TFK Fun Runners Thread 2024

Well done @Wexford1996 & @fenwaypark.

Looking forward to hearing from our other TFKers.

A great buzz out there.

Super running from @corner_back as well by the looks of things :clap:

Hope @Rintintin is ok

Hopefully this image is front page on every paper tomorrow to shove it down the throats of the Ireland is full brigade. A brilliant story

https://twitter.com/irishathletics/status/1850493034862923829?t=9xsqwnziXeWR-Wic2aujsg&s=19

Cheers. Wrecked now. Delighted with that. 3.27. Was hoping to go sub 3.30. Last mile or two seemed endless.

Fair play @Wexford1996 . Delighted for you after going so close in Berlin. Incredible achievement to run two savage times like that so close together.

Brilliant stuff. Well done. :clap:t2:

Thanks lads, surprised myself. Cheers for the shout @Bandage. I knew I just had to keep going at that stage.

Fantastic @corner_back. Well done on the achievement. How much training did you put in ahead of the race?

I run regularly enough, maybe 3 times per week. Did a 16 week program and completed most of it. Got a fluey dose last week but shook it off just in time.

I was delighted for you when I saw you. Could see you were looking strong & you had the content look of a man that knew the sub-3 was imminent. I missed seeing a good few people I know, just with the sheer number of folk going by, but was really enjoyable watching people coming through there at the 25-mile mark for a few hours.

Itā€™s probably a bit too much of an extreme thing to put yourself through just to get a nice reply badge on tfk

Well done all runners. Iā€™m all good. Had a flare up of an old glute injury at 25k in. I ran/walked for 4-5k to try and get going again but to no avail. Pulled pin at 30k. Iā€™m not too disappointed as I hadnā€™t the work done and was only treating this as a get around run. Iā€™m well off where I was 3-5 months ago. Hoping to get back working on some shorter faster stuff now again. Really need to improve my S&C now as Iā€™m a terror for neglecting it. We go again. Fair play to everyone who ran and finished it . A marathon is no joke and privileged to be able to do them . Should never be taken for granted.

Hereā€™s your brother. We go again. 19 miles in .

Brave (and smart) move to pull the pin chief. I was chatting to your running Pallas man JD tonight by chance. Hadnā€™t met him in about 13/14 years and bumped into him on his way back from county final. Said it pulled a muscle playing astro that put his running season to bed.

Easy knowing Iā€™m sharing the forum with geriatrics when theyā€™re talking in miles.

Heā€™s a tough hoor on the road. A great character. Heā€™ll be back at it in no time no doubt.

I lived with him 20/21 years ago. A gas man.

I saw this at the Marina market last week
. A couple of firm young ones passed me with race numbers on and i coulnt work out what race was on then i stumbled across Hyrox in a big empty section of the marketā€¦ cross fit is what immediately struck me but i moved quickly on with my coffee and pistachio canolis and my dad bod.

Sorry had half a message typed, well done to all members who ran it. Some great times by the tfk faithful.

The Adare 10k in February went on sale at midnight and was sold out by 11am. Got an entry myself so thatā€™ll hopefully give me a bit of focus over the next few months.

Iā€™ve decided to set myself a sub 1hr30 goal for the GLR 2025.

Anyone using the speedgoat 6 and have any good reports? Thinking of buying something other than Nike Pegasus, as I run almost exclusively on trail these days.