TFK Hurling team of the last 20 years - Full Forward

And rightly so - We don’t have a player who deserves to be considered in the best 15 hurlers of this time frame

It’s a fair enough team.

For me, Tyrell would be the standout one that I wouldn’t have. I’d have Barrett, Finn, Murphy x2 over him.

I’d have had Ronan Curran & Eoin Larkin in there but I can understand Ken & Reid being selected. Balance of the team seems pretty fair.

Yeah it is fair for the most part. I think the Cork 2003 to 2006 team has been harshly treated in the polls. They could consider themselves the second best side of the period yet no reps and not many featured too high in the polls.

Larkin, Richie Hogan and Eddie Brennan probably the biggest ommissions

Wexford -0

It’s hard to argue with that team with the exception of Lynch who is out of place with the greats of the game there. I would put any one of Lyng, Burke, Maher, J. O’Connor, Barron, Cha ahead of him based on his achievements to date

Fair play, good craic. Massively embarrassing there for Richie and Ollie, and Lynch and Finn to a lesser extent.

He has more natural ability than the lads you have mentioned, he is an absolute Rolls Royce of a hurler and one of the most unselfish players I have watched, his vision is second to none and he would be a better player if he was a little greedier. You sir do not have a fucking clue. To our Jamie Barron or David Burke ahead of the him, solid is what they are no more. A couple of Kilkenny dogs and a top class Corky is what you have said.

Cool the jets, he’s had one good year. He was outhurled by a Kilkenny mongrel in the semi-final last year. He has an awful long way to go before he can be mentioned in the same breath as any of the aforementioned players.

Yeah that Cork side is definitely the most under represented but strangely I’m not sure if there is a glaring omission from that team either. Maybe one of the O’Connor’s?

Second team has the makings of a cracking team if not for the asterisk players. Finn is deserving of his spot there, I’ll concede that. Think maybe a system whereby only votes from outside county of allegiance count would be interesting.

One Cork player between the two teams is fairly disappointing, then again we haven’t been “Cork” for a long time now. I’m going away to watch the 84 final.

Mullane and Lynch the eyebrow raisers

Mullane is not out of place in that team but Lynch has no business there yet.

That Cork team, while an excellent side, had possibly the greatest collection of cunts ever assembled within one GAA team. It’s no surprise they didn’t curry favour with neutrals.

Joe Deane and Corcoran possibly the most unlucky to miss out. Great players who never courted the media and I’d say privately they had little time for all the strike stuff too.

To be fair most of Corcoran’s best days were in the 90’s when he won two HOTY awards at either side of the decade.

Lynch definitely raises eyebrows. He’s been hurling at the top level for two years now as a midfielder. Hannon and Mulcahy both had better years in 2018 than him IMO. O’Connor, Lyng and Burke all have had more accomplished careers than Cian Lynch.

Greatest collection of cunts simply for standing up to Frank’s regime of a county board? Never understood the neutral hatred for them because of that.

Cork on the face of it are unlucky but I don’t see who gets in there

The lads you note are finished or in the end of their career, no point lamenting. Lynch can do no more, U21 x 2 an All Ireland and he is 23, let’s talk in seven years but he is on a trajectory to have a brilliant career, another All Ireland will put him ahead of a few more of them, ability wise he already is though.

Ah the way they treated Gerald McCarthy was despicable.

Press conferences, marches, appearances on Prime Time, telling players not to attend Gerald’s mother’s funeral - pathetic. I accept it was three or four ring leaders running the show but others in the squad were guilty by association.

Underage hurling and having a “brilliant trajectory” cannot be considered criteria for picking the best midfielder of the last 20 years surely. I’m not doubting his insane talent and ability, however he has not warranted a place on that team as of yet IMO.

The important thing is wexfords mediocre irrelevance has been duly recorded in the annals of time