TFK Bogball Team 2000-2019 Midfielders

Micko’s team in 75 would be close or younger I’d guess

Average age 22.5.

Look I’m sure Galvin was a good player but there’s not really anything substantive for him to be in that reckoning.

Ye Munster folk are very parochial and clannish. I’ve seen it all before with Declan Browne who was a good forward but ridiculously overrated.

I do think Gary Brennan has probably done more in his career than Galvin.

I pulled you up on this before and you scuttled off without a response. Tyrone got a few of them from the 2001 U21 team. Jordan, McGuigan, McAnallen and them lads were all 23 when they won the All-Ireland in 2003, this was an era when Galway won an All-Ireland with 5 u21s playing.

And lost that U21 semi final to Laois

That was Tomas. They absolutely went to town in terms of filth that day.

22/23 tomato tomato.

Galway’s team was far, far, far more experienced than that Tyrone side.

Ray Silke, Kevin Walsh, Ja Fallon, Sean O’Domhnaill, Gary Fahey, McNamara and Finnegan had all been round for years.

Only Canavan, Cavlan and Dooher had any sort of experience on that Tyrone starting team.

So the Tyrone team in 2003 was the youngest ever and 5 years later you said they were over the hill? Something isn’t adding up here

Average age of 14 outfield players for Tyrone was 24, average age for 14 outfield players for Galway was 24. O’Domhnaill was 23 in 1998.

Canavan gone. Dooher on his last legs. O’Neill and McGuigan crocked, Mulligan lost his appetite.

Look at the forward line that started in 08

Mellon
Penrose
Dooher
T McGuigan
S Cavanagh
McCullagh

The candle was burning out, that’s what the Ulster Championship does to you, it wears you down.

The Donegal team under Jim McGuinness burned out by 2014.

O Se would say he loved blowing smoke up Galvin hole and that he toyed with him most days just for the shits.

Outfield?

Goalies dont count.

Galvin was truly immense; he used to make shit of Darragh O’Sé regularly and O’Sé is one of the greatest. 2010 was the year he was really robbed of an All-Star but you’re not really considered without winning a provincial title tbh. But his performance in the Munster Final that year is probably one of the all-time greatest displays I’ve seen.

The scheduling in 2003 & 2004 was an awful pity aswell.

Gary Brennan is a great midfielder too.

I went for Fenton & O’Sé though. Cavanagh probably 3rd. McGrane & Walsh after that.

Limerick had a few blue chip players Lucey and Galvin anyway were

If Mayo had Lucey, they wouldn’t had to be manoeuvring lads like David Brady and Aidan O;Shea fro midfield to mark Donaghy

Just lacked forwards really, very hard to win games without a couple of real scoring forwards. If Jason Stokes hadn’t been as injury prone, they could have played Galvin further forward more. He gave Mike McCarthy a couple of awful roastings.

O’Se and Fenton.

Fenton and O’Se.

O’Se is the fourth best midfielder in that list but somehow gets one of the spots, in keeping with the theme.

I reckon half of ye must have smashed the gaff up when Tyrone were destroying Kerry in the 00s.

@Faldo voted for a Kerry half forward who warmed the bench for most of his career.

TBF you voted for a midfielder who retired in 03.