TFKHDTJPPT 2020 - Preliminary Heat 5 - Aristotle v Covid 15

@Aristotle v @Thomas_Brady’s Covid 15

Aristotle

Gary Maguire (4)

Damien Reale (2)-Paul Curran (2)-Sean Finn (6)

John Gardiner (6)-Declan Hannon (captain) (6)-Tony Browne (6)

Tom Kenny (6) -Brendan Maher (8)

Seamus Harnedy (6)-Seamus Prendergast (2)-Timmy McCarthy (2)

Andrew O’Shaughnessy (6) (free-taker)-Richie Power (6)-Eddie Brennan (8)

Covid 15

============================================

A lot of lads double jobbing here

• Aristotle
  • Covid 15 - Thomas Brady

0 voters

These are more or less the same teams

Tight battle. But skehill…

Ok – quick thoughts.

I’ll be putting Shaughs on frees and penos – the man was deadly accurate and deadly from three on the line penalties.
Our teams are very similar so I cant run down a lot of his lads –
Overall I’ve purposely gone for a very mobile team. My half back line are all very calm, good readers of the game and all play heads up hurling. This will be the key to my winning – as my half forward line will retreat leaving acres of space for Shaughs, Gillane, and Whelan – those three in space will do untold against any back line – Whelan and Shaughs have a great touch and will turn on a sixpence- Shaughs was served septic ball all his Limerick career and he goes underrated because of it- he’ll thrive here…. If Aristotle wants to hold his defence Shaughs and Whelan will go roaming and in Galvin, Kenny, Power, Predgergast and the two boys roaming I’ve plenty of lads who can pick scores off from out the field. Of course leaving Gillane in there on his own is what I’d like also….Ultimately I think this team is set up for goals –
When I pull his half backs out Richie power will be the one runner I’ll be looking to make breaks in behind from the half line – if I find him wance it’s in the back of the net.
Galvin plays the link man – while Sean Og and Mannion, two power houses, have licence to get up and down the wing, Galvin will be sweeping back along the half back line covering and acting as the link to midfield / forwards — With Deccie sitting deep minding Curran when we are defending Galvin will be getting back adding protection here also – This team wont be conceding too many goals and Skehill wont be seeing too much action… Kenny is more of a roamer in midfield and will be helped out by the hard working Timmy mac coming back into midfield — Timmy will be the spoiler really — he’ll be working hard stopping the opposition breaking out from defence.
Prendergast will see targets from puckouts – and Power …. But all 6 forwards will be rotating and moving around all game …. If I’m stuck for a goal in the last 10 mins, I’ll move Prendergast or Power in closer to goal, depending how the game is going for each, and I’ll be peppering his back line with ball and have Shaughs, Whelan and Gillane squeezed up mopping up breaking ball.

I fear my many enemies on the forum will have their revenge here.

The lickspittle picking Sean Og as Captain is worse.

Sean Og was a warrior - not in doubt. Whatever about off field stuff he was never found wanting on the field.

Did herself pick the team as well as the Captain?

Yet Limerick often had Mark Keane and TJ Ryan taking frees ahead of him :thinking:

I think @Aristotle’s half forward line is very average here … Harnedy goes missing too much ---- I think my half backs have enough for him.

Mark Keane was only on the team for that reason in fairness … He was a pure marks man.

Better balance to Covid-15’s forwards in this. As Bainisteoir Tomás Ó Brádaigh himself has suggested, Aristotle’s half forward line is a little suspect.

Both very decent full-forward lines mind…

Brady gets a 36 from me 34 for Aristotle

Gillane and Brennan give both inside lines a seriosu bit of menace but I think both half forward lines are weak with Timmy McCarthy and Prendergast in them, you could carry one out there and maybe Seamus at full forward but not both in the same line given their lack of consistency.

I rate John Gardiner highly but Mannion and SeanOg would be a very nice mix at half back, both athletic, one with brains and the other with brawn. tough call

Tight wan…Eddie Brennan the difference.

Lads like @Bandage just picked random lads with no thoughts to the over all team --I think i’ve the right balance of pace, power and smarts in the team that compliment each other well.

Bias cunt.

That’s the big difference I’m pondering here before casting my vote. Can we trust Gillane yet? Not as much as Brennan anyways…

Obviously very similar teams for the most part. However, a few points:

Harnedy will shove the “clubs I haven’t even heard of” line down that ignorant prick O’hAilpín’s throat. Harnedy isn’t soft at all, he’s one of the few fellas on this Cork team who isn’t; he’s a serious ballwinner, an excellent runner and a goal threat. Prender & Timmy Mac are just pure workhorses. They’ll get in the face of Mannion & Hannon to stop the ball going in. O’hAilpín’s distribution was shite anyway.

Plan is to largely play with 2 inside, with Power coming out at times, adding to the scoring threat on the 40 while Brennan & Shaughs will run riot with the space inside. Brennan is probably as good a goalscorer as I’ve ever seen and I just don’t see that same threat in the opposition (although it is a strong full-forward line in its own right).

I also reckon I’ll edge that middle third battle, just about, although it’ll be fairly ferocious stuff. Brendan Maher is a trump card, I reckon, an unreal hurler and an already exceptionally strong half-back line will be bolstered by him & Kenny in front.

Finally, Skehill. Bombscare. Fast Eddie will have a field day.

Gillane has done wreck for 2.5 season’s now. He has the lot in his locker and I hope ability over length of career is taken into account here.

Brendan Maher …the difference - if that helps soften the blow.