TFK Fun Runners Thread 2026

Worst fuckin morning of the year so far. Absolutely miserable stuff.

I hear yiu. Worst weather for years I’ve encountered doing a long run. No joy in it at all. Sunday mornings recently haven’t been too bad considering the bad spell we’ve been having

Ya Sunday mornings have generally been grand but I ran Tuesday and this morning in absolute storms.

I’ve decent long runs got in the legs the past 2 weeks but have been carrying a bit of a bug/fatigue so need to ramp up the fast stuff over the next few weeks now.

Back home for the weekend and went for a handy run around UL, canal bank, corbally and back to UL. Dreadful conditions and I should have called a halt when the ducks said fcuk this and got out of the water to get a bit of shade​:joy::face_with_peeking_eye:

I’ll be doing my first 10k at the end of May; did 14k as part of my training last night and to say interest in doing any work today is at an all time low would be a chronic understatement. I’m bollixed

Fair play. If you’re doing that in training there’ll be no bother to you

The biggest weekend of the year on the Limerick social running calender coming up.

I’m in for my usual tilt at the half marathon. A good solid early block of training has been hampered by a very mediocre second block. Had hoped to get under the 1hr 30 again this year, but i missed what should have been my key hard sessions trying to manage a niggle in my knee.

Did a 10km race a couple of weeks ago in 41:50, while I consciously tried to keep closer to my HM pace than going all out, I was still fairly flat at the end, which would indicate a few clicks away from where I need to be. I think I’ll chance falling in with the pacer and just see where it takes me.

Some crowd out at UL this morning for the number collection. The whole thing must be close to a sell out? Pity it clashes with the game in Ennis.

All events were showing up as sold out when I looked this morning but I dunno does that just mean the registration was closed. Forecast is ok tomorrow bar the potential for heavy showers right during the 10km.

Hopefully I’ll be well ensconced in some pub watching the match by then.

T’was exactly this in the end, 1:31, so pretty happy with that.

That’s a cracking run off an interrupted build up. Well done pal.

Savage crowd, happy with the run out overall, the uphill at the Gaelic Grounds caught me again but I didn’t feel so bad when I saw that Superman was struggling as wellšŸ˜‚ Massive shout out to the Suicide Prevention Team who did it in full gear!!

Thank you, reasonably happy, was probably a bit soft on myself at points, cause i knew I wasn’t getting the 1hr 30. I’d like to use that as motivation now to get to something later in the summer in better shape.

We are back… Over a year of niggles and hoping this Is the springboard to get back going. Well done to everyone over the last while and I’m gonna use this space to keep me accountable from now on. Hup the lads.

Crowd at the start was sick this year. Normally those first two kilometres would be up with my fastest as there’s plenty of downhill, but i was 10 seconds back on each. Small bit frustrating when you are chasing a time.

Definitely needs to be staggered more or at least let those chasing times go first and let the happy to finish crew, like myself, amble away in our own time. They could also push the medals/drinks/fruit at the end up a little further along OConnell Street. I’ll tip away training over the next while but I’m determined to do the half in Kilkee in July as I missed it over the past two years.