TFKHDTJPPT 2020 - Preliminary Heat 2 - Helmet Pullers v Glas's XV

You’ll need a bit more than that in 2020.

My vote is still up for grabs tho.

Sure how can we get away from what we see?

The rest of the country might have seen joe cooney once a year and been non plussed but i watched him in club league and championship games where he was a star. How do you get away from that.

You cant really pal.

It’s all relative, i went with Byrnes as I felt he would compliment the half backs and midfield that I have picked as opposed to him being one of the best three half backs in isolation. I think Carey was a better midfielder than McGrath and McGrath a better centre back for what it is worth, but they are both excellent hurlers and would stand out anywhere, but sometimes for these lads to rampage you need someone who will just sit and cover for them otherwise you get cut to shreads.

While i get that O’shuaghnessey is a cult hero in Limerick and was an exceptional underage player I think Limerick lads view him with rose tinted glasses. I thought he was a nice solid corner forward and free taker but never really fully delivered on his underage promise. The A/i quarter and semi finals in 2007 are about the only two games I can recall him ever really consistently causing rack and really dominating. i am sure there were others but I think he wasn’t quite the player lads remember.

This

I agree, but this is fantasy hurling and so Carey will lead the team from centre back.

Lads are allowed have different views on players, that is the essence of this game I suppose. But you are mistaken.

Absolutely is is all a game of opinions.

Two very poor, biased and unbalanced sides here (each with 5 from their own counties, Cooney-Prendergast-Kerins must be the poorest line selected in the competition and so on).

But giving a tentative nod to @glasagusban as I expect him to be more astute and composed on the line. @maroonandwhite is volatile, aggressive and a bit of a simpleton, like Tom Ryan on speed, so I think that will count against him.

Glas by 2 in a dire, dour struggle.

You put colin ryan in corner forward and gardiner centre back :laughing:

You haven’t a breeze about hurling and would watch joe cooney and kerins all day and not have a clue what you’re looking at

A lot of players here that I wouldn’t really have considered for various reasons, but that’s not necessarily a bad game. I really really like the look of Maroon’s full-back line which I think would hold their own against the strongest of full-forward lines but his half-back line wouldn’t be quiet as strong. If TDB were to sit, Sutcliffe is exactly the type of player who would pick off a few handy scores from distance and you’d imagine Coen will have his hands full keeping tabs on Lynch & McGrath. I disagree with some of the comments above and think Lynch does have the discipline to play the more restrained midfield role.

I like Glas’ midfield a lot but would agree that, in the modern game, Carey is probably less suited to centre-back. Does Maroon have the players to punish that? It’s a hard-working forward unit, probably a lot of responsibility on Richie Power & Cloonan to get scores. Cooney was probably past his best, although MOL was a solid option too. I do agree that Kerins would do damage against McInerney though.

I’d nearly call this one a draw, but I really just don’t rate Skehill at all. A solid goalkeeper is so important. In a tight game, I don’t want a bombscare.

I think tony browne is being massively under rated tbh, a former hurler of the year. yes buglers a stopper but effective hes done better on the likes of canning than many more, i just rate de burca hugely, and i don’t sutcliffe, who just disappears in games.

Cooney fair enough was the quieter end of his career but you are talking about someone who was the best player in the country a few years previous, theres lads getting picked here who were journeymen on their own counties for a few years and were never all stars and aren’t in the same conversation at all. Fair play for recognising kerins, a scorer playmaker and a runner. The likes of lee chin is a piss poor version of him.

You can see @maroonandwhite ‘s trademark volatility and lack of composure here. Crowbarring Lee Chin into the argument, despite him not being any way comparable to Alan Kerins in playing style and not having been picked by his opponent, because of my post above. @glasagusban, as I say, will have his charges primed to capitalise on that level of unmitigated rage and stupidity.

Kerins was about the only consistent forward Galway had between 99 and 2007. They had more talented lads but Kerins you could always be relied upon to put in a huge effort and get a few scores as well. Really nice hurler on his day too.

Im tryin to make it relative to you as you really cant value players properly. Remember that time you were going to embark on a career in sports journalism after lowry softened your cough… Talk about dodging a bullet.

A serious player but i always felt the football took slightly from his hurling. He had a cracking touch underage.

Just over two hours left, get your votes in

Tough decision this

Congrats to @glasagusban who wins with a bit to spare

Congrats @glasagusban

Didn’t see you winning so easily, thought @maroonandwhite had a better balanced set of forwards tbh.

Theres just no getting away from the limerick love of shaughs. He also got @Bandages vote which ill take as a compliment, and of course voted for himself, a true mark of his character.

A whos who of people ive destroyed on the internet had their pyrrhic revenge. It won’t be forgotten.