TFK exclusive: Donal Og's Gay

Nice use of latin Mullach all things considered

[quote=“Mullach Ide”]Hate to contradict you there TT, but Mullinahone were beaten in that final by Clonoulty, they didn’t win it till 2002.
Leahy hit the post with a shot in the last minute and Mullinahone lost by 2 points to complete his annus horribilis.[/quote]

In the current thread, that is superb work, superb. :mad:

Thought Donal Og would appreciate it.

[quote=“tipptops*”]John Leahy broken? Well, he recovered enough to lift the Tipperary County Title with Mullinahone a few weeks later.

We have proper men in Tipperary, real heroes.[/quote]

thought Mullinahone won their only ever senior title in 2001 or 2002…

EDIT: mullach ide beat me to it

[quote=“Mullach Ide”]Hate to contradict you there TT, but Mullinahone were beaten in that final by Clonoulty, they didn’t win it till 2002.
Leahy hit the post with a shot in the last minute and Mullinahone lost by 2 points to complete his annus horribilis.[/quote]

Had tipptops even watched the Laochra Gael episode on his hero he would have known that. What a spoofer.

He’s not. Shite keepers don’t play for Cork at 19 and win 2 All-Irelands at U-21 and another at Minor, although it is possible that shite keepers have won Minors, they are uaually found out by 21.

Donal Og improved alot, but to say he started out shite is just plain stupid.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]He’s not. Shite keepers don’t play for Cork at 19 and win 2 All-Irelands at U-21 and another at Minor, although it is possible that shite keepers have won Minors, they are uaually found out by 21.

Donal Og improved alot, but to say he started out shite is just plain stupid.[/quote]

You do understand we’re talking inter-county standards here. Maybe he was better than whatever gang of retards ye had knocking about at the time, but he was still a truly terrible inter-county goalkeeper until he was well into the job. He had the good fortune to come through the underage ranks with an exceptional team, and equally tp arrive at the end of Ger Cunningham’s tenure. But it took years of top class inter-county experience to make him anything resembling a decent keeper.

Thought he was a shite keeper for years myself, poor shot stopper-and him getting an all star in 99 was a complete shock, even to a lot of Carkies I’d say.
He improved a hell of a lot in later years, and IMO should have got an All Star the year of Semple Gate as he was by far the best around that season.

I’m giving up talking to Clare people about hurling in the 90’s, they just think the whole world revolved around them. Thing is ye only won 2, yes 2 All-Irelands. Cork, Offaly & KK also achieved that.

Donal may not have been the best, but to say he’s shite (and call his competitors retards:rolleyes:) is beyond foolishness. Thing is, and whats a far better barometer than your worthless opinion, is that his fellow keepers rate him very highly, and he changed alot of the training keepers do now. He also was a massive leader and driving force on that Cork bunch that came together, i followed that team very carefully as it was my age and i knew and played against a number of them. But continue talking through your hole.

I’d be the first to admit that he wasn’t as “naturally” talented as say Fitzgerald, Cummins or Fitzhenry. But even at the 4th best keeper in the country you couldn’t say he’s shite. Are all the other keepers in the country shite if they are outside the top 3? No of course they are not. And i’m talking about IC hurling by the way.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I’m giving up talking to Clare people about hurling in the 90’s, they just think the whole world revolved around them. Thing is ye only won 2, yes 2 All-Irelands. Cork, Offaly & KK also achieved that.

Donal may not have been the best, but to say he’s shite (and call his competitors retards:rolleyes:) is beyond foolishness. Thing is, and whats a far better barometer than your worthless opinion, is that his fellow keepers rate him very highly, and he changed alot of the training keepers do now. He also was a massive leader and driving force on that Cork bunch that came together, i followed that team very carefully as it was my age and i knew and played against a number of them. But continue talking through your hole.

:clap::smiley:

As I’ve said before

[quote=“Watch The Break”]A summary of a typical kev post

* The person I am arguing against is (generic insult)
* I’m a sound man
* Everyone thinks like me[/quote]

Ticked all the boxes that time kev. Well done

DONAL g Cusack says he was offered the role of coach of the Cork hurlers by GAA chief executive, Paraic Duffy, earlier this year in an attempt to end the last of three players’ strikes.

In the latest extract from his upcoming autobiography, Come What May, Cusack revealed that Duffy had made contact with him in order to set up a confidential meeting between the pair wherein it was suggested that the Cork county board would be put into a state of “suspended animation” and the affairs of the county would be run by Croke Park.

Duffy also put forward the proposal that Cusack be appointed to the Rebels’ management team in an effort to insert some player presence in the group.

“That night myself and John (Gardiner) had arrived at the hotel first to meet with the Croke Park people,” Cusack wrote. “They had produced a document that laid out what was going to happen over the next couple of years. The document basically outlined a position where the county board would be put into suspended animation and Cork’s affairs would be run from Croke Park.”

"We read all this out and said, ‘Oh Jesus, we need to get the boys in here because there is some stuff in this document that is big’.

“It looked so bad to the county board and apparently, they were accepting it, even though it was a damning indictment of them. What the GAA had put on the table that night was interesting in that it damned the county board. They published the document afterwards, but the one thing they held back was that they offered me a role coaching the team!”

However, Cusack also outlines why the player rejected the deal, even though it suspended the powers of the board. According to the Rebel keeper, some of the senior players on the squad felt a move from playing to management for Cusack would “kill” him in the ongoing battle between the squad and the county board.

“Some of our players liked what was on offer but I wasn’t comfortable with the idea. Joe Deane was very strong on the notion that it would be a way of killing me. At the end of the day, I had to face Paraic Duffy and tell him that there was no deal. I hated doing that to Paraic Duffy, as I have had to do it too many times at this stage.”

The mother of hurling star Donal Og Cusack has been forced to stop attending his games because of the stress of hearing homophobic abuse shouted at him from the terraces.

The Cork player has revealed that heckling bigots have ruined match days for his mother, who now stays at home.

Donal Og, who spoke publicly about being a gay sportsman this week, has admitted that while he never lets the abuse get to him, he hates what it does to his family and team-mates.

His account of the anti-gay abuse directed at him is the latest revelation to come from his forthcoming autobiography, Come What May. He is due to talk about the book on the Late Late Show on Friday.

Donal Og recalled the moment he was waiting to take a free at a championship game in Semple Stadium, when a man started up a hate-filled chant on a megaphone.

Culprit

Team-mate Diarmuid O’Sullivan later asked guards to throw the culprit out and Denis Walsh wrote him a letter about it.

“And that’s what gets to you,” Donal Og said. "Other people. I leaned over the free and took it and struck it well. I have trained for this, but my father is in the back of my mind.

“Yerra though, he’s tough, he’ll get through it.”

But, he then revealed: "My mother doesn’t go to games anymore. The stress is too much.

"My sister Treasa has been deeply upset a few times by what she has heard.

“I hate what it does to those around me, especially when it doesn’t hurt me at all.”

Despite the abuse he has had to endure, he said he got the feeling that “something good” should come of it. He said he accepted it was “human nature” and was not going to change.

He developed a mental strategy for dealing with it – “trigger points” so that when he hears abuse positive thoughts come into his head instead.

“Mostly it’s just the same f***ing thing,” he said. "The fellas that want to hurt you will go for the personal stuff. Calling you queer, ingenious stuff like that.

“I can’t put my finger on when the abuse about my personal life started, funnily enough. I hear it all the time, though – Ballygunner in a challenge game this year, Kilkenny this year, when I walked onto the field in Clarecastle for a training session.”

Struggling

But a defiant Donal Og added: “It makes no difference to me if you call me Brokeback… and if there are a hundred or a thousand hurlers or rugby players or camogie players out there in their teens, struggling with the idea of what they are, I hope they’ll know that fools with megaphones or runny mouths just don’t count.”

pretty weak post there WTB
despite been the best of 'gang of retards", this guy still only conceded one goal enroute to an all ireland success in 1999.
from your extensive knowledge of hurling could ypu please tell me one goalkeeper who has only conceded one goal in an all ireland winning season?

yes cork had a savage back six in 1999 but surely there were a few handy opposition fowards about, carey, flynn, gilligan, dooley, troy…
all played aginst cork in 1999, between them only waterford scored a goal…

so based on your “theory” this cork defense was so great in winning the 3 U21 titles and then a senior all ireland the year later we could have thrown frank murphy in goal…

id like to add below, the first five years of cusacks career

1999 champions

in 2000 cork won a munster title beaten by offally in AIF semi conceding no goals in the game

2001 limerick beat us in the park 1 16 to 1 15

2002 was galway / cloonan in thurlus and the strike

2003 almost won the AIF, ok conceded a shit goal to that asshole comerford

2004 - 2006 2 all irelands

in the interests of fairness and to support your argument could you please give us a few examples that shows cusak was " a truly terrible goalkeeper"

[quote=“tipptops*”]John Leahy broken? Well, he recovered enough to lift the Tipperary County Title with Mullinahone a few weeks later.

We have proper men in Tipperary, real heroes.[/quote]

eh I think you’ll find Mullinahone lost the final that year.

EDIT: I see I was beaten to it.

[quote=“The Puke”]thought Mullinahone won their only ever senior title in 2001 or 2002…

EDIT: mullach ide beat me to it[/quote]

[quote=“Rocko”]eh I think you’ll find Mullinahone lost the final that year.

EDIT: I see I was beaten to it.[/quote]

That’ll be another month to TippTops** suspension then…

[quote=“mickee321”]pretty weak post there WTB
despite been the best of 'gang of retards", this guy still only conceded one goal enroute to an all ireland success in 1999.
from your extensive knowledge of hurling could ypu please tell me one goalkeeper who has only conceded one goal in an all ireland winning season?

yes cork had a savage back six in 1999 but surely there were a few handy opposition fowards about, carey, flynn, gilligan, dooley, troy…
all played aginst cork in 1999, between them only waterford scored a goal…

So it’s back to the goals conceded thing. Talk about a weak argument. By your logic then, a keeper who concedes several goals couldn’t be considered for an all-star because that’s the only criteria. Obviously that’s rubbish. And maybe you should try to extend your own hurling knowledge a little, the last time a team conceded only one goal in an All-Ireland winning season was - wait for it - LAST YEAR!!

And the first choice keeper wasn’t even the one who coceded it. And guess what, he didn’t get the all-star, despite having a perfect season by your half-arsed method of analysis.

[quote=“Watch The Break”]So it’s back to the goals conceded thing. Talk about a weak argument. By your logic then, a keeper who concedes several goals couldn’t be considered for an all-star because that’s the only criteria. Obviously that’s rubbish. And maybe you should try to extend your own hurling knowledge a little, the last time a team conceded only one goal in an All-Ireland winning season was - wait for it - LAST YEAR!!

And the first choice keeper wasn’t even the one who coceded it. And guess what, he didn’t get the all-star, despite having a perfect season by your half-arsed method of analysis.[/quote]

what would be your method of analysis?
in donal ogs first five years of playing senior hurling for cork he won 3 munster titles , an all ireland and contested one more all ireland…
i still do not see how you can state this is the record of a “truly terrible goalkeeper”
nerver did i say that having a perfect season was not conceding a goal, i was merely using it discredit the notion that he is " a truly terrible goalkeeper".
i will not accept that staement until you can provide me with some fact, not opinion

by the way, what level have you hurled at yourself competitively?
in my opinion ( and puke may agree here) the higher the level you play at the slower you are to criticise others who play the game

[quote=“mickee321”]
in my opinion ( and puke may agree here) the higher the level you play at the slower you are to criticise others who play the game[/quote]

Always figured Puke was Brian Lohan.

I don’t recall ever setting out to convince you. I’ve discredited your application of the ‘only one goal conceded’ criteria. If you want to maintain your own inaccurate opinion, go ahead. But almost everybody else will disagree with you. As an Israeli flag waver the position should be familiar to you.

we’ll debate waving israeli flags later or tipp or clare or whatever flags , no problem…
but for now im fascinted as to how you drew the conclusion that he was / is " a truly terrible goalkeeper" and was the best cork had from a " gang of retards " in this period.

what would your opinion be of other cork goalkeepers be of this time who were playing senior club in cork? what class of 'retard" were they , in your view?

look, you may be right, i dont know, if you show me reasonable evidence then fine, but i cannot understand that point you made…

we can debate waving flags on another thread or wahtever you want but for the time been id like to stick to this one and discuss hurling…
ive played against a few keepers who may be described " as truly terrible" at intermediate level, however ive yet to meet one at senior or fitzgibbon in my years of playing who would fit this bracket

so again could you show me the data that proves he qualifies as " a truly terrible goalkeeper" …
also waht would be your criterion to fulfill such a roll?

thanks

If I read any more of his book in the paper there will be no point buying it (not that I would).

He was/is a distintctly average keeper. Where he merits his place is in his accurate puckouts which were the catalyst for the Cork victories in the 00’s.

I would like to remind everyone of his glove wearing.