TFK's Far Right - Watch thread (no spongers allowed)

Are they?

Not ideal but it’s better than having bombs falling on your head.

My understanding – and I might be open to correction, since the Irish Government has been lamentably opaque on this issue – is that accommodation costs for the Ukrainian refugees are being paid from the fund REACT-EU. If so, the Irish state is actually nicely in the black as regards accommodation costs, since these accommodation payments, obviously, are taxed.

A good friend of mine in Kilkenny is a businessman who owns a hostel. Last year, he was made an offer he could not refuse: €480k a year for two years to house 28 Ukrainians. As he says himself, nearly half of those payments will be given back in tax but he is more than happy to do so because he can make medium term plans on the back of guaranteed money.

Therefore, to my understanding, much of the narrative around Ukrainian refugees is completely skewed. I have raised this factor, quietly and politely, with several people in run of the mill conversations. To a person, they were surprised to learn about REACT-EU. They presumed the Irish state is paying these accommodation costs.

I do not know the story with any benefit payments to Ukrainian refugees: namely, whether those payments are covered by REACT-EU. Which or whether, the Irish government is playing into the hands of sundry far right lowlifes – Derek Blighe et al – by not making clear the nature of the situation regarding the REACT-EU fund.

Jozef Puska is a despicable and evil individual. I hope he never again sees the light of day. But it should be remembered that anyone talking in hostile fashion about him being in Ireland needs to have – simply by the imperatives of coherence and logic – an attendant argument. What argument? One about why and how Ireland should leave the EU.

Otherwise the hostility cancels itself. Anyone from an EU member state is perfectly entitled, unless exceptional circumstances apply, to be in Ireland.

A red flag about that evil individual? Regrettably not. The underage sex matter hardly counts significantly in this regard, despite the fact that he turned so evil. I would imagine – but obviously cannot know – an addiction to pornography proved the trigger for his heinous crime. There is such an element in life as tragedy, which is probably the single hardest factor to accept about life.

They’re the highest represented country. But keep blathering away on the subject while not knowing anything about it :+1:

Of people granted asylum?

Ipas.

The Georgian figures are dropping.

The countries from which the highest numbers have arrived this year are Algeria (770); Nigeria (764); Somalia (441) and Afghanistan (428).

But, the lads were saying the georgians were the highest number granted asylum. Surely @EmilioButragueno wasn’t blathering away on the subject while not knowing anything about it?

It looks like they were the highest number last year, but that has changed dramatically according to the paper of record.

Some of those Georgian asylum seekers were actually Ukrainians. Others suggested they were fearful of Russia.

They were briefly the highest number of applicants, they were never highest number granted asylum.

Correct.

Lamentably opaque sums up why this is going to turn into a huge issue imo. There is definitely a feeling in some circles and it seems nearly all political ones that even discussing these issues publicly is a form of racism and pandering to the far right.
There needs to be far more explanation of who and what exactly ‘refugees’ asylum seekers’ legal and illegal immigrants are and what we as a country are doing for them. What we have to do as an EU country and what we choose to do as an empathetic state and people with a history of emigration. The government and mainstream opinion need to go on the front foot against the far right and their friends by properly engaging them and debating with them.

I personally was not aware of the EU payment, an interesting angle of bringing money into the hotel industry no less.

And you made a good point on the convicted murderer last week, the ireland is full brigade are using it as a stick to stop immigration but any chamges to immigration policy would not have stopped him coming in as he is from an EU country, with all ots flaws the EU is great. Unless there is a change in EU internal migration policy, the far right argue using that case as a yard stick is bollocks

Watercannoning them.

Fat chance our resident far right dimwit could wrap his thick head around a basic fact like that though.

Without immigrants you could close every meat processing facility in the country.

Paddie isn’t interested in that work.

Lads commenting on benefits to immigrants should look a lot closer to home first before pointing to the Airports & Ferries……

We need immigration, we should never be an isolated economy. Our health system will also collapse without immigration. The process is in drastic needs of improvements but a conversation on how that should look is been split completely by far right fascist views and those at the opposite end of the spectrum. If we can remove those voices from the noise a reasonable process can be developed and implemented.

The current conversation is being driven by simpletons who believe any old shite they read on FB & other online sites.

Exactly the point i was trying to get across, you put it a bit more elegant than me, the same folks who gave out about the polish 20 years ago, or thought 5G towers gave you covid.

If we can deport those folks then talk about a reasonable and fair immigration process that works within the EU framework. No point in protesting county councillors or TDs on immigration, it should be directed at EU level

You’re one of the thickest and dullest cunts on here and have been consistently wrong on every subject you’ve got involved in. Even as an alt you have 2 goes at getting it right and you’re still just an annoyance with nothing about you. You sound very mentally young and underdeveloped and wanting for something…

There’s a few adults beginning to talk about this subject now so maybe go stick on Netflix or go play with the traffic or just fuck off like a good lad. Thanks.