TFK's Far Right - Watch thread (no spongers allowed)

Are they selling shares in him?

Gript asked me did I want to accept cookies and I told them fuck off back to America you fascist cunts we call them biscuits in this country.

Obviously an evil bastard and my heart goes out to the poor child and everybody that knew her

That yoke came up on my twitter feed, I answered honestly but then they insisted I go on their mailing list to submit my answers

Taking the murder out of the equation for a moment, but he was the husband of an irish woman. What legislation or what can the government do to stop Irish people marrying foreigners? How is this relevant to the general issue over immigration?

Do you want to send me your answers and I’ll put them in for you?

I’ll leave ye to your circlejerk :+1:

I don’t anyone is going to be surprised by the findings of a Gript survey on immigration that is exclusively available to people who subscribe to the Gript mailing list, but at the same time Gript will present this as some groundbreaking ‘voice of the public’ finding. I think we all know the outcome of this survey already.

Conversely, we’d know the results of an Irish times survey on immigration. Each media outlet has their own slant but there’s some fairly naive lads on here who’d be surprised to learn that and think they’ve a gotcha moment

Wouldnt the irish times be a FG paper?

Headbangers very defensive about their media heroes :man_shrugging:

Not necessarily so. Fiscally conservative but socially liberal types

I’m not a member of gript and wouldn’t have known anything about this survey until you completed it and posted about it here

I wouldn’t entirely agree. I would say most newspapers come from an economically and politically conservative perspective. They are part of the capitalist system overall. Their readership is perhaps a bit more varied than their ownership, and they present themselves as fair and balanced news outlets. The reality can be quite different.

On the other hand, something like Gript seems to be upfront about what it is. It covers stories related to Catholicism and immigration at a higher percentage than any other news outlets, while ignoring some of the rest of the news cycle. It could be argued that they are very much pro one of those and anti the other. This, theoretically, should reflect their readership and those who want to join their mailing list.

Traditionally the Irish Independent was the FG paper. It was partially because of their support for Cumann na nGaedheal that FF set up the Irish Press. The Irish Times was more pro British than anything back in the early 20th century.

You can’t really say that a paper that has otoole, mulally and Holland on staff as conservative in any shape or form. They have breda o’brien for conservative tokenism and McDowell for the angry man waving a fist at the clouds.

Fair enough. More mixed then. Newspapers generally are quite conservative in nature. Something like The Guardian, with all its typos, is an exception rather than the norm.

Why do you and @Kyle have the same avatar

Yer man Blythe still has his posters up :roll_eyes:

The times wants to be the guardian, but it’s too po faced to succeed

We are broadly in agreement there Art :handshake: