Not sure what you mean by this. Can you explain again?
I read a post.
Someone has replied.
So I drop down the replies.
I scroll down a bit then the reply comes up on its own so I read it, again.
Someone has replied to that.
So I drop down the replies.
I scroll down a bit further then read the replies I’ve already read, again.
Am I doing it wrong or is this the plan?
The alternative seems to be to ignore the replies read down through the thread and guess who is talking to who.
I don’t think what you’re doing is particularly expected. I rarely, if ever, drop down the replies. When you’re reading a post, if you’re not sure what post it is responding to then you can click the expand button on the top right to see the text it is in response to.
Ultimately, I think the design will probably lead to more topics with fewer posts.
The blue post navigation box at the bottom; when you click it can the current post location be highlighted so all it takes is the initial click and “167” to go to post #167. As it is, it requires the initial click, a second click in the box (and drag) to highlight the post #, and then the “167”.
Basically Rocko, we need the bolded part* to be carried out automatically.
*Please note, I had initially intended to underline it, but Ctrl + U seemed to create some sort of bullet point.
Ye you are doing it correct.
Those who devised this piece of shit peddle the view that you will get used to it after a few months by which time you’ll have forgotten all about where you came from never mind how functional it was
This is the future, this is what the kids want and to paraphrase rocko aka $$$$$ if you can’t get it you must be a bit of a simpleton.
That seems like a sensible idea actually. Don’t think I can change that easily but I’ll check and suggest it.
You’re right about this anyway, pal. I’ve given it a few days to get used to but this is fucking awful. Not a single thing has been improved from an end user perspective and you’ve removed a lot of the good bits from the old site. I’m not sure if it’s something you had to do from IT problems on your side or if any of this is irreversible but the site is significantly worse to visit now and it is actually hard work to navigate about the place or to follow threads.
@Rocko, you’ve missed a trick on pagination and @TreatyStones’s suggestion of an option to jump to a poin on a thread by date night work assist.
Here’s why you need pagination. Say you haven’t visited in a while, or open a thread you only have a passing interest in. On the old site you would jump to the last or maybe second last page and pick up the thread of conversation and move on. Or say Kev and Nimby are having one of their discussions about Ulster football, on the old site you would skip forward 5 pages, check the first post, Nimby again, shit they’re still at it, skip forward another three, back to normality, sound read on. Here you have to randomly scroll, and wait for pages to load while you do, or jump to the bottom and then randomly scroll up a bit. Or type a random post number in the box which requires typing a random fucking post number into the fucking box for Christ sake. It’s the pits.
Also, here’s a tweak you should be able to make: can you change the tagging function so that when you type @ and the first few letters of a posters name, the suggested options drop down from where you are writing instead of up?
At the moment when I try to tag people I have to then scroll up to select from the list of posters which is an unnecessary interruption.
Fucking hell lads… adapt or die. Are you all civil servants or something?
One final point. The effect of the above is that users that haven’t signed in in a while have to jump through hoops to catch up and it will probably discourage them. As for new users, well, they’re fucked.
No pagination is all well and good for Facebook or twitter that people check in on every day on their own pages. But a discussion board is a different thing altogether.
how can you change the front page of topics so that you can see the name of the last poster on a topic rather than the avatar of the last 5 or 6 posters?
the mobile has it.
Remember MS-DOS?
The desperate pleas for pagination are bizarre. Just use the blue navigation on the bottom right to jump 20 posts at a time.
The lay out could be a lot tighter on the mobile version but I’m sure @Rocko will fix that in time.
Type the numbers into the box to jump 20 pages? How is that progress?
This problem could be fixed if the blue box contained options for 1 day ago, 2 days ago, 12 hours ago, etc.
Ah jaysus. This is just bilge.
We never had that only the old forum. You had to jump through the pages to find where the conversation picked up again.
navigation of the new site is fine
Are the ratings buttons gone for good?