not selecting him here but Donncha Walsh was a massive player for Kerry
By far the best of those genuine half forward options for Kerry on that list. He was a workhorse, he performed on the big occasions and he could play too.
the workhorse thing is undisputed but the he could play too bit gets forgotten
Sean O Sullivan > Galvin and Donnacha
Because the gobshite clearly knows fuck all about football
Cause he’s a chippy myopic nordie?
This team we’re picking needs to play together… No point picking a greedy bastard of a half forward who won’t pass to the 5 other outstanding forwards…
And when he went out to half forward in 2011, turned the game for me… But its little cameos and its 4 years since he started a final and keegan had measure of him back then…there’s a real sense of him just drifting into retirement as a bit player and a feeling of what might have been… Especially when you see what he did for the Vins…
Donnellan was majestic. Don’t mind that gowl. Basketball is about all he’d be good for.
Probably because it’s hard enough to play with fingers in your eyes.
Paul Flynn the pick of the Dublin half forwards of this era for me
super player - how many all stars?
4 in a row from 2011 to 2014.
All the more impressive given Dublin didn’t make the final in two of those years.
In fairness to Dermo he was brilliant in 2013 and 2016 against Kerry and should have been FOTY in 2014.
He was incredible against Donegal the day they were beat.
yes, was so consistent
he went back playing hurling with his club in 2019 when he retired from inter county football. won a junior hurling championship not that this is relevant to this selection
For me, a lot of these lads were better in the full-forward line, and I wouldn’t necessarily have chosen them as half-forwards. Obviously the competition inside will be absolutely massive.
I’m going to pick Cooper at centre-forward (although I’ll have him in the corner if he doesn’t get in here). Huge fan of Declan O’Sullivan aswell, so I’ll have him too.
Very tough for last spot. For me- Dooher, Murphy, Kilkenny are probably the ones I really considered. Big fan of Donnellan, McGuigan & Donnachadh Walsh too.
Went for Dooher in the end, he was a great bit of stuff, would be a nice complement to Cooper & O’Sullivan.
the competition in every line is absolutely massive bar goals!
Galvin was twice the player dooher was. Dooher just looked good because he was surrounded by mundane CrossFit types, who rarely attacked anything but the back of their marker, who, for the Tyrone half forwards, was usually the opposing half forwards.
Dooher was a workhorse. He scored two outstanding outside of his right peg scores, that are rightly applauded but in general he was just a lad that got up and down the pitch a lot. Not a particularly skillful player, no real vision or passing range, just ran a lot. Those couple of big points he pinged over have given lads a rose tinted view of his talents. He wasn’t skillful, don’t recall him ever being two footed (someone mentioned he was good off two feet, would love to see some of his left foot scores), he didn’t generally score a lot and just came across as a fella with a good engine and attitude. Couldn’t have him near a team of the decade.
A destitute mans Paul Galvin.
Would you go and shite you fool of a man.
Galvin couldn’t dream of scoring the points Dooher did and Dooher came up with them on the biggest of occassions.
Only an utter simpleton would pick Galvin over Dooher. Dooher inspired his teammates, kicked scores from 45 yards out off both feet, put players on their arse when he ran at them, won the dirty ball and immediately went on the front foot.
Galvin was a shaper who was only good for hand passing the ball off to someone. He didn’t have the football ability or drive of Dooher. In fact Galvin would probably be too busy starting something with his marker and letting his team down than doing what Dooher is.
You haven’t a breeze.
You seem to have an opinion on Dooher but can barely recall him play.
He was two footed. All Tyrone players are two footed, they’re trained that way from an early age, even someone like Colm Cavanagh score regularly off his left.
There’s plenty of his left foot scores up there:
Ulster final v Down
Ulster final v Armagh
AI QF v Dublin
Go back and look at those scores, Galvin could only score them in his sleep.
The four points he scored in the 3 games against Kerry summed him up:
2003 game - jinks inside the Kerry defender drives on and puts it over outside of the right foot.
2005 - takes the ball on the run, evades the Kerry challenge and puts a boomer over form just inside the 45 yards
2008 - takes the ball inside his own 45, puts the first Kerryman who tried to put him over the line of his arse, throws the next one off and then hits a stunning point off the outside of his right from an acute angle
2008 - his second point that day he wins the breaking ball in the scuffle at midfield, drives on 30 yards, feints to shoot, sends the Kerry wing back for chips and a burger and composes before slotting it over the bar.
Galvin could only dream of hitting scores like that
Dooher beats Galvin in every single department as a footballer.