The dreaded question on a con call with the yanks. Has anyone any questions. Mute. Ah for fuck sake. 20 minutes gone
Iāve got a rigorous meeting block, I schedule meetings between 11am and 1pm. Only exceptional circumstances outside that block. Most efficiency is between 7am and 11am.
**[quote=āEsteban_de_la_Sexfac, post:2324, topic:17308, full:trueā]
They do work very long hours, because it takes them longer to do work. Iāve found American engineers to be meticulous and very intuitive. On the downside, they want to fucking talk about every decision and are always planning fucking meetings.
The reason they are inefficient is because they are suffocated by middle management cunts scheduling 6 1hour long meetings a day to talk shite. The poor cunts have to work 12 hours to get 2/3rds of a days work done.
The germans are fine when everything is by the book. Once they come up against something theyāre not used to theyāre fucked. A bit like an auto bahn with no speed limit. Everything goes swimmingly until about accident. Then in that event you could have a seven hour 30km hold up
Iāve only ever worked sparingly with German companies. In my opinion they arenāt great engineers, with exceptions of course. They are great lads to implement things to a plan though. You need a good architect for them.
Exactly. Once the plan goes tits up, they down tools
They wait for a better plan. We try sticky plasters and fudges to keep things going
This is very true. I dealt with one on a job recently. We came across a problem he couldnāt figure out. It was a quirk in our system that I knew straight away, but because the solution was not as per any user guide no way would he try it. I was exasperated, so eventually said I had to take a call, went off and logged into the server with a different account, made the config change and went back to him.
He restarted and everything worked. I left him have his moment of glory thinking that it was his 5th restart that sorted it.
Thatās what fixed it.
System access reviews working well I see
I find the Polish in the software industry are like this but even worse. Canāt deviate at all from script. Canāt listen to reason or any kind of persuasion to consider an alternative viewpoint @balbec
Maybe they just donāt like working with arrogant micks taking shortcuts?
They hate capitalists you mean. Itās only when they really annoy me that I slag em off about their pitiful annual wage.
How the fuck are the Huns such a dumbass shower of gobdaws when the Ballysteen corner-forward can sell dummies like this.
The TFK coaching thread will become mandatory.
You must be still seething since yesterday.
Iād very much disagree here. Iāve found any Polish lad works well given a bit of creative freedom. Terrific engineers and great lads to work. A small bit afraid to speak up
@TreatyStones disabled the Antivirus and backup policy to get solitaire working on the server again. Delighted with himself.
Iām trying to start enforcing something like this at the moment but by fuck it is tough. Thereās always been a few meetings about meetings in our place but it is beginning to spiral completely out of control, all accompanied by vaguer and vaguer language and a mishmash of strategies and synergies and new layers of management who are further and further removed from what the company actually does.
If they are faced with a problem they wonāt bullshit you. Theyāll take it off line and come back with a solution. @Julio_Geordio must be working for some Mickey Mouse operation.
Use your calendar software. Enforce it.
If questioned by your manager, explain it, in no uncertain terms and back it up with data. Show them how many engineering hours were lost to meetings.
It absolutely fucks up any flow at all you might have, or if youāre head down in a problem. A one hour meeting can add 3 hours to a task, if the meeting starts after youāve started the task
@PhattPike a trick a very wise man taught me is to respond with your task list and priorities and ask what should be de prioritised if a manager is being a pushy cunt about a meeting. They wont be long about letting you alone
With the exception of Berlin and Munich you could be talking about any German city there