TFK exclusive: Donal Og's Gay

[quote=“mickee321”]fair point bandage
but in fairness it was a rocket from maccarthy, i was on hill 16 , i reckon cusack barely saw it go past him, let alone tried to save it,
it was his near post also, which is questionabele but im not sure if many keepers would of kept out such a strike,
i played (hurling) :stuck_out_tongue: against cusack in senior club championship in cork and he kept many fine cork keepers at the time out of the cork team.
i agree he perfected his game a lot over the years and probably reached a pinnacle with his performance against waterford in 2006 when we won by a point in the AIF SF.

honestly, i think we will not see him again in a cork jersey,[/quote]

i almost forgot,
for the admin

[media=youtube]JJhEGFRhdrQ&feature=PlayList&p=DFDFBA2EF3DD1736&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=6

[quote=“tipptops*”]Because of the teams he won them with. Tipp in the late 80’s - early 90’s were a serious outfit. There was a strong tradition of Tipp winning All Ireland already in place. Leahy was just a young buck - a small cog in a well oiled machine, one might say. :clap:

Mullinahone would have had no right, expectation or tradition of winning County Finals. Leahy was Captain, Leader and alround Hero to those Mullinahone players.

Tipp would have won those AI’s without John Leahy, Mullinahone would never have won a County Title without Leahy.[/quote]

Agreed, they were a football club until Leahy came along. They were still a junior club in the weakest division in Tipp in 1989, so to be hurling in the senior final 8 years later was some achievement for them.
Shower of hateful cunts though.

He has kept two superb keepers off the Cork team for a long time now in Coleman and Nash and both continue to train and tog away with the seniors which is a fairly strong indication of their respect for him as a keeper. If they felt they were better (and many in the county do) I doubt they would still be involved. Both are behind him for 5/6 years at least now if not more.

Racking my brains here trying to think who he would have been keeping out of the Cork team in 99 or that period. Morrissey (won at least one club AI subsequently) Bernard Rochford?

On another gay related story. Heard one recently about a mate who met Nigel Owens in a bar in Cardiff and was chatting to him about the rugby, being langers he wanted to let Nigel know he was quite alright with the fact that he was a homosexual, conversation went as follows

Mate: I read your book Nigel, a great read, v interesting
NO: Oh your welsh?
Mate; No Im Irish!
NO: Oh its just that my book has only ever been printed in Welsh I assumed you were a native speaker
Mate: Il get my coat

As I’ve said before

Ticked all the boxes that time kev. Well done
__________________[/quote]

You started the insulting. Your fitting in well in thisplace, hypocisy seems to be easy for you.

Very few hurling people would agree with anything you’ve said about same keeper, but keep spouting your shite.:clap:

Well done wtb.

[quote=“dancarter”]He has kept two superb keepers off the Cork team for a long time now in Coleman and Nash and both continue to train and tog away with the seniors which is a fairly strong indication of their respect for him as a keeper. If they felt they were better (and many in the county do) I doubt they would still be involved. Both are behind him for 5/6 years at least now if not more.

Racking my brains here trying to think who he would have been keeping out of the Cork team in 99 or that period. Morrissey (won at least one club AI subsequently) Bernard Rochford?[/quote]

Bernard Rochford Dan, superb keeper, probably a more spectacular stopper than Cusack, but more prone to mistake and not as calm as Cusack. He indeed gave up as he knew he’d never make it ahead of Cusack, think he went to Oz or the US.

Roch was/is class. went to boston for the summer 2002 and stayed untill summer 2003. Lost his place on panel to morrissey from newtown. Great agility and shot stopper.

Ya that makes sense, i arrived in 2003 and i remember fellas on about him alright.
Is he playing for Killeagh these days fenway?

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I

The Lions are actually called the British and Irish Lions if you want to get technical about it.

My point is that you seem to have a deep dislikeness for anything within Ireland to be associated with Britain yet you fail to recognise six counties within our island as being Irish and actually refer to them as part of UK.

It’s like you like to be seen as having the patriotic Irish stance when it is easy to do so but when it comes down to the nitty gritty beliefs you fall short, and you pass the alternative off as fact.

It’s not fact. It’s a belief and I believe that the six counties are part of Ireland, and not part of UK, and always will be.

I would certainly have more of a problem with referring to those counties as being part of the UK than a pile of rugby players in Ireland touring countries with their British counterparts.[/quote]

Our island is not really that. We share a part of the island with the UK. How someone can say Northern Ireland is not part of the UK is just weird. A majority of citizens in Northern Ireland want to remain part of the UK so it’s pretty simple really,

I’m not the jukebox republican here as your numerous hardline stances have proved on here.

The whole concept of the Lions travelling to their colonies as some kind of officer class to play a bit of rugger is frankly disgusting in itself. Why Irish players want to take part in this corporate colonial bullshit is beyond comprehension for me anyway.

[quote=“KIB man”]
The whole concept of the Lions travelling to their colonies as some kind of officer class to play a bit of rugger is frankly disgusting in itself. Why Irish players want to take part in this corporate colonial bullshit is beyond comprehension for me anyway.[/quote]

I bet you could come up with the reason if you used your brain cell.

correct
i played u15 imokilly with rochford
bit of a prick but great keeper

Yes they would, and they do

[quote=“mickee321”]correct
i played u15 imokilly with rochford
bit of a prick but great keeper[/quote]

:DI played against ye, got a woeful time of it from Joe Deane one day out in Clough Duv, that was U16 though. Fuck it was a harrowing first half. They let me on him too, but i did alot better in 2nd and actually cleared some ball.

did u play dick barrett shield in 95 caoimhin?
u cannot mark deane
he scored 2-6 from me in a minor football game one night…
i was almost getting sick at half time trying to keep up with the guy…

Who? The insecure Clare hurling types?

Your a spoofer. Todays horse shit proves that.

[quote=“mickee321”]did u play dick barrett shield in 95 caoimhin?
u cannot mark deane
he scored 2-6 from me in a minor football game one night…
i was almost getting sick at half time trying to keep up with the guy…[/quote]

Fuck no, i was a Minor that year, is Rochford that much younger? I thought he was same age, or maybe one younger. I played Dick Barrett in 1992.
Deane got 2-05 off me in that half, and one more point in 2nd. Can’t quite be sure but i think he got 3 of the points from frees, but it was the goals that were tough to take, he’d just goast around the place. Of course he had Derek Barrett ( who you’d know well i presume), Donal Og, seanie Farrell, Dara Cott, Micky O’ Connell and Walsh at full back to help him out. it was an awesome Imokilly team.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Fuck no, i was a Minor that year, is Rochford that much younger? I thought he was same age, or maybe one younger. I played Dick Barrett in 1992.
Deane got 2-05 off me in that half, and one more point in 2nd. Can’t quite be sure but i think he got 3 of the points from frees, but it was the goals that were tough to take, he’d just goast around the place. Of course he had Derek Barrett ( who you’d know well i presume), Donal Og, seanie Farrell, Dara Cott, Micky O’ Connell and Walsh at full back to help him out. it was an awesome Imokilly team.[/quote]

:slight_smile:

yeah
rochford would be 30 this year same age as me
we were on the imokilly dick barrett team in 1995
jesus seanie o farrell, absolute horse of man…
remember him one night we were playing then in u21 football, i was only 17 he was 20 and was winning u21 all ireland medals with cork and there he was outside the dressing room in cobh having a fag b4 the game
nice lad tho, his brother seamie was a decent hurlur with carrig also

derek barrett, great club and divisional hurlur, i dont know did he ever really do it senior with cork
i remember in 2000 when offally beat us in croker he had a tough time of it against pilkington at midfield

timmy mccarthy would have been playing against u too caoimhin, very strong player

[quote=“mickee321”]:slight_smile:

yeah
rochford would be 30 this year same age as me
we were on the imokilly dick barrett team in 1995
jesus seanie o farrell, absolute horse of man…
remember him one night we were playing then in u21 football, i was only 17 he was 20 and was winning u21 all ireland medals with cork and there he was outside the dressing room in cobh having a fag b4 the game
nice lad tho, his brother seamie was a decent hurlur with carrig also

derek barrett, great club and divisional hurlur, i dont know did he ever really do it senior with cork
i remember in 2000 when offally beat us in croker he had a tough time of it against pilkington at midfield

timmy mccarthy would have been playing against u too caoimhin, very strong player[/quote]

Thats right, and a fella called Dave Hackett from Youghal, he was like a man at that age. Never played much after.

Seamie Farrell is a fine fine footballer, and should be at least a Cork Junior.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]
Your a spoofer. Todays horse shit proves that.[/quote]

Nonsense. The point that started it all is that Davy Fitzgerald was a far better goalkeeper in '99 and deserved the All-Star ahead of him. This was widely felt at the time and the majority - if you care to listen to them - feel the same today. Davy Fitz’s performance in the Tipperary game alone showed how superior his form was to that of Cusack’s. That Davy didn’t get the All-Star was more than anything else, due to his involvement in a post-match dust up in the Munster U21 final.

Cusack in the early stages of his career at inter-county level had poor feet, poor agility, terrible positioning, was regularly beaten at his near post, and regularly (by inter-county standards) made massive blunders. The 50 yard goal Tony Browne scored against him would be a good example. His leadership role in the Cork dressing-room notwithstanding, he was rarely above average as an inter-county keeper, and certainly never in the same bracket as the likes of Fitzhenry, Cummins, or Fitzgerald. His one memorable contribution as a keeper is his role in the evolution of the puck-out, which he has got more than enough credit for.

Donal Og Cusack - Average enough goalkeeper on a successful Cork team who developed a good puck out. Also gay.

[quote=“Watch The Break”]Nonsense. The point that started it all is that Davy Fitzgerald was a far better goalkeeper in '99 and deserved the All-Star ahead of him. This was widely felt at the time and the majority - if you care to listen to them - feel the same today. Davy Fitz’s performance in the Tipperary game alone showed how superior his form was to that of Cusack’s. That Davy didn’t get the All-Star was more than anything else, due to his involvement in a post-match dust up in the Munster U21 final.

Cusack in the early stages of his career at inter-county level had poor feet, poor agility, terrible positioning, was regularly beaten at his near post, and regularly (by inter-county standards) made massive blunders. The 50 yard goal Tony Browne scored against him would be a good example. His leadership role in the Cork dressing-room notwithstanding, he was rarely above average as an inter-county keeper, and certainly never in the same bracket as the likes of Fitzhenry, Cummins, or Fitzgerald. His one memorable contribution as a keeper is his role in the evolution of the puck-out, which he has got more than enough credit for.

Donal Og Cusack - Average enough goalkeeper on a successful Cork team who developed a good puck out. Also gay.[/quote]

I never argued against the point about Davys all-star. My point was on one thread you were slagging fellas off for having a meaningless argument, and then on another you were arguing about an all star award from 10 years ago, hypocritical in my book.

you then made an arse of yourself by coming back saying he was useless, Cork had a bunch of retards for keepers etc etc. Now your saying he was average.

basically your back tracking because you realise what an idiot you were.

I also actually pointed out i thought he wasn’t as good as that trio, doesn’t make him shit like you repeated over an over again, you idiot.

You have already on this board written off all hurling before 1995 before, you are a stand out as one of these people who think Clare changed hurling forever, well they didn’t, they changed it for a while. Bar a couple of games a year i think IC hurling is pretty shite these days to be honest.