TFK 2022 Fun Running Log Thread

Not in this thread please :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

Just run.

I think it’s remarkable how well your body has held up … if I done that mileage my body would have snapped long ago…

I do have a theory and I could be completely wrong but those that played less team sport in their 20s/30s probably have a bit more in the tank when it comes to taking up the likes of running, etc a bit later in life.

Nike Trails have very little grip (I’ve the Pegasus and had a lovely skid down a trail last week - one where you know it’s gonna happen and praise the Lord for your big arse) so they’re not too great in the mud. They’re a good generalist.

Id agree. Any lad who played sport seriously from teens through to adult have a load of scar tissue, wear and tear, niggles etc. Playing on multiple teams and multiple sports compounds this.

Maybe it might change with science and load management but I dont see much change at present. Too many coaches only pursuing self interest.

I wouldn’t only blame coaches either, a lot of lads are their own worst enemy when it comes to minding themselves at that age.

True, but that’s where the coach needs to educate.

They also have a bit more to prove……

I can only run on sand otherwise I’m in agony for a week

A grand surface for you to dig your heels in on…

Just as this is a grand platform for you to stick your nose in things

Thanks very much

I believe this might have contributed greatly to my discomfort. After about 3 runs I started chasing the clock. Took 9 mins off my 5k time (it wasn’t a good time) within 6 weeks and was bursting myself. I’ll keep an eye on you lads here to see what you are at and start off slowly again and leave the watch at home. Thanks

I think there’s merit to @TreatyStones theory alright. From a personal perspective, I wasn’t playing competitive team sport in the last 20 (twenty) years so wasn’t accumulating mileage, wear & tear, & picking up injuries that way.

The injuries I sustained were mainly from playing 6-a-side and I know someone who thinks ageing lads kicking ball pays mortgages for physios in a roundabout way. I tore a hip cartilage and a thigh muscle amongst other things, & they were probably more from horsing around while being out of shape at the time.

I used to get the odd calf strain when I took up running but I’m paying more attention to injury prevention now thanks to Fenway & this thread. Building up the mileage gradually, different effort days, changing runners regularly etc.

Hopefully I stay injury free now, but I mostly attribute it to buying all the gear and gadgets. “You look good, you feel good, you play good” - Wayne Routledge.

Whenever I’m out and I see somebody NOT using the buff headband/wristband now I want to stop them and teach them
The error of their ways, I just take for granted that they have the flipbelt under the shirt.

You still on the Steigen socks?

I’m actually going to take the plunge & order some buff headbands/wristbands. I’ve a couple of bandanas but if your wardrobe stays still then you get passed out. I’ve only a couple of pairs of Steigen socks so will buy some more of them too. Need some more runners also but will stick with Saucony.

Try stance socks if you feel like a change.

Go for merino wool for your headbands

I was gifted a couple pairs of Hilly socks. Not bad, not bad at all.

My road socks are a three pack of Adidas socks (don’t think they are actual running socks) that have been worn down to about two pairs of fairly worn socks after about 4/5 years. I’ve some expensive socks for trails but need to get a few for the roads before I show up to the local AC sessions.

Men's ROAD QUARTER | Performance Black/ Mid Grey | Socks | ASICS Outlet?

These are half price and if you buy one, you get another at half price of the half price so 11.25 for 2 pairs instead of 30 quid.

Edit - I’ve a few pairs of the below that are available on same offer. I find them very good.

https://outlet.asics.com/ie/en-ie/distance-run-ped-sock/p/3013A536-020.html?