall beside a pitch at the back of the Regional Hospital in Galway there used to be the words “NEW ORDER” painted in large capital letters. It was very visible from Seamus Quirke Road. It was quite a local landmark actually, the New Order wall. Beside the New Order graffiti there was a much less legible. smaller and more apologetic scrawling of “The Smiths”.
This graffiti endured for at least 30 years. It was washed off at some point over the last decade.
Do people still spray paint the name of their favourite terrorist organisation on walls much these days?
There’s a “JOIN INLA” spray painted on a wall at the back of Laurel Park. I think it’s still there.
There was a John Bonham RIP in large paint letters close to where I grew up, lasted well into the 2000s
I’m sure there was old man back then saying the same about Beatlemania.
There was “We all love you” painted on the wall from Ardkeen to Island Lane in Waterford from the early 1970s until the early 2000s.
If they had held off on the concerts until August they could have milked even more people in Croker.
The GAA need a split season with a mid-summer concert break.
There was “We all love you” painted on the wall from Ardkeen to Island Lane in Waterford from the early 1970s until the early 2000s.
Is there a name of a public figure, football team or terrorist organisation missing from the inverted commas part of that post or was that the actual graffiti, a sort of 1970s version of the generalised, commodified, vacuous fake INTERNET kindness of today?
“We all love you” could be the corporate slogan of an evil social media company.
“We all love you.”
Who is “we”? “We” is everybody. You is you. Everybody in the world loves you. And we will give you likes to hook you on our e-drugs.
A few lads here would still think that Facebook is what the kids like.
What would you class as your top 5 artists to educate them on?