These lads had big plans for having an Irish music/football festival in Poznan. Obvious from the start that they were young lads who had no experience in setting something like this up but still advertised heavily on social networks. Did the rounds on radio and RTE.
Fair play to them for trying but they are after fucking up alot of peopleās plans by getting ahead of themselves.
I fucking detest that UEFA ticket website. Tickets for the Spain game were briefly up. Tried for four, then three and couldnāt get them. Went for two then and got on to the credit card details screen. When I entered my details they said the tickets were gone. What kind of a fucking website doesnāt hold your tickets for you while you are entering your credit card details? :shakefist: :shakefist: :shakefist:
Was that meant to be a pop at me? I had plenty of difficulties with the site in December, which I documented on this forum. Spain game is the only one I need tickets for now though, and in spite of the fact that I check the site a few times almost every day, last night was the first time I saw the game up there. So I was pretty excited when I thought I had two tickets for it, and fairly fucking frustrated when I lost them. So I came on here and had a vent.
Now go and fuck yourself you cunt. Canāt remember any positive contribution youāve made here. Itās all just pathetic sniping and youāre not even remotely funny in the way you do it, unlike someone like TASE.
Has anybody else received a reply back from the FAI regarding tickets? I have, or rather my ticket source has, but itās not the reply I was hoping for. ā¬120 Category 1 tickets as opposed to the ā¬30 Category 3 tickets applied for. Some wheeler dealing in store.
I reckon at this stage one of Platiniās sons or Blatter himself will call round your house wearing a long trench-coat and offering knock-off watches along with the āticketsā.
I know there is multiple other threads on the matter but have any of ye finalised your travel plans for the euros?
being superbly organised, I booked a one way flight to berlin and have loosely agreed to 3 weeks off work. have discussed with another member of our party the other days. thinking berlin until the 10th. hire car then for next 2 weeks. stay nearish to poznan on the 10th. accomodation looks crazy expensive. hit up north on the 11th. prob stop in torun. aim for gdansk around the 12th for the northern poland leg. no tickets for the spain game yet. hoping to get in the masurian lake district and malbork castle in that leg. back round poznan for the italy game on the 18th. after that head south which aside from the football is the bit Iām looking forward to. every polski Ive met has told me to stay out of auschwitz as it will destroy the holiday but going to go anyway. defo going to that wieliczka salt mine and hopefully dunajec river rafting too. from the limited research Ive done, the south of poland seems to have more going for it. really looking forward to krakow.
we were hoping to get southern poland done between games but with only 3 days in between the games it would be cutting it tight. afraid we might be arsing around now a bit though between gdansk and poznan.
does anyone know re poznan - is there public transport going all the night, i.e. can you stay somewhere remotely reasonably priced outside the city and get there handy enough? same question re gdansk?
Flying to Amsterdam with Aer Lingus on June 8th, train to Berlin
Train or bus to accomodation in Torun on June 9th
Trains to and from match venues on the day, although may try and get somewhere in Gdansk around the Spain game
Flying back from Krakow via Stansted with Ryanair June 20th
Day trip to Warsaw for Poland v Russia June 12th
Will be taking in the speedway in Torun on June 17th for sure
Fitting Auschwitz in looks difficult at this stage
Poznan and Gdansk both have extensive tram systems, and some trains run all night, eg the Gdansk-Sopot-Gdynia train runs hourly through the night.
KIB ā not sure how you plan to cover southern Poland between games when our middle game against Spain is in the north of the country??
Accommodation around Poznan seems to be very tricky to get at this stage. I booked on the evening the draw was made. We are staying in a suburb called Lubon which I believe is well connected by public transport. Not sure if there is 24 hour public transport but I have heard of trains starting from 5am. I have also heard a rumour that all public transport will be free when you show a match ticket (it was like that at Euro 2000 in Holland and saved us plenty of cash).
Accommodation up around Gdansk seems a little better and cheaper - mainly if you are willing to stay at one of the beach towns along the coast up that way. 30 minutes from Gdansk you have small sea side towns like Rowy and a national park. Check out this link http://wikitravel.orā¦/Gdansk#Get_out
I have no real intention of going boozing with tens of thousands of Irish fans for the 11 days I am there, so we are planning to get off the beaten track between games also. We still have to plan exactly what but Iām sure there are plenty of options for outdoor activities, etc. Iāll be bringing a tent.
I reckon the atmosphere around Poznan city centre and inside the stadium leading up to the kick off against Croatia should be unbelievable. The games are kicking off late in Poland so I reckon the notorious Polish beer may well get the better of many an Irish fan. Fuck thatā¦Iāve waited a long time to see my country at a major tournament so Iāll be only having a few handy ones on the day.
[quote=āPhil Leotardo, post: 634790ā]
I have no real intention of going boozing with tens of thousands of Irish fans for the 11 days I am there, so we are planning to get off the beaten track between games also. We still have to plan exactly what but Iām sure there are plenty of options for outdoor activities, etc.[/quote]
In other news, I hear that the Brits are complaining about the bugler who sounds the alarm in the square in Krakow on the hour. England are worried that it will upset their sleep patterns. Would have thought that a 1000 drunken cunts out on the town would be more noisy. Lunacy complaining after booking a hotel 20 yards off the main square.