@twiceasnice97 always said Pattaya was the greatest city on earthā¦ Ive yet to see it for myself tho
As an aside, I think that South East Asia is a disgusting hellhole of a place, Jakarta and Bangkok are horrendous shitholes but lads tell you they are great
by far and away lads the worst cities i have been to are Arab cities now im not talking Dubai, Doha, Abu Dhabi and all these false citiesā¦ real Arab citiesā¦ Cairo is the dirtiest and most filthy place ive ever been to, Ammann is a horrible place as is Ramallah and Agadir
In Europe- Athens is the most horrible big city ive been to
never been to India thank God
and its huge, its fucking enormous
Arabs have no interest in litter or the environment , they just dump stuff on the street, youād have bins overflowing , rabid dogs everywhere, people driving the wrong way on footpaths
The security men at the scanners in Cairo airport looking for a bribe. A lad whistling like you would calling a dog in the airport to get passengers attention. Forty five degree heat. Probably the worst traffic I have ever seen. But you can see the Pyramids from the motorway!
The only and only time I was in Prague was in August 1991 before the tourists had really arrived. It was a time of 10 pence pints of beer and the only food you could get as a tourist was āgoulashā. The coup against Gorbachev happened when I was there and Westerners in the city got nervous that the borders might close. I got the train out of there sooner than I should as a result.
London is a fantastic place an i agree with the lads
i didnt get there until 2009 but jesus when you come up out of that Tube station looking at Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament I got the goosebumps, its a proper city that, you can really tell they ruled the fucking world,
We actually got engaged there on that bridge- ive no idea how it happened but i remember i was carrying a ring around the place all day and i just thought fuck it, why not
Brussels is an nawful kip. But I think in general Fagans point is valid. I think cities need a bit of history to give them a bit of soul. No surprise that the list of passable US cities are older ones.
Europe is great for that, cities with character.
The likes of Dubai and that, sure they are pile of bollox really.
We were in Fort Lauderdale and the guide on the boat tour points to a building, thereās the oldest building on Fort Lauderdale, here since 1905. 1905 ffs. Thereās a post box down the road thatās older than that.
One of the most soulless places I ever visited was Eindhoven. What a dull place. The film in Bruges should actually be set there, because Bruges looks like it actual is a nice place. Anyway the whole city was leveled in WW2 and rebuilt. No spirit to the place at all.
In the early days here we used to get the night trains to Prague, Vienna, Berlin, Budapest, Bratislava etc. Stopping in the middle of the night in railway sidings for the border guards to come and check your āpapersā.
on being assigned a driver, we were the same in Dahlian in China, apparantly its for insurance purposes as people try to deliberalty get knocked down, i remember youād have fellas in the middle of the motorway sweeping the road with a broom and 5 lines of traffic either sideā¦ mad
When you stand on London Bridge and look out over the Thames, the millions of lives all climbing all over each other, the stench of greed in the air, breathing it into your lungs. Itās an incredible feeling.
Athens - an even bigger shithole than Prague but a fantastic place with a lot of life in it. Got taken to some random free gig on the top of an apartment block and then on to the anarchist district Exarchia (or whatever itās called) to hear a DJ do an industrial music set. Lots of people out in the streets, non-sleazy sumbags, and I admired how little they give a fuck. Far far better people than the Czechs. Laziest, rudest cunts Iāve ever met as well, I thought they were great.
Tokyo and Seoul are probably the 2 best cities in the world.
@TheUlteriorMotive
Buenos Aires - not like youāre expecting. Itās sort of like a South American version of Madrid. Itās absolutely fucking huge and itās far more refined than youāre expecting. Itās all about the fallen grandeur of Argentinian history and genteel poverty of itās present. Itās nearly the exact opposite of Rio de Janeiro. Itās nice, probably comparable to Belgrade or somewhere like that.
the only place i havenāt been is Oz/New Zealand.
I had 2 opportunities to go, but they would have been 2 week visits to friends in cities. I wouldnāt fucking dream of it. Melbourne and Auckland. the guts of four days travelling for a few days in one City.
I was put off the Oz thing by the type of gobshite leaving Ireland around the 00s to go over and blow fortunes and ring Daddy for a few more thou to top up the rent. Lads down mines half a month so they can go away and blow fortunes on booze and sleep on some floor with a load of smelly lads from Roscommon. Fahuck that