Was up in Slieve Gullion park the other day in South Armagh, about 20 minutes from Dundalk. Great spot if you’ve kids. I’d our little one running by downhill trails. There’s a fairy trail, and good playground etc. What age are yours? There’s the place out in Carlingford that does all the activities, Zipline etc. If they’re in to gentle hikes, loads to do too.
3 and 5. Trail walks a bit of a challenge unless there’s entertainment! Will have a look at what accommodation is up there.
Good running by the way. I think 10 miles is the absolute limit of what I could do on a solo run. Absolute sheer boredom for the last mile or two.
Sure if you see any accomodation up this way and need me to suss out location etc, just give me a shout
For some weird reason that reminds me of my favourite hat as a kid , a PDM cycling cap that I bought in Cork😂
I know there are a few back hurling and a few on injury table , but who’s lacing up this weekend? Feel numbers will be smaller than previous events
Will give lads until Tuesday night next wwek maybe to register times? Bank holiday weekend can have its own distractions. The main thing is ye get out there and do something.
It’s 10 miles or the half?
There’s not many will last that possibly, it’s a fearsome distance.
I’ll do ten miles tomorrow morning and a half on Sunday, won’t be very quick but i won’t be slouching either, maybe set a target for the likes of @TreatyStones @flattythehurdler @PhattPike @pulpfiction @Mac and yourself @caulifloweredneanderthal, I’m sure I’ve forgotten a few.
There’s a 10km option too pal
I’ll do 10 miles Friday and the half on Monday (if legs ok).
Brilliant mate. I was about 12-13km into my 10 miler yesterday and started thinking to myself that if this was a race, @fenwaypark would already be at the finish line supping a beer. Didn’t make me feel any better about myself. Turns out it was 3 weeks since I’d ran on road
I’m doing 16k hill run Saturday morning. I’m traveling Friday and Sunday, so I won’t get another chance to do a half. I’m running with a pal or two so won’t be going for a time.
I have a match Thursday night so will decide the distance on Friday and possibly do the run Monday evening. Hoping for half marathon but haven’t ran more than 17km to date.
That’s the 10 miler sorted at least! Back home for it? Enjoy pal.
I’m a bit of an overweight basket case at the minute but if I can get a few slow short runs in the next few days will try tick off the 10 mile as a lsr
I’ve only 2 x 10k runs under my belt since the 5km effort. Although I’ve a good bit of hurling done. The problem is I’ve a match on Thursday evening. What I will do at the weekend will depend how I come out of that game. My knees are grand for running in straight lines but the twisting and turning leaves them in bits for days after.
I got Terry to verify the time
Hope this is OK @caulifloweredneanderthal, I’ll do the half as well and will be away Friday and Saturday, today suited me for the 10 mile
That’s good runnin
Great running mate. I was nearly ten minutes behind you. Might have to go again
Gonna sit this one out. Training sessions, a match, hopefully a hike as well over the weekend, weather permitting (although we said that the last time and still went up a mountain in a gale) - trying to fit a 10km into it would be a tad counterproductive.
Having an absolute hoor of a week with work so decided to go for a stubborn run this morning to blow off some steam. Set off way too fast but managed to sustain it better than I thought. Took a piss and water break just before 10k and had to stop to try and fix something on my phone at about the 14k mark. The watch stopped both times but my elapsed time was 1:22:16 which I’ll happily take. Previous 10 mile PB was 1:22:45 in 2013