That Strange Work Phenomenon

Jaysus Puke you’d wonder what harm it would do these lads to get up off their holes and go over to the old girl and say that’s a lovely baby and then go back to work. [quote=“chewy louie, post: 58672”]

Agreed, not to mention I’d say they would be complete dullards to work with

agreed, making pleasentries is part of life, just get on with it rather than stewing in the corner. No harm can come of it

Plenty of harm could come from going up to women with babies and saying i really like your baby…

Well if a lad is gormless enough and lacking the social skills to not be able to be able to pay someone good wishes without making a tit of them then they deserve all the harm they bring upon themselves.

I wouldn’t blame a lad for not wanting to make small talk with babies. There’s nothing worse than people who googoogaga at babies, a pointless exercise and those who engage in it are largely unbearable bastards…

Well said Puke. There must be some awful social misfits on this forum if they can post up 23 pages of bile about their inability to deal with a commonplace and pleasant social scenario. [quote=“chewy louie, post: 58677”]

Well if a lad is gormless enough and lacking the social skills to not be able to be able to pay someone good wishes without making a tit of them then they deserve all the harm they bring upon themselves.

some bizarre posts on this thread- what harm in welcoming back a work colleague & congratulating her on the birth of her baby- its a fairly harmless thing & is a positive thing for everyone concerned

some dullard getting all angry back at his desk while the rest of the office is in jovial forms is a damning inditement of them

It’s no wonder most of these clowns have to get out of their minds on drink in Coppers before they can chance being in the company of a woman. [quote=“The All Seeing Eye, post: 58680”]
some bizarre posts on this thread- what harm in welcoming back a work colleague & congratulating her on the birth of her baby- its a fairly harmless thing & is a positive thing for everyone concerned

some dullard getting all angry back at his desk while the rest of the office is in jovial forms is a damning inditement of them

Indeed, even this morning there is this heifer that works on then same floor as me, she is easily 20 stone, saw her walking in with two big Morrison’s reusable bags full to the neck with cream buns and doughnuts and what not. Now i have never conversed with this beast in my life apart from the odd salute but walking down the corridor earlier I spotted a few balloons with happy 40th on it, low and behond they were at the heifers desk, on my way back from the canteen with my mug of tea I made a segway by her desk and took a doughnut for myself and quickly uttered the following words " happy birthday, i would I have thought you are closer to 30" and gave her as sincere a smile as I could.

Everyone is a winner in this instance, I got myself a doughnut, she got a big confidence boost and my reputation as the amicable Irish guy continues grow

Unfortunately for me the doughnut was stale and tasteless :mad:

great stuff- I generally go for the “looks like a typo on your card -its has a 4 instead of a 3” route myself

Some yoke who’s been out for approx. [b]20 months of the last 2 & 1/2 years due to maternity leave /b decided about 2months ago that she wasn’t returning to work anymore

This is the real issue here. Women that sponge maternity leave off a company and then decide they are not coming back.
You should be obliged to work for 2 or 3 full years after each maternity leave or else pay back the wages you received while on maternity leave.
Hard to blame employers for paying women less when there is a chance they can fuck off and do this.

Not everywhere pays while on maternity leave

What or where is Morrisons?

I will give you credit where credit is due, it was a cute move to approach her like that and get the doughnut. She probably didn’t even notice you take it she was so overcome with joy after the comment.

Only today was I speaking to a woman who had a child a few months back, I was asking her would she be heading back to work soon, she told me she could as she was fit and able and her mother takes d baby now and then, but she has decided to take another month or two because she’s entitled to and gets paid for it. A public worker too.

Julio has a major beef with an innocent enough social situation AND knows where the plugs are on the trains.

I’m beginning to worry for Julio. [quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 58684”]
Some yoke who’s been out for approx. [b]20 months of the last 2 & 1/2 years due to maternity leave /b decided about 2months ago that she wasn’t returning to work anymore

This is the real issue here. Women that sponge maternity leave off a company and then decide they are not coming back.
You should be obliged to work for 2 or 3 full years after each maternity leave or else pay back the wages you received while on maternity leave.
Hard to blame employers for paying women less when there is a chance they can fuck off and do this.

A teacher i suppose. Cunts, they’ve it all sewn up…

But the majority do

chewy and the permanently edgier Fagan ODowd are making compelling cases here. It’s to such an extent that I’m considering disassociating myself from my thread starting comments from a few years ago and other similar ones subsequent to that.

Gentlemen ye are outdoing yereselves. [quote=“The All Seeing Eye, post: 58683”]

great stuff- I generally go for the “looks like a typo on your card -its has a 4 instead of a 3” route myself

as yes i will be pulling that out of the bag of tricks next time. What harm despite being morbidly obese she actually does look closer to 30 than 40 :blink: