TFK Fun Running Thread 2025

A lot of those MCI marathons are lapped courses. They had one before here that was 2 x half marathon route which wasn’t so bad I suppose. They’d one near the home place before that was 10 x 5km loop and then another few km at the end.

@RaymondCrotty if you want to get adventurous and return to your ā€˜spiritual home’ the Mourne Mountain Marathon is on in early June. @caulifloweredneanderthal loves running this event with forumites he’s never met before so I’m sure he’d be willing to run it with you!

Any recommendations on super shoes these days?

All my Saucony ones from durable every day to lighter, session & race types have loads of mileage on them & I fancy something new ahead of upcoming races.

Is there any etiquette about midpack, middle aged fun runners not wearing Alphafly or Vaporfly or is it acceptable? I think there’s a newish ASICS race shoe that’s getting good reviews.

How was the route @Bandage

The Dublin city half route?

I’ve run a good chunk of it now but starting from Killester or Raheny, which would be around halfway or 14km into the route respectively.

The notable parts are the 2km drag from Lower Drumcondra Road up past The Regency/Bonnington onto the Swords Road & up the motorway ramp past Whitehall. That’ll be early in the race though & most of the elevation done.

Flat enough around Beaumont, Artane, Killester & onto Raheny. A little downhill before turning onto the coast then. It was beautifully calm yesterday morning but that’s usually a headwind & deceptively strong. You could have 5km into the wind until turning down the Alfie Byrne Road towards East Wall but let’s wait & see.

A challenging enough course but sure that’s okay.

Grand, not going great anyway so won’t be out for PBs. I’ll just settle in and enjoy the spin around our great capital.

I see there were no finishers of the Barkley marathon this year.

Savage going today @Wexford1996 - hope you gave yourself a double fist pump over the line!

Thats 2 races in a row where @Wexford1996 has finished within a few seconds of a lad from my neck of the woods.

Savage running :clap:

I’m going well but last few k were tough, bit of a headwind and I’d gone out a bit quick. Thought I might get under 37 with 2k to go but had nothing in the tank. Delighted all the same. Fastest 10k I’ve ran in 10 years.

Was he ahead of me? I was able to hold my pace in the 5k but not today and a good few passed me near the end

Your pace was a second quicker. Im only going by the ā€œran withā€ feature on strava. Ye were both similar pace last week and this week. He runs in a mainly yellow and blue club singlet.

I saw a few of those in Tallaght I think but it was a lot busier today.

Well done. Great running across different distances in recent weeks. Must be nice to run faster than you have in 10 years.

Ridiculous feckin time lad. Well done.

@fenwaypark @Bandage any fun running, greenway type infrastructure in the south side?

Tymon Park or Bushy Park. Both have plenty of pitches. Marley Park a good option too. Whats your location

I’m a northside expert but I think people enjoy running down towards Sandymount beach & that Poolbeg trail/nature reserve (?) if you’re south city centre based. Head down past landmarks like The 51 & Aviva Stadium.

Yes, that stretch down to Sandymount and along the strand had looked decent, could loop back up through Ranelagh or Donnybrook then

Baggot Street