Ah here, I’d see @mac around the 80 minute mark (5 min/km). I’ve gone under that myself in training runs when fit.
Great to see so many of you cunts ready for action yet again
WE GO AGAIN
10km is as far as I’ve any interest in running, a sub 45 would be a lovely target.
Up to individuals but a designated charity would be great I think. I’ve no great affiliation to any charity and probably wouldn’t donate to anything unless it was put to me.
Went up Purple Mountain a couple of weeks back in Yellow Warning weather. Going up and down a mountain using compasses and maps alone is very satisfying in a way. Doing so as wet as an otter’s pocket - not so much.
I suggested this recently …
An excellent charity by all accounts
I’m out after all the aspersions, but I’ll continue to try and raise a few quid for this
https://www.seebeyondborders.org/make-a-donation/ 2
Whilst Irish charities are in essence good, Ireland is one of the richest countries in the world, whereas the Cambodians have suffered in ways we could scarcely imagine, and 2 grand will pay for a teacher for a year.
My aim is to try and raise that.
Think it’s just a wind up mate. There is clear evidence of your 5km lap up in the other thread. Give yourself a goal for the bank holiday weekend
I will be donating to lauralynn
Wonky Toe - 1
FlattytheRickshaw - 0
Wonky Toe, Wonky Toe, Wonky Toe.
I tried to change my username, can’t do it from my end. If the admins want to change it to either Wonky_Toe or Walter_Welch then please do so.
cc @Rocko @Bandage
Right lads.
Like @Mac, I’ve decided to play a Gerry Adams here and stick in a provisional time for the 10 miler. Between one thing or another, my only real window for a long session this week is Thursday night and I’ll probably go out with cycling club then.
I’ve no problem admitting it but I was in a right funk today. It happens me rarely but I felt it today and couldn’t explain it. Anyway I said I’d go for a run to try clear the head. Hadn’t really planned anything bar heading out on the roads as I hadn’t been on them in a few weeks. Ankle was also a little iffy after a cycle Saturday so rubbed in a bit of Tiger Balm before I left.
After a few km, I decided I’d keep going to around 8km and that way force myself into doing the 16.1km required. That got me to up the pace slightly. I was lucky enough with lights and roundabouts, just dropping a few seconds here and there. The house key came out of my inside pocket twice within a few hundred metres around 6/7km so had to retrieve that and carry it on with me. The Mrs has kindly offered to sew the pocket for me. @backinatracksuit I wore a hat, a cheap enough running cap I got off that cunt Mike Ashley’s place in Newry a few years ago. It was my first time wearing one on a road run (I’d wear it occasionally in forestry/trails because of the midges). Bar it nearly blowing off going over the bridge, and my head heating up near the end, it actually worked well. No sweat in the eyes at all.
It was actually my longest run on the road in nearly three years (have done a handful of 20+ on the hills) so I’m not overly disappointed with it, as much as I’d rather be closer to the 80 minute mark. I pretty much ran door to door so no warm up or anything. If I get the chance again before next week to do it, I’ll throw in a 1.5km warm up. I’m happy that I’d a negative split, but I think I’m overly cautious and go out perhaps too slow (have been burned in past by doing it other way)
Will make a donation tomorrow @RaymondCrotty
Jaysus I’ve done a few Tom Kites since coming home and after shovelling a big plate of lasagne in. The Mrs is gone next door and I fear the jacks might no longer be standing by time she’s come back. First time in ages but I think I got a bit dehydrated today
You should have dropped into Fitzpatrick’s for a cuppa
I’d about 3-4 more km to go to stop there
Lovely part of the world. Is there much up that way to do with kids actually? You’ve reminded me how nice it is and we’re still looking for somewhere for a night or two away with them.