Stall the Claas mate, are you suggesting he was getting rewarded?
Has he any more brothers? Tough on his father Iâd say, sounded pure old school in the book
Think there is a few. Wasnât there 3 or 4 of them on the Cloyne team a few years back
3 lads
he got fierce pissed off with Shefflin who was / is earning a fortune from the Lucozade sport deal and donal and gah were pushing club energise as it was sponsoring the GPA
this post:eek:
Why is it tough in their father?
Agree totally with this.
as someone who has clearly never met his own you wouldnt know
It doesnât matter a shite whoâs gay and who isnât. I donât know D. Og or the sky over him but I know a few of his contemporaries from that Cork team of the 00âs and they all speak highly of him.
He strikes me as a man that has to go to extremities to make his point though. Cork hurlers had been treated so abysmally by their county board for too long and the manner of the actions he led were probably necessary to get the county board to engage with them. It just seemed to me that they didnât know when to stop and the rest of his career panned out as some type of crusade on numerous fronts, his sexuality being one of them.
Heâs an interesting analyst of hurling but the underlying agenda-driving is clear to see.
[quote=âElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 894059, member: 1624â]It doesnât matter a shite whoâs gay and who isnât. I donât know D. Og or the sky over him but I know a few of his contemporaries from that Cork team of the 00âs and they all speak highly of him.
He strikes me as a man that has to go to extremities to make his point though. Cork hurlers had been treated so abysmally by their county board for too long and the manner of the actions he led were probably necessary to get the county board to engage with them. It just seemed to me that they didnât know when to stop and the rest of his career panned out as some type of crusade on numerous fronts, his sexuality being one of them.
Heâs an interesting analyst of hurling but the underlying agenda-driving is clear to see.[/quote]
thatâs a good post
he is a very decent guy but went down in my estimation for feeling himself (ahem) and a few others owned the Cork jersey, the carry on of them as well towards the new lads who came onto the team in 2009/2010 was disgusting and for that reason i was especially delighted Conor O Sullivan from Sars had such a great year in 2013 at corner back as he was one of the fellas Donal was referring to as some County Board lackie.
The stuff about Frank Murphy is great, the anecdote about Frank destroying some GAA solicitor with his knowledge of backroom politics at some Disputes Resolution Authority meeting chaired by Eddie Keher in Portlaois is very good
[quote=âElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 894059, member: 1624â]It doesnât matter a shite whoâs gay and who isnât. I donât know D. Og or the sky over him but I know a few of his contemporaries from that Cork team of the 00âs and they all speak highly of him.
Heâs an interesting analyst of hurling but the underlying agenda-driving is clear to see.[/quote]
I actually think they didnât go far enough.
So you have nothing to back up your funeral small talk type statement no?
Heâs from a different generation, as Donal himself said in the book he didnât handle it well with one, I just opined that this would be tough for him. I donât know what you find so difficult to understand about a father finding it tough to have two gay kids? A cunt such as yourself must understand about disappointing the family.
Disappointing the family
I think itâs you who are from a different generation. Like any decent man heâd get over it for the sake of his kid. No doubt this is what happened.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 894112, member: 273â]Disappointing the family
I think itâs you who are from a different generation. Like any decent man heâd get over it for the sake of his kid. No doubt this is what happened.[/quote]
Did I say he didnât? I just said it would be tough.
Tough on the father?
What about the poor lads having to grow up as homosexuals in the homophobic world of today? It is much tougher on them.
[quote=âfarmerinthecity, post: 894136, member: 24â]Tough on the father?
What about the poor lads having to grow up as homosexuals in the homophobic world of today? It is much tougher on them.[/quote]
Name a society that was not homophobic?
Ancient Rome, those fellas rode anything that moved. The love the aul gay in Rome.