TFK Bogball Team 2000-2019 Midfielders

I was there when Armagh beat Kerry and cheered for them the whole way. Even bought a orange and white headband. If that helps.

That was before ye nordies destroyed foootball for a decade though. Armagh actually played some nice football, mixed in with the thumping. Right up my street

Destroyed? We brought football to another level and the yerras didnā€™t like it when teams didnā€™t bend the knee for them.

Jordan, Gormley and Ricey were superior defender to the Oā€™Ses and Moynihan.

Three Kerry lads in that defence. Itā€™s risible.

Kerry had the superior individuals, Tyrone the superior gameplan and big game attitude. The ultimate more than the sum of their parts team. I agree Marc o se was overrated though.
The forwards on this team will be very interesting. Flipping impossible to pick

They did in their fuck. Tyrone won their individual battles hands down.

People couldnā€™t get their heads around why Tyrone were so dominant over Kerry in the 00s. They had better players.

Yawn.

You could be right but over the course of their careers the kerry lads probably did more. They certainly played in more big games which is why they stick in peopleā€™s minds more and are higher rated. Think they were in 9 finals 2000 to 11 and every semi bar one.

Donā€™t get him started on the relative merits of the provincial championships mate, no one needs to read that. Again

Agreed, it was very boring

I canā€™t believe that people still are throwing out that old line.

Ah no I agree with him on that. I was just giving him a reason why the kerry lads are very highly rated. They played in almost every single big game for twelve seasons. Tyrone burned brightly for 3

Ah itā€™s true to an extent. The nordies dragged the game into the sideways hand passing, mass defence shite for a long time and it was horrible to watch.
Games evolve and thankfully it evolved away from it, but it was ugly for a long time.

Imagine the football that Tyrone team could have played without the shiteacting. Their minor team in 98 were one of the most enjoyable young footballing teams you could come across.

They chose the manner they did, and good luck to them. But it didnā€™t have to be that.

It was wonderfully intense football. The semi final of 2005 between Armagh and Tyrone is probably the best match I have ever seen and it ended around 0-14 to 0-13.

Kerry were parachuted into the last 12 every year.

Tyrone were thrown into a bearpit in May.

That Tyrone side had serious injuries and casualties along the line.

McGinley, Oā€™Neill and McGuigan all had crocked years, Canavan was a bit part player near the end as his ankle was done. Cavlan walked away, the sad passing of McAnallen, Kevin Hughes went to Australia for a year or two.

If they you swapped them with Kerry in Munster theyā€™d have won 5 or 6 that decade. Armagh would have had 3 or 4 if they were swapped with Kerry.

All true but what happened happened and kerry playing in all the big games and winning 5 all irelands in that time has led to their players being higher rated in general. Theres no point in getting thick about it. Tyrone beat them the three times they played and thatā€™s all that matters.

You couldnā€™t have the likes of cavanagh about the place. The most talented midfielder in the list but anyone lying down to get another player sent off is nothing but a tramp.
It says a lot about him that heā€™s remembered for his poor character rather than his ability and medals.

Are you suggesting that this is an incorrect perception?

For me I cannot for the life of me get how Marc Oā€™Se is viewed as a great, and even Seamus Moynihan, particularly when you consider the competition.

They bate us in the u21 football final in 2000 in portleix, and they were incredible to watch. Runners from everywhere, scores from everywhere, they were the Dubs before the Dubs even knew what that style of football was

I tried to warn you @Arthur

:man_shrugging:. If I was picking a team in 05 or 08 I would have had more kerry lads on it than Tyrone but they were comprehensively beaten both times. Maybe itā€™s just cos I was more familiar with them. Tyrone definitely seemed strangely inconsistent for a team who could reach such heights though.
Who did Tyrone get knocked out by in the other years of the decade? I havenā€™t a clue tbh